We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doesn't look like much from the outside, inside it's a gem!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beacon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Swann Inn of Beacon
Ranked #2 of 6 Beacon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Doesn't look like much from the outside, inside it's a gem!”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

When we drove up the dirt Road, and came to the house, we were a little concerned. When the Innkeeper came out to meet us, we wondered what we have gotten ourselves into. But once we walked in, we found one most beautiful rooms, comfortable stays, welcoming inn-keepers, and lovely breakfasts ever! And all for a very reasonable price! Have a chic dinner outside at the nearby Roundhouse hotel overlooking the local waterfalls and stay in the "Red Room" at the Swann
for a romantic stay!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevmo2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    25
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
97
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2014

First of all, I really appreciated finding a B&B that was willing to house my (very well behaved on the whole) 4 year old daughter. The house, grounds and location are idyllic, being at the foot of the gorgeous Mount Beacon. Lovely clean room, tastefully decorated with brand new bathroom. The garden is very cute and my daughter was delighted to play with the owners' dog and cat. The owners even provided us with a giant bubble set which made her day. She didn't want to leave! Neil is very helpful and will give you a tour of the town and is happy to drive you in if he is able. He can also book you on the Bannerman Castle boat - he is the founder of the trust. Cooking is full of delicious baking and everything is very relaxed and comfortable. Beacon itself is a wonderful place to stay with many ex-Brooklynites living there so a home away from home! Dia is a wonderful art museum and the town is thriving - full of art shops, great restaurants and cafes. A great weekend break from the city.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kayconn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is really a tail of two B&Bs. Was the best of times, it was the worst of times. The rooms appear clean and the breakfast was very good and the owners very helpful and accommodating. However, we stayed in the end of May and it was very, very hot outside... the rooms had no air conditioning and it must have been over 90 in the rooms at night - the upstairs was a good 10 degrees warmer than the downstairs - hence the revised name from Swann and sauna to the Swauna Inn. Also, two of the rooms upstairs share a bathroom which is not convenient. As others have mentioned, the outside of the home needs some work but the inside is well kept.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mms30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neiljacob, Owner at The Swann Inn of Beacon, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
All of our rooms are air conditioned and now every room has it's own bathroom. Every year, we take on a new restoration project for our home. This year, we installed a beautifull 4 piece new bath room in the Blue Sky Room for our guests comfort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Swann Inn. We got driven to and from the train station, and got a tour around town—Neil gave us recommendations and was very accommodating the whole time. The breakfasts each morning were unique and wonderful, and the Red Parlor room we stayed in was beautiful. I'd just make sure to get back to the Inn before it gets dark (or have a car), as the streets get dark.

All in all, a wonderful stay. We'll be staying with the Swann Inn next time we're in Beacon!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Wonderful hosts. They pick you up from the train station and give you rides into town. Also, there's nothing like a home made breakfast -- french toast and bowls of fruit and yogurt. Neil (the host) also leads tours to Bannerman Castle later during the year, alas we will have to come back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the red parlor suite. It's a superb room, comfy bed, warm heater and very convenien...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 January 2014

The Swann Inn of Beacon took our booking at the last minute, and our host Neil came and picked us up from town.

We had a drive-by tour of the township, with Neil pointing out good places to eat and things to do in the town.

The house is a 5 minute drive from Main St, right near the entrance to the hiking trails. It's a short walk to the centre of town, but if you're feeling lazy, Neil will happily drive you in.

The rooms and breakfast were wonderful. Constant supply of hot drinks and cookies. They catered very well to my gluten free needs and also recommended good places for this in town. Beds were luxurious and very comfortable.

I would happily return for another stay.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwibird6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We had a lovely time at the Swann Inn and the owners were more than gracious in every aspect of our stay. Aside from being clean and warm, the Inn had many creature comforts we were very pleased to find such as home made cookies in the evening and a fully stocked coffee/tea bar! We intend to come back again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Monogram10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beacon
3.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Fishkill
1.4 mi away
The Inn And Spa At Beacon
8.1 mi away
The Thayer Hotel
The Thayer Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Point
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
HYATT house Fishkill/Poughkeepsie
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Fishkill
Hampton Inn Fishkill
#1 of 14 in Fishkill
739 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Poughkeepsie/Fishkill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swann Inn of Beacon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swann Inn of Beacon

Property: The Swann Inn of Beacon
Address: 120 Howland Ave, P.O. Box 1078, Beacon, NY 12508-4207
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Beacon
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Beacon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swann Inn of Beacon, a Gothic Revival Victorian is a perfect retreat for hikers, and travelers looking to experience the beauty of the Hudson Valley in a relaxed B & B, nestled in a wooded setting at the foot of Mt. Beacon. Enjoy our tranquil homestyle rooms including queen size beds and private baths. NYC guests,we will pick you up at Beacon train station. Ask about Bannerman Island tour packages. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Swann Inn Of Beacon Hotel Beacon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing