We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bear Cafe

Bear Cafe
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Bearsville
Price range: US$0 - US$27
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
NJ
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

What a great meal we had at Bear Cafe... this place was so highly recommended both by TripAdvisor reviews, and also by the hosts of the cottage we rented, we just had to give it a try. SO glad we did!! The food was delicious, and creative. Service was excellent. We were stuffed after our meals, but couldn't pass up dessert!! Drinks were yummy too. My only regret was that rain was in the forecast, so we missed out on sitting outside by the creek, but the inside of the restaurant is lovely, as well.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    67
    14
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
125 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“You will go here and eat. Soon.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

The new menu at the Bear is super-duper delicious: tuna tartar, lobster salad, burrata with prosciutto...yeah, you want some of this. My halibut was the best I've ever eaten, and I couldn't get over how succulent the salmon was (yes, we were all eating off of each others' plates all night -- it was that yummy). The staff is friendly and helpful, and the setting is gorgeous. Next time, I am going to get a table next to the river! Woodstock and the scenic Catskills are the pull, but the Bear Cafe is the nosh.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeyinParis2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A classic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Locals love the Bear Cafe. Great stream side location, great theater next door for live music. The Bear has been part of Woodstock in some fashion for nearly 40 years now.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank willysjeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Don't skip this place! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

When we found the vacation house we rented online, several past renters had commented to check out the bear cafe, so we made sure to make a reservation for a night during our stay. Boy are we glad we went! Although a little pricey, our group of seven all agreed it was worth it. The place is lovely, with beautiful views of the stream outside. The menu changes daily we were told, but what we saw the day we went was very diverse. Among us, we had two different types of steaks, a roasted chicken dish, and burgers- all were phenomenal and cooked perfectly. The appetizer of onion rings was fantastic, and even the bread they brought out was amazing. I would strongly recommend this to anyone visiting the area! But make sure to make a reservation in advance because it fills up fast. Thanks to the bear cafe for such a wonderful experience!

Helpful?
Thank jennaamore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
79 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Fantastic, inventive fare in an idyllic setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

The restaurant has been delivering fine food for years in this stunning location next to the Bearsville creek. The dishes are an eclectic mix of the freshest ingredients and while it is not cheap, you get what you pay for and the food is excellent. Portions are also pretty generous so you won't leave hungry. We particularly love their rack of lamb chops and their creative fish dishes. A favorite stop for us whenever we are in Woodstock, this restaurant is highly recommended. Ask for a table next to the window and creek. In winter, ask to be near the fireplace.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank NYcitygirlNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bear Cafe also viewed

Woodstock, Catskill Region
Woodstock, Catskill Region
 
Woodstock, Catskill Region
Woodstock, Catskill Region
 
New Woodstock, NY
Big Indian, Catskill Region
 

Been to Bear Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing