We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor business practices”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Adria Hotel And Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bayside
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor business practices”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

I booked through Priceline, which had a cancel guarantee on the room. When I booked the room, one of my friends immediately suggested that I stay with him, so I called up Priceline to cancel. They said that the cancellation guarantee was only for smoking rooms, not smoke-free rooms, but said that if the hotel agrees to cancel, they will gladly refund the amount.

We called Adria Hotel and they refused. I had had the room booked for less than an hour. The probability that they would have booked that particular room in that time horizon is basically zero especially considering they had other vacancies. Terrible business practice.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vivek V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    58
    42
    10
    17
See reviews for
67
24
26
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

This is a perfectly fine suburban motel. There's nothing major wrong with it (I've stayed there many times). It's clean enough, comfortable enough, friendly enough. Decent, not amazing breakfast. Decent, not amazing hotel. If you need to be in the area, or can't afford to stay closer to Manhattan, it's fine.

It's a bit old and faded, and it's expensive considering there's not much of interest nearby, but I guess it's not out of line for outlying New York City. The parking lot is tight, so if you get back late, be prepared to park like a New Yorker.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Ended up visiting New York City with the family during a week where hotels in town were asking $300-$400/night. Found this for half the price. Decent clean room, the front desk folks were helpful and the included breakfast each morning was nice. The LIRR train station is a little less than a mile away and would make the walk in the morning and at night and was never concerned about our safety with two young children. Burger King across the street, Dunkin Donuts not far off and a couple of other restaurants withing walking distance. Keep in mind that you can easily spend $30-50/dollars a day getting a family of four from here to Penn Station and back depending on what time of day you catch the train. So factor that into what you are willing to spend on a hotel if visiting the city. All in all, happy with the choice and pleasantly surprised after reading some older somewhat negative reviews.

Room Tip: May want to ask whether the room in question is close to the elevator. Ours was, but we never were w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank halebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

It's a decent no frills hotel. We had a double bed room. It was enough for our family of four incl. two kids. The bathroom was clean with the usual toiletries. There was an iron, hair dryer, coffee machine, desk, small dining table, flat screen tv anda huge plus for us - a small refrigerator. The wi-fi internet was good as well, no need for a code. Can't say too much about the staff as we didn't interact with them much nor did they go out of their way. There is also free parking although it can get full if there is an event at either of the three conference rooms. There is free continental breakfast with the usual carbs - bagel, danish, croissants, cereal... and eggs, sometimes sausage. Also, coffee, hot water, OJ, yogurt. You also have free access to the small gym at the best western next door. The gym is equipped with dumbbells, two ellipticals, one treadmill, stationary bike, towels, water dispenser.
The hotel is close to the city as well as the airports, stadiums. Perfect if you want to stay for the US open. However we had a car, not sure about public transit.

Room Tip: Our room was by the elevator, so avoid that. It can get noisy in the am when people and cleaning sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Januario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinnie M, General Manager at Adria Hotel And Conference Center, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 7186314900.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your stay with us at Adria Hotel.


Sincerely,

Vinod Malhotra
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Bayside Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

Overall not to bad. Staff wasn't really impressive. Didnt have that "Ill go out of my way for you" feel to them. Rooms were okay. Kind of small, tv froze up a lot. Breakfast wasn't anything special. Just your run of the mill no name hotel. Gets you by until you need to get out.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mush0823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

The Adria Hotel is a comfortable stay for a New York trip on a budget. I was there for a conference and needed quality sleep, a decent shower and internet access - the Adria met these needs. The bed is comfortable, the bathroom was comfortable and stocked, internet access was reasonable for email and Google searches.

That said, there are no exercise facilities, there is some evident smoking in the main lobby, and the walls are thin enough that one can hear a little too much from neighbors on either side of the room.

Given the plusses, I recommend this hotel for a short stay in NYC.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerrzbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

This is our second trip to the area and this hotel. The rooms were re done and are very nice. The beds were very comfortable and bathrooms nice. The people at front desk were very helpful. Here are my only hitches. The parking area is small and it is tight. Often at night there would be little to no parking left. The entrance and exit to parking are the same and go through a narrow walled entrance. I am wonder if any accidents occur. While in lot , what appears to be a lane to exit can be blocked by cars. The other problem I had is they only gave 2 towel sets and I traveled with children. I asked for towels and they housekeeping never came. That is about it. Otherwise nice place over all.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blondebelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayside
0.0 mi away
Best Western Queens Gold Coast
2.4 mi away
Inn at Great Neck, BW Premier Collection
4.4 mi away
Hotel de Point
Hotel de Point
#7 of 18 in Flushing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The One Boutique Hotel
The One Boutique Hotel
#12 of 18 in Flushing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Andrew Hotel
The Andrew Hotel
#2 of 2 in Great Neck
3.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Parc Hotel
The Parc Hotel
#5 of 18 in Flushing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adria Hotel And Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adria Hotel And Conference Center

Property: Adria Hotel And Conference Center
Address: 221-17 Northern Blvd, Bayside, NY 11361-3600
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Queens > Bayside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bayside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Adria Hotel And Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In one of the most prestigious neighborhoods of Queens New York sits the Adria Hotel nestled amongst the beautiful tree-lined streets of Bayside. Here at the Adria Hotel & Conference Center you'll find affordable guest rooms only a short ride from New York City making the hotel ideal for corporate meetings, weekend getaways and fun vacations. Our guests appreciate our quality accommodations and amenities with attentive and friendly service. Our wonderful rooms provide a comfortable surrounding, with a contemporary décor, and amenities not found in other hotels, all at an affordable price. From super fast and free internet, to Keurig in room coffee, to free dvd movie rentals and a free hot breakfast , you will get more with us. The Adria Hotel is also well known as an ideal choice when seeking conference and banquet rooms for your meeting or event. Overseen by a professional and caring staff, the hotel's modern venue is perfect for up to 350 attendees or guests. Let us meet your highest standards as you plan a conference, seminar, lecture, or other corporate event. Personal or corporate celebrations at the Adria are always memorable, whether signifying the past or promising the best for the future. Call and book a stay with us at Adria Hotel & Conference Center today! We look forward to meeting you and creating your temporary home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adria Hotel And Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adria Hotel And Bayside
Adria Hotel Bayside
Adria Hotel And Conference Center New York/Bayside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing