We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bedbugs” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Anchor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Anchor Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bayside
Houston, Tx
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bedbugs”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2010

We stayed at this hotel for five days. The room was very dusty and the carpet was stained and soiled. The hotel and the rooms did not resemble the website at all. There was no closet to speak of and the ironing board took up most of what little space there was to hang two or three garments. Two winter coats wouldn't have fit in there. That was bad enough, but when we got back home I had bedbug bites on my arms, shoulders and leg. I'm sure they were contracted at the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank qtpie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnchorInn1, Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this review, 21 December 2010
As always, thank you for your patronage. Your comments are of a most serious note and frankly Tripadvisor may not be the most effective way to relay your message to others or the hotel staff. If in fact the claims you are making regarding beg bugs are true the Hotel should be have informed at the time these bites were "contracted". The good news is that we do not have confirmed cases of bed bugs at our property. There is a tremendous amount of hype in the news these days, especially in NYC about bedbugs. There have been confirmed cases in places like, Bloomingdales, The Empire State Building, Juicy Couture, Victoria's Secret, Lincoln Center, and the list goes on. Your “bedbug incident” is just as likely to have been “contracted” at any tourist spot you visited during your stay as it did at our property.

We are very sorry that something bit you but fortunately for the hotel and future guest we are not able to substantiate these incidents from our hotel, be they mosquitoes, spiders, mites, bed bugs or otherwise. If you feel so strongly that these bites occurred at the Anchor Inn, please contact us immediately so we can implement the appropriate measures as set by the American Hotel and Lodging Association to eradicate any such problem.

With regards to your comment about the carpets being dusty/dirty, we have our carpets professionally shampooed at least twice a year and vacuumed daily by our housekeeping staff. We spot treat any carpet stains and soils that cannot be removed by vacuuming. For what it is worth we just invested in a new spot treatment machine to help remove any of those stubborn stains the housekeepers can't get out. It has been working spectacularly thus far.

We hope that potential future guests with read your review and the hotel response and feel encouranged to visit NYC in the near future, be it at our property or any other.

Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    39
    18
    17
    28
See reviews for
47
32
17
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2010

** Room key machine not working upon arrival
** 9 AM Sunday morning, no food in breakfast room, but there was ONE empty pastries box.
** Ended up on bare matress in middle of night, then discovered that the sheets were not tucked in.
** Rates on web site did not match rates quoted.
** Asked for two rooms on same floor with advanced registration. Rooms assigned were on dfferent floors.
** No tissues or Kleenex of any sort in room.
** Not important, but shower curtain improperly installed with hangers upside down on rod. Mostly an aesthetic issue.
** No platsic bag in room for soiled clothes to be carried home in.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kllystv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnchorInn1, General Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this review, 27 October 2010
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to leave us a review and send us some feedback via a candid review. We are sorry to hear that you had such low expectations of our property before you arrived. We take great measures to make sure our property is up to the industry standards set by AAA, Mobil Travel, Best Western and Holiday Inn Express. We model our property under their guidelines as we are an independent hotel and do not have a franchise book of rules and regulations. We modify ours to make sure that we get the best of both worlds. We would like to apologize for anything that may have slowed down the check in process (key machine temporarily out of order) as well as the mis-fitted sheeting issue, as these are atypical at our property. We will verify with the housekeepers that they should be tucking in the bed sheets on all 4 sides of the beds.

You commented that the rates you saw online were not the same ones that you were quoted and that is certainly possible as we offer different sales on different booking channels. This is not only common but has become the industry standard when it comes to travel. We generally recommend doing your rate comparison online and then calling the hotel direct to take advantage of our price match guarantee.

You also mentioned in your comments that there were no facial tissues/Kleenex in the room. Our room all have at least one box which is built into the bathroom vanity. Our new granite vanities have the access to the tissues through an oval opening cut into the granite which may be hard to find at first glance.

Lastly, you pointed out an aesthetic issue about the shower curtain hooks being placed upside down. We are in the process of changing over all of our shower curtains to the newest style Hookless shower curtains that do not use shower hooks at all. They are much more convenient and nicer looking.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we hope to have you with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Anchor Inn and were extremely pleased. There are a couple of other hotels around, but the Anchor Inn was the most aesthetically pleasing from the outside – the steps lead up to beautiful large glass windows and a chandelier in the lobby. Sometimes you do judge a book by its cover. ;o)

Once we went inside, we were greeted by extremely helpful and friendly staff. Check-in was a breeze. The manager there gives you personal attention and even gave us his email for anything we might need in the future! Our room was very clean with a comfy bed, cable and Wi-Fi access. The whole vibe as you walk in is calm, clean and serene.

The area is quite lovely and very safe. A ten minute walk gets you to Bell Blvd. which had the LIRR Station. We got into Manhattan in about 20 minutes. I liked that they had a traditional train conductor, clean seats and air conditioning. Definitely better than the subway! We were steps from the police station, library, several restaurants, cafes, a Korean bakery, Dunkin Donuts, CVS, Blockbuster and White Castle.

Bell Blvd. was awesome with the Irish pubs, Italian restaurants, Pizzaria Uno, sushi restaurants, cell phone stores, electronic store and four major banks. A quick cab ride took us to a shopping center called Bay Terrace that had lots of cool stores, Barnes & Noble, movies and restaurants.

The hotel and area were so convenient and safe that we almost didn’t need to go to Manhattan!

We would definitely stay here again and plan to for all our future visits to New York!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pyronymth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnchorInn1, General Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for your kind words and taking the time to write up a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2010

Nothing fancy but clean with great service. Location is the best part. Across the street from Starbucks, steps from police station, shopping and restaurants, and walking distance from train. Other hotels in area cost A LOT more and are not nearly as convenient nor do they offer any more than the Anchor Inn does. In addition, walk a little past the train station and eat at Gino's Trattoria. You won't find finer Italian food or service anywhere -- not even in Little Italy. We even returned to the area with friends (all the way from Houston, TX) and made Gino's our first stop after checking in at the Anchor so we could share this dining experience with them.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank USMMAmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnchorInn1, General Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this review, 26 November 2014
Thanks very much for your time and effort in writing a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northants UK
Level Contributor
210 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2010

I booked this because of location, and the website I used stated there was a bar and a restaurant, they have neither.
The reviews said it was good, and clean, I found it quite the opposite, my room 120, was in need of total refurbisment, in fact it needed gutting and rebuilding. The bathroom was grubby and had cracked and broken tiles, the furniture in the room looked circa 1970, the carpet was dirtier than a slum street.
The breakfast, free or not, considted of Bagel's, Waffles, or what was described as Muffin, which were hideous sticky cakes, i did not like the hygiene facilities here either!
The only reedeming feature was the restaurant next door names Pier 25a, this is an absolute gem of a place, and without I would have gone to bed in starvation mode. Never, ever, under any circumstances again!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Earby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnchorInn1, Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this review, 15 September 2010
Thank your for your candid review. As mentioned in several of the prior management responses we are in the process of renovating 28 of our standard room bathrooms of which you stayed in one of. As a point of reference you felt the furniture was "circa 1970" is not only inaccurate, it is untrue. The furniture in room 120 in which you stayed was replace in 2003, the bedding which has been replaced as needed is scheduled to be upgraded to the new style "3 sheet method" by the end of this year.
Regarding the breakfast, I am sorry you felt it was not up to your standards. We serve a buffet style continental breakfast daily, which as you stated contains bagels, waffles, mini-muffins (blueberry) made by Sara Lee. We are sorry that the Sara Lee recipe is not to your taste but these are being brought in to our property from a local distributor. We have taken note of your complaint about them and if our other customers feel the same as you do we will gladly change our product.
The breakfast room itself is cleaned from top to bottom daily by our head housekeeper. I have taken note of your complaint and will ensure that it is cleaned to industry standards in the future as it has been in the past.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bayside hotels

New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2010

This is a great place to stay. Fairly close to Manhattan but without the Manhattan prices. This place is clean, comfortable and with a pleasant staff. My room had a jacuzzi!!! While visiting from Florida, they arranged an absolutely wonderful tour of NYC. I would definitely recommend this hotel to my friends and family when they come to NYC. It is also located in a very safe and upscale area.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joykur1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnchorInn1, Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this review, 3 September 2010
Thank you very much for your kind words. We appreciate all reviews as it allows us to correct and problems that guests may have and also gives feedback regarding the changes we make. Thanks for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2010

My experience with this hotel began by checking in, carrying our luggage upstairs and entering our room which had NOT been cleaned from the previous occupants. Ok, mistakes happen, right??? Well, the young man downstairs apologized and gave us a new room which was fine. The next night our key wouldn't work and we went to the counter to get our key fixed. This employee said, "oh, you decided to extend your stay with us!" What? We had a reservation for four nights! They can not seem to keep track of their rooms. They had a dirty room for our first night and checked us out on our second! With the exception of the first employee all of the employees were super rude. Not to mention the tv made an awful sound like the static of a radio and the remote would only work if you shook it. Positive? It was super close to the lirr and a straight shot to Manhattan.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsNorthman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnchorInn1, Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this review, 3 September 2010
First and foremost, thank you for staying with us, I sorry that the initial room you were rented was not ready at check in time. I am also sorry that you had carried your baggage up the stairs as we do have an elevator that accesses all three levels of the building. We also have a ramp in the front of the building which suitcases can be rolled up to the building with. As far as the remote control, if the remote control has weak batteries or otherwise doesn't work it can be exchanged by calling the front desk. Many of the hotel TV's are in the process of being replaced with new 37" flat panel TV's, so if we have any TV's that aren't working properly they will be replaced. Lastly, regarding the key not working: this can be attributed to any number of items 1) clerk error, 2) lock error, 3) demagnetization by a cell phone case, pocket book clasp, or anything else that may have a magnet on it. Any of these items can cause a magnetically encoded key card not to work properly. I hope that you have the opportunity to read this response as well as any hotel visitors to be advised that an electronic hotel key card can be demagnetized in these methods so you can avoid accidentally invalidating your card. If the clerk who check you in made an error in making the key, I am very sorry that it caused you additional stress. If it is of any consolation to you, the clerk whom you dealt with and felt was rude is not longer employed at our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayside
0.3 mi away
Best Western Queens Gold Coast
0.4 mi away
Adria Hotel And Conference Center
2.6 mi away
Inn at Great Neck, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Andrew Hotel
The Andrew Hotel
#2 of 2 in Great Neck
3.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel de Point
Hotel de Point
#7 of 18 in Flushing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
4.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites New York LaGuardia Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchor Inn

Property: The Anchor Inn
Address: 21534 Northern Blvd, On the Corner of 215 Place and Northern Blvd, Bayside, NY 11361-3465
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Queens > Bayside
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bayside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Anchor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable, convenient and cost effective, the Anchor Inn offers AAA accommodations for both the business and leisure traveler. Simply put, the Anchor Inn provides convenience to Manhattan as well as Long Island at affordable rates with downtown amenities. Whether you are traveling for a relaxing weekend, a corporate event, or a meeting downtown, no one showcases more unique accommodations. The Anchor Inn's front desk is open 24 hours a day for our guests' comfort and convenience. At most other hotels check in time is 3 pm, but at the Anchor Inn check in time is 12 pm, giving you more time to settle in and relax before dinner or an evening on the town. Our business center is open 24 hours a day where you can check your email, surf the web or put together some last minute documents while away from home or the office. Our state of the art fitness center is open daily from 8am through 10pm. It features a treadmill, recumbent bicycle, and a weight stack machine. We provide free high speed internet access via WIFI. We offer Lodgenet movies, music, and games on demand direct in each room. New York City convenience at very affordable rates. Leave your car and take a sightseeing tour of Manhattan arranged through tour operators that will pick you up and return you directly to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Anchor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anchor Hotel Bayside
Anchor Hotel Bayside
Anchor Motor Inn
The Anchor Inn New York/Bayside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing