We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty - but beware of thin walls!”

Mt. Beacon Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beacon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mt. Beacon Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 7 Beacon B&B and Inns
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pretty - but beware of thin walls!”
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Positives - the place is clean, beautifully decorated and quite spacious. Also, close to Main Street. Negatives: VERY thin walls - we could clearly hear conversations in the next room over (as well as snoring!) - so we felt like we had to whisper the entire time we were there. Two words: mood killer. Breakfast was okay, but served very slowly.

Also, kind of annoying that on their website prices are clearly listed for each room - but when you make a reservation for weekend dates the prices are $10-$15 higher. For the price we paid, I was expecting a better experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ladydid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    10
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
54
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

We went up to Beacon and Cold Spring, NY for a quiet weekend away. The Mt. Beacon Bed & Breakfast turned out to be the perfect place for us to stay. The Master Suite is a large room with a four-poster bed, a fireplace with two chairs in front of it, and a sofa with a TV/DVD. The bathroom, which is within the suite, had a large clawfoot tub/shower. There's also a walk-in closet/pantry where you can keep your suitcases and hang up your clothes and coats. The room and bathroom were pristine, as was the rest of the beautiful, 100-year-old house.

It was a cold fall night when we stayed there, one of the proprietors, Barbara, offered to make a fire in the room. After we came back from dinner in town, she brought up the wood and kindling and set up the fire for us, which we got roaring through the wee hours. She also got us wine glasses so we could drink the bottle of wine we had brought (they also had a corkscrew in the room). We found a couple of great movies in their library and watched them in front of the fire.

Breakfast is a little late, starting at about 9:00 a.m. But they have a full Sunday Times for each room, which is a nice treat. Our leisurely breakfast included coffee, orange juice, yogurt with fresh sliced bananas, and a slice of portobello mushroom quiche with some buttered French bread toast. After breakfast on Sunday, we went into town, where Lauren recommended the Farmer's Market on the water by the train station. We got some great local Dutch tarts, fresh ravioli, and pecan butter. I would also recommend Hudson Glass in town for some great gift shopping.

Room Tip: The Master Suite was lovely, with a sofa, an en suite bathroom, and a lot of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ML10022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
102 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

My wife and I stayed here for two nights over the long Veteran's Day weekend. With only three rooms to let Mt Beacon B&B was the right size.

We stayed in the 'Captain's Stateroom' which was a good size. The bed was comfortable. There was a small space heater that we used one night. One warning about this room: to access the bathroom you have to go out into the common hall. The bathroom was nice with a great big clawfoot tub but it was a little disconcerting having to leave the room to get to it. It is directly outside the door and it is only used by people in that room. Also, you may wish to bring earplugs as there is a thin door connecting the Captain room with another room. The door is locked but sounds travel easily between the two rooms.

Breakfast was very good both mornings. There is coffee and tea and the New York Times. Both mornings we had a type of fruit and yogurt, some tasty bread, and then a hot dish. One morning it was eggs and bacon and the next morning was waffles and fruit. Very tasty. The breakfast was served a little late for my taste, but that's just me. We ended up getting the hot dish at about 9:45 or 10:00.

The rest of the building was nice. There are plenty of resources for planning your stay in the area and a nice sitting room to lounge in when you want some down time.

I would stay here again but I might try and reserve the Master Suite next time. Also I want to come back when the swimming pool is open. It looked nice!

Overall it was a nice stay and a good value.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sundinkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We only stayed for a night, but everything was excellent. We really enjoyed the breakfast. Hats off to the chef!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jvanpraag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2011

We had actually booked the Mount Beacon B&B for a bit earlier in the year but before our stay Lauren, one of the proprietors, called us to mention their basement was flooded. This meant they had noisy pumps going a lot of the time which might affect the enjoyment of our stay. She offered to re-book us, which after a moment of deliberation we did. Not only that but she upgraded us to the master suite on Easter weekend. So right from the start the service was great.

Beacon is a 1.5 hour MetroNorth train ride from Grand Central in Manhattan so it is easy to get to and far enough away to get into the Hudson Highlands. The ride is very beautiful along the Hudson. Straight out of the station is the Dia:Beacon Riggio Galleries, a must-see art stop. Mount Beacon B&B is about a 15-20 minute walk through Beacon. It is uphill for a little of the way at the beginning but levels out after a while, though it could be a little strenuous for older people. As you approach the house fits into its surroundings very well with only a small brass plaque on the door giving it away as Mount Beacon B&B. Lauren welcomed us and made us feel right at home as soon as we arrived. The house is beautifully appointed with a lovely, welcoming, central hallway, a sitting room off to the left and the dining room off to the right. It immediately encourages you to relax. Lauren was very helpful in describing the house rules, peculiarities (including the potential for noise from the wooden floorboards) and amenities. She also suggested a couple of places for dinner and we took her up on Homespun - we certainly did not regret it!

As I said we were upgraded to the Master suite, which has a fireplace. The fire was built for us when we were out to dinner and the two comfortable chairs in front of it provided a great place to sit, read and relax at the end of the evening. This room also has large windows that let in lots of sunshine, a little sitting area for watching tv, a four poster bed and private bathroom.

Breakfast in the morning was cooked by the other proprietor Barbara, Lauren's mother. It was delicious and included homemade banana bread, followed by cinnamon sauteed apples with granola, and lastly two slices of perfect Challah French Toast with berries. The meal was served with fresh orange juice and coffee, as well as the weekend New York Times which we lingered over for a bit.

Mount Beacon B&B is very convenient for hiking Mount beacon itself, in fact it is only about a hundred yards from the trailhead. In addition the shops, galleries and restaurants of Main Street can be reached with a 5-15 minute walk depending on how far you want to go. I try to rate places based on whether they match or exceed expectations that I have. These are based on research through browsing TripAdvisor and other sites. If it matches what I felt it would be I will give the average rating the place already has or adjust from there. Mount Beacon exceeded my expectations for a B&B, even with a near perfect score already.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VdGEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2011

My husband and I just stayed at the Mt Beacon B&B, in the French Country/Toile room. We had a very pleasant stay. The inn keepers are very helpful and professional. The house is truly beautifully decorated. Has that B&B feel without being too fussy. Wonderful public sitting area with a fire place. Amazing breakfast. And because there are only three guestrooms, you rarely see other people (it was full when we stayed, and we only saw the other guests at breakfast). Only downside is the fact that you can hear anyone walking around or talking if they are anywhere in house. But it is an old house, which is an important part of the charm, so well worth it. Just bring ear plugs if you are a light sleeper.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srhnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2011

Only an hour and a half from NYC, Mount Beacon Bed & Breakfast is a great place to stay for a long weekend or even just an overnight escape from the city. Besides being easy to get to, the owners do a great job of making you feel right at home as soon as you arrive. They even made dinner reservations for us in advance and took care of the transportation. While there are several rooms to choose from, I suggest spending a little extra for the room with a fireplace. This room also has large windows that let in lots of sunshine, a little sitting area for reading, a four poster bed and private bathroom.
Breakfast itself was delicious including, homemade banana nut bread, fresh fruit and a tasty cheese quiche with coffee, tea and/or juice, served along with the the mornings New York Times paper for you to peruse.
We're already looking forward to our next stay!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ashirt_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beacon
3.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Fishkill
4.1 mi away
HYATT house Fishkill/Poughkeepsie
8.2 mi away
The Thayer Hotel
The Thayer Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Point
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Springhill Suites By Marriott Fishkill
4.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Poughkeepsie/Fishkill
7.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newburgh-Stewart Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt. Beacon Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt. Beacon Bed and Breakfast

Property: Mt. Beacon Bed and Breakfast
Address: 829 Wolcott Ave # 9D, Beacon, NY 12508-4257
Region: United States > New York > Beacon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Beacon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mt. Beacon Bed & Breakfast at Wolcott Manor is a gracious 1911 colonial revival home located at the foot of Mt. Beacon. The elegant grand entrance foyer leads into impressive formal living and dining rooms. The spacious living room features a gorgeously mantled original fireplace and French doors leading to a covered Greek columned terracotta patio with in-ground swimming pool. The dining room accommodates separate seating for guests and also contains a large wood burning fireplace. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mt. Beacon Hotel Beacon
Mt. Beacon b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing