We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay with great (gluten-free) service”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beacon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Swann Inn of Beacon
Ranked #2 of 6 Beacon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Madrid, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay with great (gluten-free) service”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed mid-week for two nights at the Swann Inn in the Red Parlour Room and it was a delightful experience! Beautifully decorated and warm room (maybe a little too warm if you leave the heater on always) not far from the Main Street of Beacon and easy access by car to Dia Gallery, Storm King sculpture park and the river. Neal and Darlene gave wonderful service and I have never been so well looked after as a celiac. The breakfasts were delicious. (Little tip if you arrive after 7pm and are looking for a bottle of wine, drive 5 mins to one of the nearby counties where they are permitted to sell alcohol until 10pm ;)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    25
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
97
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Storrs, Connecticut, United States
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

They describe themselves as “home-style.” Five guest rooms, Victorian decor. We stayed in the Red Parlor Suite, which has a sitting area and gas stove and was on the first floor next to the front door. The Pros: Little or no street noise, set on a back lot in a mixed residential neighborhood. Friendly owners. Spacious, clean room (if you don’t mind a cobweb or two). Ample breakfast featuring a mix of fruit, store bought and homemade items. Strong wifi…. All for a decent price (no credit cards accepted, 2 night min on weekends). The cons: Every surface in the Red Parlor Suite is covered with a dizzying array of plants and porcelain knick-knacks – more room to unpack would have been nice. The room itself is very dark (painted a dark red), with one full sized window looking out onto the porch and a pair of small windows near the bed. And the Red Parlor is next to the breakfast room and front door - don’t plan on “sleeping in” because of the breakfast noise (or choose a different room). The exterior of the house and yard need some TLC/upkeep. There is no view other than the neighbors' yards (for those who care). Probably a 15-minute walk downhill to Beacon’s very long Main Street. Final thoughts: The Swann Inn has a minimalist website – you can’t really get a sense of the rooms from the sparse photos. As an artist, I can’t recommend the Swann Inn as a hip artists’ stopover or destination (for those on their way to Dia or Storm King). It is pleasant enough, like staying at Grandma’s, if you are into that kind of thing. But not a good first choice if you are looking for something with a sophisticated or boutique inn feel.

Room Tip: Avoid the Red Parlor Suite if you want to sleep in (or go to bed early) - it is next to the front do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DanielML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claremont, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We spent 5 nights here in the middle of October. I am gluten intolerant and boy did they go out of their way for me. There are always snacks out and they bought gluten free bars and cookies. The breakfasts were fabulous. They even made home made gluten free bread so I could have French toast. The room, the Tranquility suite was large and the surroundings were quiet. The only not so tranquil thing was the refrigerator cycling on and off, but the a/c fan drowned it nicely at night. And it was great having a small kitchenette, a sitting area and a comfortable bed. We'd definitely stay here if we're back in the area.
The innkeeper was quite knowledgable about the area which is beautiful,

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Really nice place! We loved to stay at this place!
The Swan Inn is a well-maintained house. Everything in the house is built with so much love. The owners are really nice and the breakfast is so delicious. The room was clean and very comfortable. We would recommend everybody to stay there!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Nice helpful hosts (they picked us up from the train station and would drive us to town). Breakfast was wonderful with fresh fruit, pancakes, waffles etc. It's a real B&B!

We are a family of five with three sons. The room worked well for us with a small kitchen and a place to sit at night if the kids were a sleep.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5maris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

Visiting from the UK we stayed at the Swann Inn in mid July. The rooms were comfortable and the hosts were excellent, mastering that balance between offering useful advice but not being intrusive as other b&bs owners can be. The house is delightful and the breakfasts incredible-very creative both days we stayed! Although not central in Beacon, it is just a short drive away, with easy access to wineries and other tourist spots nearby. We would recommend to others that are visiting the area-and keep an eye out for deer in the front!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Just got home from our first visit to Beacon, NY and had the best experience ever! The Swann Inn is clean & comfortable, very welcoming and the breakfasts are out-of-this-world delicious! We stayed in the Green Willow Room and it was beautiful! The queen bed was very comfortable and the room has its own, very large bathroom that was fully stocked. Darlene and Neil are the perfect hosts, very helpful and you will not need for anything! Darlene's gardens provide peace and tranquility, you can sit down in the gardens or enjoy the peace and quiet right on their verandah. There is nothing I could say on the negative side! You have to experience for yourself!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beacon
3.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Fishkill
1.4 mi away
The Inn And Spa At Beacon
8.1 mi away
The Thayer Hotel
The Thayer Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Point
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
HYATT house Fishkill/Poughkeepsie
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Fishkill
Hampton Inn Fishkill
#1 of 14 in Fishkill
739 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Poughkeepsie/Fishkill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swann Inn of Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swann Inn of Beacon

Property: The Swann Inn of Beacon
Address: 120 Howland Ave, P.O. Box 1078, Beacon, NY 12508-4207
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Beacon
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Beacon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swann Inn of Beacon, a Gothic Revival Victorian is a perfect retreat for hikers, and travelers looking to experience the beauty of the Hudson Valley in a relaxed B & B, nestled in a wooded setting at the foot of Mt. Beacon. Enjoy our tranquil homestyle rooms including queen size beds and private baths. NYC guests,we will pick you up at Beacon train station. Ask about Bannerman Island tour packages. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Swann Inn Of Beacon Hotel Beacon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing