We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly Impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bear Mountain Inn's Overlook Lodge
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed at the Overlook Lodge last weekend as we were attending a wedding at the Bear Mountain Inn. We thought better of leaving the wedding and driving out onto dark, winding roads. The lodge is near the inn, small but friendly and welcoming. They have a few amenities at the front desk. Purchased an additional bottle of wine. Small breakfast spread in the morning. I had no food but the coffee was good.
The room was 2 double beds, which were comfortable. Bathroom was clean with minimum but very nice toiletries.
The stay at the lodge wasn't planned and I wasn't really expecting much. I will definitely consider returning to this location. Although we are not campers or hikers, the area was lovely. if you do spend the day outdoors, the Overlook Lodge is a nice room in which to return.

Room Tip: I didn't notice an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank callover325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M, Director of Sales at Bear Mountain Inn's Overlook Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

We are delighted we were able to offer you a respite from your drive home, and even more excited that we exceeded your expectations. Bear Mountain truly is a special place, and we hope to welcome you back.


All the Best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2013

stayed here for one night and had the most awesome experience - we had a TRAVEL ZOO vouche -first the check in - Chris was very courteous & friendly and quickly explained all necessary detail with maps et all...Cara took over for the rest of the day , she was really excellent - she was very friendly and helpful in all ways and was very familiar with the area gave us excellent tips and suggested places to visit..overall experience with this place was very satisfying - with the TZ voucher got a good bang for the buck!
The LODGE - rooms nice big & clean - all little things matter - they took care of all ver nicely - set up for coffee was well planned - all fixtures & matching bed apparel kept up with the theme.
Room with Lakeview was appreciated - it was worth the visit and will come back in fall to enjoy more .
Enought things to do in surrounding areas for a weekend retreat OR spend couple of days- walk around the lake - visit bear mountain inn - Perkins tower - suspension bridge all nature lovers will enjoy this experience!!

Room Tip: rooms facing the lakes will be the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMITAP0703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M, Director of Sales at Bear Mountain Inn's Overlook Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

It couldn't please us more that you enjoyed your recent stay! We hope you find the opportunity to visit again to indulge in the Fall Foliage!

All the Best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Located in a beautiful scenic spot: mountains, lake (row and peddle boating only,, no swimming), big outdoor pool on the property $2 admission fee w reentry rights. Lake area gets very crowded on weeekends w barbequers. Lots of parking, freefor guests. Overlook lodge is a quick drive from the Inn (lake, food, etc is all at the Inn). Rooms were tidy and descent but lots of spiderwebs on windows and common area balcony. The river and the lake can be seen from the common balcony but dense forest blocks that view from some rooms. Nice staff. No elevator at the overlook lodge, its 2 stories high. You get simple continental breakfast, coffee, juice, cereal and pastries. Smoking only outside and on common balcony. Rooms have fridges and microwaves. Shampoos are paraben and sulfate free. Nice place for couples and families alike. Enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

My husband and I didn't stay here - only did a walk through for future consideration.

The location is great - off the beaten path in the middle of woods and no garbage/litter strewn about (as at The Bear Mountain Inn.)

Musty/mildew smell is evident the moment you walk into the vestibule. Smells disgusting. Lobby has stunning view of the Lake - but outdated colonial type furniture and again: mildew odor. I personally wouldn't be able to eat the continental breakfast that's offered with that offensive odor.

ROOM TOUR:
I walked down the hallway (which has the same odor) and looked at one of the rooms (the door was ajar with nobody about.) Here is the good news: THEY ARE CLEAN! Kudos to housekeeping! The bathroom even looked updated and clean - albeit small. Two beds (nice coverlet) and a desk, decent size room with cute wet bar.

I personally wouldn't stay here because it's too expensive for what's offered. If you can past the odor and get a special price (under a hundred dollars) it might be worth it. Think of it as camping :) God bless!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank gram777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M, Director of Sales at Bear Mountain Inn's Overlook Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We are always looking to improve every facet of our guests' experience, as such, I have forwarded your notes to our housekeeping teams in order to best combat the odor you experienced.

Our Best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

This hotel will meet decent expectations with clean and good sized rooms, nice lobby room with a view and if any activities are taking place in the area, it is well located. Nothing out of this world but did suit our needs when traveling to an event taking place at Westpoint military academy. In fact, not very far from NYC if you want to take a day trip while staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

My son and (now) daughter-in-law held their wedding reception at the Bear Mountain Inn and everyone had a wonderful time. The rooms at the inn are lovely- large, new and clean. All of my son and daughter-in-law's friends stayed at the Overlook Lodge which was a perfect place for all of the young people to gather. The rooms in the lodge are more rustic but there is a wonderful community "living room" area that was ideal for all of the young people to relax and talk (and party a bit more) together after the reception was over. We would have loved to have booked the three cottages as well for additional family members but didn't book early enough. Overall, this is a wonderful place for a wedding reception but if you want to book all of the buildings, make sure you book early!

Room Tip: Rooms at the Main Inn are newer than those at the Overlook Lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valhalla33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M, Director of Sales at Bear Mountain Inn's Overlook Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

It was such an honor to be chosen to host you and your family. It brings us such enjoyment to see our guests have the peace and freedom to have so much fun with their family and friends! Thank you for sharing your son's special day with us - we look forward to welcoming you all back in the future.

Our Best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Would like to try this again when not so busy. We traveled from PA to meet friends from CT "in the middle," hit heavy traffic the last few miles around noon July 4th and found the park entrance closed to further visitors since they had maxed out the parking lots. We would not have been admitted without the hotel reservation. Check-in line was long, staff was somewhat harried but very friendly, park and trail maps were hard to follow and the breakfast bar was a disaster - out of milk, pastries, and bowls for oatmeal. But we were pleasantly surprised by the rooms - even with a view of the parking lot - much nicer than we expected, very clean with comfortable beds, and a great value - especially on week days. The breakfast problems were going to be addressed the following week with a full breakfast offered at the nearby Bear Mt. Inn (a lovely 15 minute walk away). This place has not been open long and they are still working their way up the learning curve, but we were very impressed with the location, the staff, the excellent dinners (well-priced) and the activities. The walk over the Hudson on the suspension bridge walkway was very memorable. The pool in the adjoining park was beautiful and huge. There is a small zoo and a classic Merry-Go-Round on the park grounds with painted horses circling next to a deer, raccoon, skunk, frog, goose, bear, etc. The Appalachian Trail runs through the park. And we topped off the visit with a drive to the spectacular view from the George Perkins Memorial lookout tower. We also scheduled a great tour of West Point, 15 minutes away. The four of us are looking forward to our next visit and will plan to bring the grandkids along.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M, Director of Sales at Bear Mountain Inn's Overlook Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Thank you so very much for your review. Summer holidays are a remarkably busy time for us, and we absolutely appreciate your patience. As stated to you, our breakfast service has been completely overhauled to better accommodate all our guests - we are confident that upon your return visit, you will find a wonderful and varied selection.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Our Best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bear Mountain
0.6 mi away
Bear Mountain Inn
Bear Mountain Inn
#1 of 1 in Bear Mountain
419 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Thayer Hotel
The Thayer Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Point
1,031 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Inn on the Hudson
Inn on the Hudson
#2 of 2 in Peekskill
228 reviews
20 mi away
Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
7 mi away
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
#1 of 2 in Central Valley
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear Mountain Inn's Overlook Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Mountain Inn's Overlook Lodge

Address: 55 Hessian Drive, Bear Mountain, NY 10911
Region: United States > New York > Bear Mountain
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bear Mountain
Price Range: £87 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bear Mountain Inn's Overlook Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge features 24 guestrooms with either a commanding view of the Hudson River or the forests of Bear Mountain. Our newly enhanced guest rooms are a great reason to rediscover Bear Mountain featuring a luxurious, distinctly rustic feel to match the lodge's spectacular location and views. The Hudson Ballroom offers breathtaking views of both the Hudson River and Hessian Lake for your meeting or celebrations, up to 180 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Bear Mountain Inn's Overlook Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bear Mountain Inn`s Overlook Hotel Bear Mountain
Overlook Hotel Bear Mountain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing