We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”
Review of Bear Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bear Mountain Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bear Mountain
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 7 October 2013

My wife and I recently spent a mid-week day at the Inn while returning from a Catskills Fall tour. I had last stayed on the property over 35 years ago in one of the cottages for an extended period of time. I continue to be impressed with how a property so close to Manhattan can remain so beautiful. The view from the fire tower is always amazing and at 11 in the morning we were virtually the only people there.Thanks to George Perkins for getting this right. The refurbished Inn is beautiful and our room was excellent. The king size bed was very large, very comfortably furnished, clean and the midweek AAA/AARP rate was a bargain. I did my homework before going so knew the restaurant would be closed but the lounge open. The limited menu included fish, fowl and beef. We both chose the steak which was excellent, frankly a bit of a surprise. Service across the board was also excellent and also a surprise as much of the help is new. The manager was all over the place seeing that things were done right. The only negatives were: the noise level which came through a door to an adjacent room and would have been a problem but fortunately stopped at 10 and the vanity being a bit high for my 5' wife. Odd design. It took a couple of minutes to figure out the A/C, it is controlled from a wall thermostat. The continental breakfast was average but all we expected from other inns/ hotels. Overall, we enjoyed the day stay and would not hesitate to return. Good job Bear Mtn. Inn!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BUtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M, Director of Sales at Bear Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thank you for your kind words. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Our Best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (412)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

319 - 325 of 412 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2013

My boyfriend and I came up here from New York City for a quick, 2-night, midweek getaway. It was a wonderful break from the city. We stayed in the stone cottages, which are 6-unit buildings. The rooms were simple but clean, and the price was right. We took a day hike that departed from the Inn. The area around the inn is a little less wild than I would prefer, but once you're hiking, it's like any other northeastern forest, which is to say, beautiful. Just get away from the main lake by the Inn, and you'll have plenty of forest to yourself. It was very quiet at night. Breakfast was included, and if you go to the Inn, they have a waffle maker. The staff was friendly. It's not luxury travel, but the price matches the product. I plan to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1999Rachel2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M, Director of Sales at Bear Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts! We love that we are just a short trip from Manhattan, and yet a world away. We would be so delighted to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.


Our Best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We recently returned from a mid-week stay at the Bear Mountain Inn. If you are seeking an opportunity to commune with both nature and your loved ones mid-week in the park affords you that luxury.

My husband booked a king suite. In comparison to similar suites we thought it a bit pricey (even considering we had been quoted the AAA/Senior rate ).
The accomodations were both spacious and quite pleasing to the eye (leather couches, chairs and hassock) but as this review is meant to shed light on the actual hotel experience I will be picayune for the sake of future travelers.

Ladies, bring your own make-up mirror. The lighting (though romantic) is so dim throughout that although romantic it also prevents you from seeing how to apply anything.
If you are anywhere in the vicinity of 5'1" or less there is a strong possibility that you will have to stand on your tippy toes when you wash your face in the bathroom as the vanity is built higher than the standard size.
The shower did not offer the best of pressure but hot water was abundant.

Wishing to indulge in the clean mountain air we opened the windows only to find no screens thus we had a number of pesky insect visits throughout the night along with a host of birds seated alongside them on the window sill.

Although the room was billed as non-smoking we encountered more than a few cigarette butts outside on the window ledge.

The lovely electric fireplace (which was one of the amenities we were most looking forward to utilizing because we are fireplace-less back home) was beautiful but posed an immediate problem- It kicked on the air conditioning unit. When we attempted to turn off the A/C we discovered that there are no knobs allowing us to do so. In essence, a guest does not appear to have any control over the A/C or heat as it appears to be regulated from the outside.
We had to call down to the front desk. A receptionist responded to our request for assistance and ultimately ended up taking off the A/C cover and unplugging it.
Minutes after she departed the temperature of the fireplace activated the A/C in the bedroom and we called down once again. She performed the same procedure.

We then sat down for what we had hoped would be a relaxing pre-dinner nap and some T.V. viewing.
The T.V. in the main room would not go on despite following the instructions to the letter.
We attempted to turn on the T.V. in the bedroom and were successful but guess who we had to call back to the room? .
This time she explained to us that the directions are not necessarily accurate and that in some of the rooms one T.V. is designated HDM1 and the other HDM2 whatever that technical jargon might mean.

Before heading down for a bite to eat we called to request a wake-up call for the following morning because we noticed that the alarm clock on the night stand had no illumination and we were concerned whether or not it worked properly.
We wanted to be up by 7:00 a.m. I roused my husband at 7:35 a.m. (OOPS!)

When you visit the hotel mid-week you have to be prepared that the main dining room and the spa as well as many amenities throughout the park (paddle boats/ canoes, merry-go-round) are closed therefore we were prepared to eat at the bar as previous reviewers have indicated.
We were delighted that it was a fairly warm evening so we sat on the outside deck and I seated myself facing a mountain view which I thought was beautiful.
I expected mediocre service and was wrong. The service was excellent and our server Heidi was both courteous and competent.

As it is a very limited menu and actually referred to as 'light fare' we ordered burgers (which come with either fries or a salad). The burgers were juicy and very tasty. The caesar salad was small but delicious. Sodas were bottomless so we indulged.
Try the apple pie ala mode. It was delicious.

We took a lovely stroll down to the lake after dinner. The path was not as well-lit as one would expect but the view of the moon reflecting off the water was worth possibly stumbling along the way.

During the day we had walked the lake's perimeter (approx. 20 minutes) where there were many picture-taking opportunites but alas were heartbroken to see how much litter both surrounded and was submerged in the water. It really distracted from the overall beauty.
Perhaps the Ocktoberfest is to blame. What a shame!

As mentioned the zoo is relatively small but worth walking to as it is picturesque and fun to see bears and fox frolicking.

Save time to drive up the Perkins Memorial Highway (about 6 minutes from the Inn and an entirely different world) but do so way before dusk.
Expect to find hordes of people up there.

What I did not expect was such a phenomenal view.
We have been to mountain peaks 20x's the height and yet I found this vista to be breathtaking.
Bring lots of film and a picnic basket. It really was that good!

The next moring when we walked down to the lobby we asked the receptionist if the restaurant was open for breakfast. She said 'no' but the bar provides a continental breakfast (juice, coffee, muffins, waffles, cold/hot cereals and fruit) for its overnight guests.

My first thought was what a lovely gesture. My second thought was that this was never mentioned at check-in nor was much else for that matter.

And there in seems to lie the biggest problem at this establishment-communication or non for that matter.
No one at the desk seemed well-versed in anything related to the hotel and its surrounding area.

One lovely young lady admitted that she was fairly new so I certainly excuse her lack of information and truth be told she attempted to be quite helpful nonetheless.

Other than the wait staff at the bar I found everyone else to be somewhat lethargic and disconnected. Maybe they are more engaging on week-ends.

So in the end, the inn itself (architecture, location) is lovely but it definitely can stand to improve on many levels and hopefully it will.

My husband and I are celebrating a very big anniversary next March.
Our planned destination was to be Bear Mountain Inn.
At this juncture I am just not so sure it will fit the bill.
Perhaps in time.....

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank lisa l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

When we arrived I thought the setting was spectacular, just what we were looking for.

Checking in was fine with the receptionist being helpful and courteous. She made a big thing about the hotel being full and we had the last room. I echo the point from an earlier reviewer about a mouldy smell in the corridors and the lobby but when you got into the room the smell was less intrusive. The room was huge with 2 double beds, it was clean. The lack of shower gel was a bit of a let down and we only had 1 coffee cup for coffee in the morning.

We walked down to the other hotel (Bear Mountain Inn) for our evening meal, ok food but the menus that the hotel were displaying didn't seem to be available. The walk was longer than the hotel receptionist had indicated but the views on the walk were amazing so it didn't feel that long.

The breakfast was very poor with a small selection of cereals and a few solitary muffins on offer. Coffee was available but that was it... Some croissants would have been nice and tea as alternative would have been good.

All in all, a very quiet hotel with good staff but let down by the poor breakfast and the odd smell in the corridors.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andyshaw76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M, Director of Sales at Bear Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Thank you for your feedback of the Overlook Lodge! We appreciate that you chose to stay with us, and apologize that you were disappointed with your stay. I have forwarded your comments to our operations team to continue to best find a solution regarding the atmosphere in the lobby.

Our Best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

The setting is magnificent. The execution is disappointing. What was once a fine Inn & lodge is now lazily managed and looks unkept, scruffy & overpriced for the standards maintained. It looks like it relies on it's location & historic magnificnce, rather than service levels currently delivered. There was litter (trash) throughout the park ground...'rangers' or otehr park staff drove by, ignoring the rotting detritus left by pinic-ers.
The maintenance is neglected - the roof on the restaurant terrace leaked in the rain, the view from the restaurant & bar terrace, which could have overlooked the lake and mountains beyond, was of delivery vans, overflowing kitchen waste bins & staff smoking outside the kitchen back door.
We stayed up in the Overlook lodge - the ancient a/c could not be adjusted...it rattled & groanedkeeping us awke at night. The 'Continental buffet breakfast' was a selection of cereal & a few tired muffins. The windows of the lounge, 'overlooking' the lake, were so dirty you could barely see out & the trees around the lodge were so overgrown, the whole place felt dampl, dark & dingey.
The Inn & Lodge....bith structurally impressive, are poorly managed, run down and serviced by de-motivated staff. This palce has great potential, but until ther is a change in management & a significant change in attitude, it will remain a disappointing dump, wasting it's position in it's outstanding surroundings.

Room Tip: If in the Overlook Lodge - stay away from rooms at the far end (furtehst from reception) where the i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RB_and_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M, Director of Sales at Bear Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Thank you for your review and feedback regarding your recent stay. I have immediately sent your thoughts to each of our management team members to remedy these issues. This is most certainly not at all indicative of the standards to which we hold our team members responsible, and we remain dedicated to constantly improving our hotel, our services, and the setting within which we are located.

Thank you again for sending your thoughts. We will continue to work diligently to grow.



Our Best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Just had our daughter's wedding at Bear Mountain Inn - a sort of destination wedding without being too far a destination. It was fabuloius - many guests came up the day before and took advantage of the hiking and and other attractions the park has to offer. The wedding at the Inn exceeded our expecations, the accomodations were excellent and the staff was professional and took excellent care of us throughout the event. Great time! Thanks to Joe, Rich and Dina

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M, Director of Sales at Bear Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

It was truly our pleasure to have the opportunity to take part in your daughter's wedding. We are beyond happy that we exceeded your expectations, and can only hope to be honored with a return visit.

All our Best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

The rooms at the Bear Mountain Inn and Overlook Lodge are clean, well decorated and in a beautiful setting. The renovations have maintained the mountain theme (logs, massive fireplaces, animal heads) but added touches of modern luxury. Large windows allow the beautiful scenery to 'come in' . The staff is amazingly hospitable, eager to please and offers numerous suggestions of area activities. Room rate includes complimentary continental breakfast.

Room Tip: Check out the special in the Tapas Bar..........during our visit some entrees and wines were half pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnP55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M, Director of Sales at Bear Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and moreover, that you enjoyed the unique renovation of the Inn. We are eager to relay to our staff, your noting of their service and hospitality - this is truly a feather in our cap.


All our Best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bear Mountain
4.7 mi away
The Thayer Hotel
The Thayer Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Point
1,019 reviews
3.5 mi away
Inn on the Hudson
Inn on the Hudson
#2 of 2 in Peekskill
226 reviews
19.4 mi away
Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Point
7.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
#1 of 2 in Central Valley
794 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Peekskill - Hudson Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Mountain Inn

Address: 3020 Seven Lakes Drive, Bear Mountain, NY 10911
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Bear Mountain
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bear Mountain
Price Range: £86 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bear Mountain Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bear Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bear Mountain Hotel Bear Mountain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing