We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unobtrusive hospitality”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beacon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mt. Beacon Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 6 Beacon B&B and Inns
New York, NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unobtrusive hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2010

We stayed here for a long weekend as we visited Beacon, Dia and Bannerman's Island. The mother and daughter who run this B&B were very friendly, helpful, and hospitable, but didn't make any demands on our time or attention as guests. (I'm usually not a B&B guy, and our experience at Mt. Beacon was ideal in my eyes.) We stayed in the master suite: the room was large, sunny, comfortable, and uncluttered. We had use of the pool, a yard, a side porch, and the living room. The whole place was spotless. They had free wifi. The breakfasts were absolutely delicious, with service worthy of a fine restaurant. Both of us have special dietary needs, and they took our needs into consideration easily and cheerfully. We took a train up from New York City, and got around by foot. The B&B is about 3/4 mile walk to the east end of main street, and about 1.5 mile walk to DIA and the train station. It was easy to get a cab at the train station, and the walk was fine in the good weather. I recommend Mt. Beacon B&B highly.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seanomenon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    10
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
54
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2010

We loved our stay at the Mt. Beacon B&B. Our hostesses were so helpful in giving us good recommendations to explore the area. The accommodations were spotless, comfortable, quaint. Breakfasts were delicious, The service was impeccable -- we stayed there because we attended a local wedding, and when my husband's suit came out of the suitcase wrinkled, our hostess, upon hearing us moan about the condition of the suit, brought up an industrial sized steamer immediately! Both mother and daughter were generous with their advice and attentiveness. We would love to return someday while in the area. Thanks, Barbara and Lauren, for your hospitality!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catberg7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2010

My boyfriend and I planned a little last minute getaway to Beacon, NY. We called the same day and luckily got the last room available at Mt. Beacon (they have 3). It was the "smallest" room and the only one without a fireplace, but it was still huge compared to most bedrooms. The bed and linens were luxurious and made sleeping away from home a pleasure. Mt. Beacon has an extensive DVD collection in their library room (lots of classic books as well) so bring your laptop if you plan to lie around in bed. There's also a pool and lounge chairs for those who visit in the summer! Breakfast was delicious and the women who run the place are very cheerful. Main St.'s shops, galleries and restaurants are within walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malsuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2010

The mother-daughter team that runs this establishment is phenomenal! They were friendly and only as present as you wanted them to be. The two make a terrific team. The accommodations are spotless, the breakfast is beyond perfect and the house is too cute for words. My husband and I stayed here with another couple for two nights. We had adjoining rooms which made it nice to hang out and relax. However, we also felt quite comfortable in the living room next to the roaring fireplace. Anything we needed they made sure we had. Positivity exudes from the house and it only makes it that much more cozy. I would recommend this B&B to anyone and everyone. This mother-daughter team has mastered the concept of the B&B.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drhyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2009

My wife and I stayed here for two nights at the end of the summer and were treated as good friends rather than guests (warm welcome, unobtrusive, unfailingly gracious). This mother/daughter team could run a workshop on hospitality for the hospitality industry. Because it was a quiet week, and the room we wanted wasn't available, we were upgraded to a bigger room at the same price as the smaller room, which was a lovely gesture, much appreciated by starving artists like ourselves. The room was fantastic, the bed super comfortable, the bathroom charmingly old-fashioned in looks but modern in function. Everything was very clean and well-maintained. Beacon's Main Street is a short 10-minute walk from the B&B; Dia is slightly further, but also walkable. Highly recommended for a few days out of the city.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dancetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
58 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2009

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend hiking escape from the city and thoroughly enjoyed it. The B&B is very small (three rooms) and personal. The proprietors are extraordinarily gracious and accommodating, but at the same time very unobtrusive, so you do not have the feeling that you are staying in someone's guest room. Our room was spacious, the furnishings and amenities were very nice, and the linens were great. The breakfasts were spectacular - not only is the cooking extremely good, but the B&B has a source in town for fresh-laid, free-range chicken and duck eggs, and I haven't had eggs that good in years. The inn is a bit of a walk from the train station, but it has great access to a number of good hiking trails, and it is pretty close to main street.

We really liked Beacon, too. We have stayed in Cold Spring before, and Cold Spring has done a good job of positioning itself as an antiques/second home/getaway location. Beacon has not done that as much - it has a slightly worn, post-industrial feeling to it, and it is more diverse - but it feels much more genuine, and is really worth exploring, not only for its little galleries, but for a number of fabulous little discoveries. We particularly enjoyed the vintage arcade museum and Brother's Trattoria, which could more than hold its own in the City. Next year, we'll go to Beacon instead of Cold Spring again, and we'll stay at this B&B again, as well.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank awdub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2009

Our room was really nicely decorated (not at all kitschy) and spotlessly clean. The clawfoot tub was wonderful. The owners were very welcoming and the breakfast was really tasty and each table had the Sunday NY Times (a nice touch). It was a little bit of a walk from the train station but only a 10 minute walk to Main Street in downtown. I absolutely recommend this place for anyone who is planning on visiting Beacon.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank citygirlnyc034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beacon
3.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Fishkill
4.1 mi away
HYATT house Fishkill/Poughkeepsie
8.2 mi away
The Thayer Hotel
The Thayer Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Poughkeepsie/Fishkill
7.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newburgh-Stewart Airport
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Fishkill
Hampton Inn Fishkill
#1 of 14 in Fishkill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt. Beacon Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt. Beacon Bed and Breakfast

Property: Mt. Beacon Bed and Breakfast
Address: 829 Wolcott Ave # 9D, Beacon, NY 12508-4257
Region: United States > New York > Beacon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Beacon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mt. Beacon Bed & Breakfast at Wolcott Manor is a gracious 1911 colonial revival home located at the foot of Mt. Beacon. The elegant grand entrance foyer leads into impressive formal living and dining rooms. The spacious living room features a gorgeously mantled original fireplace and French doors leading to a covered Greek columned terracotta patio with in-ground swimming pool. The dining room accommodates separate seating for guests and also contains a large wood burning fireplace. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mt. Beacon b&b
Mt. Beacon Hotel Beacon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing