We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delighted with stay”
Review of Botsford Briar

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beacon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Botsford Briar
Ranked #5 of 6 Beacon B&B and Inns
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delighted with stay”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Never been to this area before but this looked like a convenient place to stay while taking in a tour of West Point, an Army football game and dinner at the CIA. After a fantastic lunch at the "HOP" checked in at the Botsford Briar. Charlie welcomed us as we drove in the driveway. He was always available and everytime we saw him he asked if there was anything he could do for us. Our room "Magnolia" was excellent, roomy with an excellent view of the Hudson. Breakfast which consisted of multiple fresh fruits, juice, coffee and breads was delivered to our room and was excellent. As my wife and I are early risers we loved the fact that a Keurig coffee maker was available 24/7. The weather was excellent therefore we had the opportunity to enjoy the spacious deck. One minor criticism I had (although it didn't bother me) was that there was an ash tray on the deck with several cigarette butts and an empty pack of cigarettes that remained there for our 2 night stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank looper28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    4
    0
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
26
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 January 2013

This inn is run extremely professionally and seamlessly, which might not be the first thing you'd look for with a b&b but it was what I appreciated most. Yes, this place is a very opulent yet comfortable victorian home with very sociable and considerate proprietors who take care of you very well and serve a very nice breakfast right to your room. Those are all the things you expect from a B&B (and you will definitely get them here). But you also get a very efficient and professional transaction that's more hotel-like than a B&B. They confirmed my reservation, responded very quickly to email and phone calls, answered all my questions, provided all the necessary details and did everything quickly and easily. It was a wonderful experience. Charles was also a real pleasure to talk to and learn from, a really sweet guy with some amazing talents.

I had only been to Beacon a few times but it is such a great place to come for a short trip away from the City. We got a package Metro North/DIA ticket that saved us some money on both, walked from the train station to the B&B and also to the museum and to downtown! Downtown is bustling and interesting and has a few great nightlife options too. I loved it, it was beautiful and fun and very, very relaxed. If you're going to Beacon the Botsford is the most sensible place to go given its location and its quality. I recommend it fully!

Room Tip: The Rose room was great - it had a glimpse of the river and windows on two sides that streamed beaut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EMS532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

My husband, son and I stayed here and really enjoyed it. Charlie and Shirley (who own/run the place) were so lovely and kind. They went the extra mile to make sure we were comfortable. As a bonus, this place is quite well located: easy walk to Dia, or to Main street shops and restaurants. And frankly, this was very affordable for what we got--good bang for your buck. If/when we return to Beacon, we will stay with them again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizLawler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia PA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2012

I'm from the Hudson River Valley area originally and thought it would be a nice experience to stay in a B & B I hadn't been to in the past. My boyfriend and I were warmly welcomed by the innkeeper Charlie and the owner Shirley, immediately upon our arrival. The house itself was quite warm and inviting, with unique features and attention paid to detail (linens, windows, furniture.) We particularly enjoyed having breakfast on the back deck, (constructed by Charlie) as it afforded a beautiful view of the Hudson River. It's a short stroll to both Dia/Beacon and the Beacon business/gallery district. The photos on the website captured only some of the quirky charm of Botsford Briar....it's only when we arrived that we realized it exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CuriousKat40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

My boyfriend and I booked a room here last minute, and from the moment I spoke with Shirley, the owner, on the phone, she was sweet and warm as can be. The only room they had left to book for the evening was "their best room," she said, which was the Magnolia Room. It was definitely the best! With a nearly completely panoramic view of the Hudson River Valley from either the enclosed deck (which is exclusive to the room), or the outside deck (which is public, but accessible from the enclosed deck). Both Shirley and her inn-keeping partner Charlie were so sweet yet professional, and everything about our stay there was all we wanted it to be. We'll definitely be regulars from now on! :)

Room Tip: The Magnolia Room is incredibly spacious and has a private enclosed deck, attached to it, as well as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Very friendly owner. Cute house. Great location (a few minutes walk to main street, 20 minute walk to Beacon). Breakfast was solid. My wife and I went for our anniversary and plan to come back again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Turret, which we thought was great. A lot of natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank honorablejudgeito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield County, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

If you love period B&Bs with character and charm, you will enjoy a stay at Botsford Briar. The building is a "work in progress" and it was fun to talk with Charles about the projects he has underway -- as well as the work he has done so far, like the amazing deck overlooking the Hudson that he built single-handedly.

Our visit was over a rainy weekend, so we so didn't really have a chance to enjoy that deck; and we missed have the chance to socialize with the other guests over a communal breakfast. On the other hand, having breakfast delivered to our room was had its benefits!

Room Tip: If you want a view of the river, choose the Magnolia Room. It's more expensive, but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank threeonrtheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beacon
0.2 mi away
The Inn And Spa At Beacon
9.2 mi away
The Thayer Hotel
The Thayer Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Point
976 reviews
4.5 mi away
HYATT house Fishkill/Poughkeepsie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Fishkill
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Fishkill
Hampton Inn Fishkill
#1 of 14 in Fishkill
748 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Poughkeepsie/Fishkill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Botsford Briar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botsford Briar

Property: Botsford Briar
Address: 19 High St, Beacon, NY 12508-2506
Region: United States > New York > Beacon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Beacon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set high on a hill in Beacon's Historical District, Botsford Briar is a quiet, relaxing spot with remarkable views of the Hudson River. It is conveniently located within ten minutes walking distance of Main Street, Metro-North, and Dia. Botsford Briar is a beautifully restored high Queen Anne Victorian. The guest rooms are decorated with antiques in a simple Victorian style, each with its own private bath. A continental breakfast of your choice is brought to your room. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing