We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hallway smelled like an old folks home :(” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Anchor Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Anchor Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bayside
Dallas Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The hallway smelled like an old folks home :(”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel for a long weekend, as we couldn"t get into the Andrew.The hallways and room smelled bad. A very old hotel that needs new carpet and new mattresses! The staff was pleasant but don't expect much from the free breakfast. Will not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunshine8184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnchorInn1, General Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
We appreciate your taking the time to post a review of our property. As I am sure you noticed, our hallways are currently being renovated. You can even see on our facebook and twitter pages the process on the renovation. We have been updating everything from the wall studs forward. We do sincerely apologize that the carpets have not been changed yet, so you are correct they do look pretty shabby. They haven't been changed yet because while the renovations are going on the workers walk through the building and if they walk on a beautiful brand new carpet, it will become ruined. Therefore, we are waiting until the work is done, and then the carpets will be ripped out and replaced in the entire building. The hallway "aroma" will be gone with the carpets as well. Thank you for your patience while we beautify our property....it's almost done. :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    39
    18
    17
    28
See reviews for
47
32
17
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

It was a dark and windy night and I was stranded at LaGuardia with NO hotels rooms anywhere to be found. A friend found this room on line and booked it for me, but trouoble with pre-aid reservation and I had to pay again upon check-in. But by 10 am the next day, Daniel the manager had everthing squared away. The room was clean, bathroom spotless. It's not a resort, it's Bayside! but at midnight -- for a stranded traveler, a hot shower in a clean bathroom and falling asleep in a comfortable bed was just what the doctor ordered :). The price was the lowest of any that I saw in the LaGuardia area.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jabetu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnchorInn1, General Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Glad we could help and thank you very much for taking the time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013 via mobile

After reading a lot of negative comments,I was a little bit afraid to stay at the Anchor Inn. They are doing a lot of renovation,so the halleays ate a bit dusty.The room and bathroom very clean. Not noisy at all. Good Continental breakfast. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sibi51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnchorInn1, General Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Thank for your review. We are happy that you were pleasantly surprised. We do strive for excellence and hope that all the efforts and energy we exert happily surprises many more guest like you in the future. Thanks for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

Ladies & Gentlemen, Boys & Girls, Children of all ages-- The Anchor Inn reeks of cigarette smoke from the moment you open the front door. Even the designated "No Smoking" rooms are contaminated, probably because the ventilation is so poor. The window A/C has a filthy "filter" which stopped being of any use a decade ago when it was last changed. (Fortunately, the window opened a few inches, which did help us breathe more easily during our 2 night stay.) Curtains are dingy throughout, and the overall feeling throughout is dark and confined. The elevator worked only sporadically. Mysterious construction was going on in the halls and common areas, although we never saw any work going one-- just drop cloths, random tools and dirty plastic sheeting draped here and there. We spent as little time as possible in the room. I don't need luxury in a hotel-- but I do expect proper ventilation, relative cleanliness and and decor updated once or twice since its opening in 1950. The Anchor Inn has the dubious distinction of being the worse hotel I have ever stayed in, bar none. Say No, no and NO to this dingy dive.

Room Tip: If the choice is between sleeping in your car and staying in this hotel, be sure it's on the sec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JoanneMcCoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnchorInn1, General Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Sorry that you were disappointed with your visit. While we appreciate all of our reviewers, we find it hard to respond when the statements made aren't exactly accurate. We have been undergoing constant renovations over the years. The most recent (and still being completed) is a total overhaul of our common areas. Just before we started the common area work, we replaced all of the drapes and bed skirts in all of the guest rooms. We also just completed renovating our public bathroom. Last year we completed renovating all of the standard and studio apartment guest bathroom (down to the studs). Please visit our Facebook page to see the photo's and video's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bayside hotels

newyouk
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

It was horrible, so dirty we went there during the Sandy storm got a room which all of a sudden the rates got higher.Went in to the roomAnd went right back out. What a disgrace. This place should be bomb for bugs. I love bayside but I would never ever go to this hotel I would sleep in the car first.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank luvsunnydays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnchorInn1, General Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write your review. As you know, everything was pretty crazy in the entire area during Hurricane Sandy's aftermath. Is sounds as though the room that the staff checked you into was not properly cleaned or inspected prior to be rented and I can assure you that, if the room was in such condition that is was noted and re-cleaned prior to being rented. I would like to apologize for the mix up. With regard to the rates, if you made a reservation when you called about the rates, the rate would have been locked in and could not have changed. If you were making inquiries when you called and then in the interim our availability went down or we sold out, it is possible that the rates could have gone up. Again, sorry for any confusion, the best way to avoid rate fluctuations is of course to make reservations and lock in the special rates when calling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

The service is excellent. The receptionist not only checked us in, but he showed us to our room. The sofa bed was already pulled out for us. The room had a kitchenette and 7Eleven was near by to do some shopping. A police station is just one block away, which gave us a sence of security. The Long Island Rail is within an 8 minute walking distance along with an awesome pizza parlor in route to the station.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank prowler74n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnchorInn1, General Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Thanks for your review. We strive for excellence and are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

Well, I will be retuning to the Anchor Inn next week. I have visited NYC every April for 38 years.
30 of those years I have stayed at the Anchor Inn.
It is in a great location, and over the years the staff has always been friendlly and helpful.
They have made improvements over the years, and that is always encouraging.
The rooms appear to always be clean.
Every hotel as its pluses and minuses...the pluses far out weigh the minuses here.
Looking forward to seeing the staff on Easter Sunday when we arrive.
DAM
Auburn, NY

Room Tip: Pool and restaurant do not apply to me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davemauburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnchorInn1, General Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. We hope you continue to visit us for many years to come. You will be glad to hear that as in years gone by, we are still doing updates. We just finished renovating our public bathroom and the common areas are all about to be refinished as well (top to bottom).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayside
0.4 mi away
Adria Hotel And Conference Center
0.3 mi away
Best Western Queens Gold Coast
2.6 mi away
Inn at Great Neck, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hotel de Point
Hotel de Point
#7 of 18 in Flushing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Andrew Hotel
The Andrew Hotel
#2 of 2 in Great Neck
3.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
3.2 mi away
The One Boutique Hotel
The One Boutique Hotel
#13 of 18 in Flushing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchor Inn

Property: The Anchor Inn
Address: 21534 Northern Blvd, On the Corner of 215 Place and Northern Blvd, Bayside, NY 11361-3465
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Queens > Bayside
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bayside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Anchor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable, convenient and cost effective, the Anchor Inn offers AAA accommodations for both the business and leisure traveler. Simply put, the Anchor Inn provides convenience to Manhattan as well as Long Island at affordable rates with downtown amenities. Whether you are traveling for a relaxing weekend, a corporate event, or a meeting downtown, no one showcases more unique accommodations. The Anchor Inn's front desk is open 24 hours a day for our guests' comfort and convenience. At most other hotels check in time is 3 pm, but at the Anchor Inn check in time is 12 pm, giving you more time to settle in and relax before dinner or an evening on the town. Our business center is open 24 hours a day where you can check your email, surf the web or put together some last minute documents while away from home or the office. Our state of the art fitness center is open daily from 8am through 10pm. It features a treadmill, recumbent bicycle, and a weight stack machine. We provide free high speed internet access via WIFI. We offer Lodgenet movies, music, and games on demand direct in each room. New York City convenience at very affordable rates. Leave your car and take a sightseeing tour of Manhattan arranged through tour operators that will pick you up and return you directly to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your The Anchor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anchor Hotel Bayside
Anchor Hotel Bayside
Anchor Motor Inn
The Anchor Inn New York/Bayside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing