We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Practical and convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bear Mountain Inn's Overlook Lodge
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Practical and convenient”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed here on our way from nyc to The Adirondack mountains. As a taster for the scenery that you can find further north, it is a remarkably convenient quick trip out of Manhattan....just an hour North. The Bear mountain inn was a bit scruffy, but served solidly reliable and sturdy food in an unpretentious setting. This was a twenty minute walk from the hotel though. The Hotel itself had large, comfortable rooms and was very quiet. The bathroom had a tiny bathtub, but otherwise the room was fine. Breakfast was a bit barren....cereal, muffin and plastic crockery.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    51
    42
    13
    17
See reviews for
43
78
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We arrived at the first Oktoberfest Sunday and where surprised from all the people there. The hotel is very nice and made of chestnut. Everything is at the Bear Mountain Inn looked like you think a lodge should be. The staff was very friendly. We had a very nice big room with a lake view. Everything was beautifully renovated. The restaurant was delicious but a bit pricy. If you like hiking you are at right place and the lake is beautiful. If you like shopping like we, you will be at the outlets in 20 minutes.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank reppis90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M, Director of Sales at Bear Mountain Inn's Overlook Lodge, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay, and the many amenities available in and around Bear Mountain. Thank you for taking some time to share your thoughts! We hope your travels bring you back to the Hudson Valley and a trip to Bear Mountain.

All the Best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york, new york
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed at the Overlook Lodge last weekend as we were attending a wedding at the Bear Mountain Inn. We thought better of leaving the wedding and driving out onto dark, winding roads. The lodge is near the inn, small but friendly and welcoming. They have a few amenities at the front desk. Purchased an additional bottle of wine. Small breakfast spread in the morning. I had no food but the coffee was good.
The room was 2 double beds, which were comfortable. Bathroom was clean with minimum but very nice toiletries.
The stay at the lodge wasn't planned and I wasn't really expecting much. I will definitely consider returning to this location. Although we are not campers or hikers, the area was lovely. if you do spend the day outdoors, the Overlook Lodge is a nice room in which to return.

Room Tip: I didn't notice an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank callover325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M, Director of Sales at Bear Mountain Inn's Overlook Lodge, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
We are delighted we were able to offer you a respite from your drive home, and even more excited that we exceeded your expectations. Bear Mountain truly is a special place, and we hope to welcome you back.


All the Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deer Park
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

stayed here for one night and had the most awesome experience - we had a TRAVEL ZOO vouche -first the check in - Chris was very courteous & friendly and quickly explained all necessary detail with maps et all...Cara took over for the rest of the day , she was really excellent - she was very friendly and helpful in all ways and was very familiar with the area gave us excellent tips and suggested places to visit..overall experience with this place was very satisfying - with the TZ voucher got a good bang for the buck!
The LODGE - rooms nice big & clean - all little things matter - they took care of all ver nicely - set up for coffee was well planned - all fixtures & matching bed apparel kept up with the theme.
Room with Lakeview was appreciated - it was worth the visit and will come back in fall to enjoy more .
Enought things to do in surrounding areas for a weekend retreat OR spend couple of days- walk around the lake - visit bear mountain inn - Perkins tower - suspension bridge all nature lovers will enjoy this experience!!

Room Tip: rooms facing the lakes will be the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMITAP0703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M, Director of Sales at Bear Mountain Inn's Overlook Lodge, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
It couldn't please us more that you enjoyed your recent stay! We hope you find the opportunity to visit again to indulge in the Fall Foliage!

All the Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Located in a beautiful scenic spot: mountains, lake (row and peddle boating only,, no swimming), big outdoor pool on the property $2 admission fee w reentry rights. Lake area gets very crowded on weeekends w barbequers. Lots of parking, freefor guests. Overlook lodge is a quick drive from the Inn (lake, food, etc is all at the Inn). Rooms were tidy and descent but lots of spiderwebs on windows and common area balcony. The river and the lake can be seen from the common balcony but dense forest blocks that view from some rooms. Nice staff. No elevator at the overlook lodge, its 2 stories high. You get simple continental breakfast, coffee, juice, cereal and pastries. Smoking only outside and on common balcony. Rooms have fridges and microwaves. Shampoos are paraben and sulfate free. Nice place for couples and families alike. Enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

My husband and I didn't stay here - only did a walk through for future consideration.

The location is great - off the beaten path in the middle of woods and no garbage/litter strewn about (as at The Bear Mountain Inn.)

Musty/mildew smell is evident the moment you walk into the vestibule. Smells disgusting. Lobby has stunning view of the Lake - but outdated colonial type furniture and again: mildew odor. I personally wouldn't be able to eat the continental breakfast that's offered with that offensive odor.

ROOM TOUR:
I walked down the hallway (which has the same odor) and looked at one of the rooms (the door was ajar with nobody about.) Here is the good news: THEY ARE CLEAN! Kudos to housekeeping! The bathroom even looked updated and clean - albeit small. Two beds (nice coverlet) and a desk, decent size room with cute wet bar.

I personally wouldn't stay here because it's too expensive for what's offered. If you can past the odor and get a special price (under a hundred dollars) it might be worth it. Think of it as camping :) God bless!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank gram777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M, Director of Sales at Bear Mountain Inn's Overlook Lodge, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are always looking to improve every facet of our guests' experience, as such, I have forwarded your notes to our housekeeping teams in order to best combat the odor you experienced.

Our Best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

This hotel will meet decent expectations with clean and good sized rooms, nice lobby room with a view and if any activities are taking place in the area, it is well located. Nothing out of this world but did suit our needs when traveling to an event taking place at Westpoint military academy. In fact, not very far from NYC if you want to take a day trip while staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bear Mountain
4.1 mi away
Inn on the Hudson
Inn on the Hudson
#2 of 2 in Peekskill
216 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Thayer Hotel
The Thayer Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Point
976 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Peekskill - Hudson Valley
7.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
#1 of 2 in Central Valley
760 reviews
20.0 mi away
Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear Mountain Inn's Overlook Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Mountain Inn's Overlook Lodge

Property: Bear Mountain Inn's Overlook Lodge
Address: 55 Hessian Drive, Bear Mountain, NY 10911
Region: United States > New York > Bear Mountain
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bear Mountain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bear Mountain Inn's Overlook Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge features 24 guestrooms with either a commanding view of the Hudson River or the forests of Bear Mountain. Our newly enhanced guest rooms are a great reason to rediscover Bear Mountain featuring a luxurious, distinctly rustic feel to match the lodge's spectacular location and views. The Hudson Ballroom offers breathtaking views of both the Hudson River and Hessian Lake for your meeting or celebrations, up to 180 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Bear Mountain Inn's Overlook Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bear Mountain Inn`s Overlook Hotel Bear Mountain
Overlook Hotel Bear Mountain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing