We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great photography spot”

Harriman State Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$326.00*
and up
7 Lakes Drive Private Tour from Newark
Attraction details
Stony Point, New York
Level Contributor
209 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great photography spot”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Great views of the Hudson River and Bear Mt. Bridge from Perkins Memorial Drive. Also has great views around the Bear Mt. Inn and adjacent lake.

Helpful?
2 Thank SteveLandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    30
    11
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
philippines
Level Contributor
125 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“It was all forest and green”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I had some time in the morning and decided to see what was in the park. It is very peaceful with no people and cars in the park. All you see is green and serenity.
The only problem was there was no place to stop, no person to talk to. It is more of a forest than a park.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank gladysdv1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Wonderfull getaway !!!”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This amazing state park is only 30-40min of scenic drive from NYC. We recommend you to make one stop on your way to Harriman Park. You'll definitely enjoy wonderful views of State Line Lookout- exit 3 on Pallisades Pkwy. We usually have breakfast there in the small, romantic, old-fashioned café and then continue our pleasant ride to the park.
In Harriman park you could have all the civil and wild activities for people of all ages and interests.
Welch Lake is the most commercial area and usually very crowded. Sandy beach makes Welch Lake very attractive for tourists.
If you prefer quieter places we recommend to try Kanawauke, Tiorati or Silvermine Lake.

Harriman park is very large and you need to visit it several times to discover you favorite area. We were there about 10 times and always found something new.
We also recommend to visit Perkins Memorial Tower. Views are breathtaking there!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
11 Thank lovelycouple1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
114 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Day in the Woods!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is in the same area as Bear Mountain State Park - they are pretty much interchangeable (at least we think so!). The hiking is amazing. I love the variety of trails you can choose from - you can stay on flat ground if you want or you can hike to the top of the mountain and get rugged terrain in. The hills can be really rocky, which we love. We pack lunch and make a day of it. Hike for a few hours, eat at the top, then hike back down. We usually spend about 4-5 hours here.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Melissa1130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great for hiking”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I drive through several times a week on my way to and from work. Very scenic, with every kind of bird and mammal imaginable. Very scenic, especially in the fall, and at sunrise and sunset. The park police are a nasty bunch, however. I pulled my car over along one of the lakes at 6a to take a picture of the sunrise, and the cop told me I couldn't park there, even though I was standing next to my car for a 5 minute photo. So unless you want to hike or walk long distances along the road, it's not easy taking pictures.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank AREEN7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harriman State Park also viewed

 

Been to Harriman State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing