We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beacon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Swann Inn of Beacon
Ranked #2 of 6 Beacon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 December 2012 via mobile

Cozy, lovely property. If coming to beacon again for an overnight we would definitely stay again. We had a nice retreat from the city and felt many miles away. The owners really made sure we were left satiated and happy. I didn't see the other rooms but the red parlor room was really warm and spacious. Having a fireplace made it even sweeter.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsaynancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2012

We stayed here while visiting Watchtower facilities in Patterson, NY. Great location, beautiful scenery. The town had great places to eat and lots of interesting shops. Our hosts went the extra mile for us. My husband found that his pants had come apart at the side seam, Darlene sowed them up in a jiffy, and we were on our way. We left early in the am to drive home, Neil and Darlene got up early to make us breakfast...that was greatly appreciated. We look forward to next time.

Room Tip: we stayed in green willow room - bed was really comfy and the bathroom is big. Not a large room, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KF_Dearborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We spent a delightful weekend in the Hudson Valley, and the highlight was our stay at the Swann Inn in Beacon, New York. It is conveniently located to points of interest in the area including West Point, Hyde Park, Bannerman's Island, as well as the galleries and antique shops of Beacon. Each room is cozily decorated with clean and extremely comfortable accompaniments.

Neil and Darlene are the most gracious hosts who make their guests not only feel at home but a part of the Swann Inn family as well. The pastries available throughout one's stay are delectable and the breakfasts are sumptuous. Be certain to ask Darlene what the secret ingredient of her french toast is.

Room Tip: Depends upon one's budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Wonderfully restored old home. Innkeepers Neil and Darlene are gracious and accommodating in every way. This location serves well as a starting point to visit Dia Beacon and points of interest south and north, including Cold Spring, garrison, Hyde Park and Rhinebeck. And sumptuous breakfasts included!

Room Tip: Each room is unique. We highly recommend the Red Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stanley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

My husband and I celebrated our wedding anniversary with a quick, local overnight get away and chose the Swann Inn. It was fabulous! The rooms are well appointed and artfully decorated. Beds are comfortable, rooms are clean. The surroundings were quiet with a large and inviting front porch to just sit for awhile , if you choose to do so. The garden was beautiful. The driveway is a bit rough but don't let that put you off because once inside the house it is full of charm and notable artwork not to be missed. Well worth the few bumps.

Breakfast was delicious, home cooked and plentiful. The hosts were friendly and totally part of the charm of this house at the base of Mt. Beacon.

We highly recommend a stay at the Swann Inn.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wublly5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

I stayed here with my boyfriend a couple of weeks ago and it was absoloutely delightful. The house is an adorable Victorian, which the owners have lovingly restored. They upgraded our room when we got there, just because they didn't have a guest in the bigger room. So we stayed in the Red Parlor, which is spacious and lovely (the Green Willow room, which we had booked was smaller, but still looked very nice). Neil and Darlene were very friendly, gave us great restaurant recommendations, and even offered to pick us up and drop us off at the train station. Very helpful, yet not at all intrusive. We were driving this time, but might take him up on the ride next time!
It was all just as perfect and romantic as I could have hoped, but perhaps the best thing of all was the AMAZING breakfast. The banana nut pancakes might just have been the best I've ever had, plus a lovely fresh fruit plate, PLUs some kind of delicious tiny apple turnover, all made by Darlene. We will stay here any time we're in the area.
PRO TIP: Neil knows everything about Bannerman Island, the picturesque island in the Hudson near Beacon, including how to get you there - ask in advance.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

I stayed at The Swann Inn during a bicycle trip with my partner. We were riding from town to town in upstate NY and the Swann was our third inn in as many days. It was the best overall. Neil and Darlene are wonderful hosts. Our room was lovely and breakfast was very tasty. The Swann is perfect for a weekend away.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fromthesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beacon
1.4 mi away
The Inn And Spa At Beacon
3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Fishkill
8.1 mi away
The Thayer Hotel
The Thayer Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Point
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Springhill Suites By Marriott Fishkill
7.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newburgh-Stewart Airport
12.7 mi away
Bear Mountain Inn
Bear Mountain Inn
#1 of 1 in Bear Mountain
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swann Inn of Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swann Inn of Beacon

Address: 120 Howland Ave, P.O. Box 1078, Beacon, NY 12508-4207
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Beacon
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Beacon
Price Range: £93 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swann Inn of Beacon, a Gothic Revival Victorian is a perfect retreat for hikers, and travelers looking to experience the beauty of the Hudson Valley in a relaxed B & B, nestled in a wooded setting at the foot of Mt. Beacon. Enjoy our tranquil homestyle rooms including queen size beds and private baths. NYC guests,we will pick you up at Beacon train station. Ask about Bannerman Island tour packages. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Swann Inn Of Beacon Hotel Beacon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing