We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Area, stellar food”
Review of Bear Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bear Mountain Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bear Mountain
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 3 November 2013

My fiance and I went to Bear mountain in to meet some friends for brunch and then enjoy the octoberfest festivities a few weeks ago. We had a blast. The food at brunch was delish (i had pumpkin soup and a cobb salad with the most delicious poached spiced pears.) We had excellent service and the leaves were in full fall color. The lakeside octoberfest was also a lot of fun with great music and beer. Highly recommend a visit and next we will be doing an overnight stay for sure!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank dlb123123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M, Director of Sales at Bear Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

We are so excited that you had a great time while here a few weeks ago! Fall is an exciting, fun, beautiful time of year at Bear Mountain and we love sharing it with our guests. We hope you have the opportunity to spend an evening with us soon!


All the Best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (412)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

314 - 320 of 412 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2013

The property itself is beautiful, and the recent renovations appear to be very well done. The staff was friendly, but a number of issues resulted in a disappointing stay. The room we checked into was extremely cold, and the heating system in the room was inoperable. Hotel staff eventually solved this problem, but it was somewhat of a nuisance that seems to have been avoidable. Also, the television set wasn't working in our room when we checked in. After about five minutes of working with it, I was able to get it operable. Not a big deal, but another nuisance that could have been avoidable. The worst issue was the loud noise through the night. The music coming from downstairs was so loud that every lyric was discernible in our room, and the room was actually vibrating. For anyone who's tried to put a toddler to sleep, you can imagine what it was like dealing with this noise up to midnight.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Worldtraveler87354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M, Director of Sales at Bear Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts, and please accept my most sincere of apologies. I understand completely your frustrations, and have forwarded your comments to our team so that we may do better.
Again, we apologize that your stay did not meet your expectations. We will continue to strive to perform better for all our guests.

Our Best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We live in Brooklyn and thought it would be nice to take the kids up to see some nature during the Fall. We thought of Bear Mountain because it's not too far - about an hour and a half drive from our neighborhood. I emailed the Inn before we left to make sure the trails would all be open on the afternoon we planned to go, and was told that they would be - but because of Bear Mountain Inn's Oktoberfest celebrations we should expect some traffic between 12 and 5pm.

Well, "some traffic" turned into a major traffic nightmare. We could not leave our house before 10:30am because of our little one's nap schedule, and we arrived in the Bear Mountain area around noon. By then the traffic was MILES long. It took us over two hours to move less than two miles. The Bear Mountain Inn parking lot was full. People were parked on the street for miles beyond the Inn. We turned around and went back to the roundabout near the Inn's entrance and circled back one last time, only to sit in traffic again. This time at least the parking lot was open, but we learned when we got there that it is $8 to park, cash only. The parking lot booth worker would not let my husband idle the car or circle the lot while I ran into the Inn to get cash -- and, in fact, he called security to come after us. The woman who drove the Inn's truck was extremely rude and nasty to us, as if we were trying to cheat the entire Inn out of their eight whole dollars, when really we were just trying to turn around and get out.

If they are going to have this festival every year, I don't think it's unreasonable to expect that they be better prepared for it, and have their staff be a little nicer and more understanding to those of us who just want to park and go hiking. Instead, all they seem to care about is making money off their Oktoberfest event and their $8 parking fees. It'll be a while before we try to go back. Next time we'll head somewhere else with the kids when we want to go hiking.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank Meredith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M, Director of Sales at Bear Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Please accept our most sincere of apologies for your experience while at Bear Mountain. It is absolutely never our intention to have any of our guests leave unhappy. You are correct Oktoberfest is an incredibly busy time of year, and I will ensure that all our staff communicate this properly, especially in reference to visitors not planning to attend Oktoberfest. I will also take the liberty of sending your thoughts to the New York State Park Service - while we (Guest Services) manage the Inn, we do not operate, nor man, the parking, security, etc - this is all operated by New York State. Each and every visitor should be met with patience and a smile regardless of the time of year.
Thank you for your thoughts. We sincerely apologize.

Our Best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We had planned an October 9 event to take place at a government run facility which shut down due to the sequester on October 1, 2013. We had only 1 week to move a 150+ person event and luckily came across the Bear Mountain Inn. This place could not be more accomodating! The event planning staff was amazing, very quick to response and very easy to work with. It was a times difficult to get through over the phone so I highly reccomend emails. The Bear Mountain Inn is one of the most beutuful venues I have ever seen in NY! The view of the mountains and lake, the beutiful stone fireplace makes it picture perfect. Parking is easy, food is good, what else can you ask for?

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lilli g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M, Director of Sales at Bear Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

We are simply delighted that we had the opportunity to assist with your event, and that you and your guests also enjoyed their time at Bear Mountain! It was a pleasure to work with you, and we look forward to having you back.


Our Best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We were travelling up the Hudson River Valley and decided to visit the park and have lunch at the inn. A very nice place with a beautiful dining room. We had lunch on the deck, I would love to come back in the summer, when all the facilities are open. PS Don't miss the view from the top of Bear Mt., it is spectacular !!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenerous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSI_CustomerService, Manager at Bear Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Jenerous-Thank you for your comments, we are glad that you enjoyed your quick lunch on the deck! Please do come back to visit Bear Mountain Inn again soon; the beauty and views are truly breathtaking year-round. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

My wife and I recently spent a mid-week day at the Inn while returning from a Catskills Fall tour. I had last stayed on the property over 35 years ago in one of the cottages for an extended period of time. I continue to be impressed with how a property so close to Manhattan can remain so beautiful. The view from the fire tower is always amazing and at 11 in the morning we were virtually the only people there.Thanks to George Perkins for getting this right. The refurbished Inn is beautiful and our room was excellent. The king size bed was very large, very comfortably furnished, clean and the midweek AAA/AARP rate was a bargain. I did my homework before going so knew the restaurant would be closed but the lounge open. The limited menu included fish, fowl and beef. We both chose the steak which was excellent, frankly a bit of a surprise. Service across the board was also excellent and also a surprise as much of the help is new. The manager was all over the place seeing that things were done right. The only negatives were: the noise level which came through a door to an adjacent room and would have been a problem but fortunately stopped at 10 and the vanity being a bit high for my 5' wife. Odd design. It took a couple of minutes to figure out the A/C, it is controlled from a wall thermostat. The continental breakfast was average but all we expected from other inns/ hotels. Overall, we enjoyed the day stay and would not hesitate to return. Good job Bear Mtn. Inn!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BUtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M, Director of Sales at Bear Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thank you for your kind words. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Our Best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

My boyfriend and I came up here from New York City for a quick, 2-night, midweek getaway. It was a wonderful break from the city. We stayed in the stone cottages, which are 6-unit buildings. The rooms were simple but clean, and the price was right. We took a day hike that departed from the Inn. The area around the inn is a little less wild than I would prefer, but once you're hiking, it's like any other northeastern forest, which is to say, beautiful. Just get away from the main lake by the Inn, and you'll have plenty of forest to yourself. It was very quiet at night. Breakfast was included, and if you go to the Inn, they have a waffle maker. The staff was friendly. It's not luxury travel, but the price matches the product. I plan to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1999Rachel2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M, Director of Sales at Bear Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts! We love that we are just a short trip from Manhattan, and yet a world away. We would be so delighted to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.


Our Best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bear Mountain
4.7 mi away
The Thayer Hotel
The Thayer Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Point
1,020 reviews
3.5 mi away
Inn on the Hudson
Inn on the Hudson
#2 of 2 in Peekskill
225 reviews
19.4 mi away
Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Point
7.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
#1 of 2 in Central Valley
793 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Peekskill - Hudson Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Mountain Inn

Address: 3020 Seven Lakes Drive, Bear Mountain, NY 10911
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Bear Mountain
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bear Mountain
Price Range: £88 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bear Mountain Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bear Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bear Mountain Hotel Bear Mountain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing