We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somewhere different”
Review of Bedford Post Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bedford Post Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Bedford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level Contributor
73 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Somewhere different”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

The Bedford Post Inn is definitely somewhere to stay if you looking for an upscale alternative.

While the Inn is very old, you couldn't tell this inside as its been furnished to a high standard, has a quiet ambience about it and is very comfortable. We had reason to stay in both the Petite and Californian King with both rooms having a similar feel. The Petite was however extremely small (which its supposed to be) and while the Californian is much bigger, I don't think you could say it was huge.

My only gripe with the rooms is that even the Californian doesn't have elements which I think would contribute to a more comfortable stay. It has the smallest TV you could get, there is only one chair in the room, the air conditioning didn't work in either room, there is no in room dining table/space and no desk to place a laptop/tablet.

In addition, you feel like you almost need to be a mountain goat to get to the Inn car park and then into reception. This may be a product of having to deal with wet and snowy conditions, but I would be interested to see well healed guests getting into the Inn.

Given the cost of these rooms I expected to be blown away, having all the little extras that can make a difference. However to my mind, some of the basics were missing, let alone the extra's.

In terms of location the Inn enjoys a feeling of seclusion and therefore don't expect there to be anything else close by. Even Bedford Village has little to offer and so you need to travel to somewhere like Katonah to get that real village experience (about 10 minutes away by car).

In terms of service, no complaints at all. The staff are very friendly, ready to help at any time and really give you the feeling that you are in fact welcome.

So overall, we did enjoy being at Bedford Inn and I think it is an option for those wanting a relaxed but elegant option. But at the same time we felt that what was delivered really didn't match the price tag.

Room Tip: Don't select the Petite room if you need space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GazPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    17
    13
    13
    11
See reviews for
16
90
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

We had lunch recently in Bedford Inn and really enjoyed the place. The kitchen is a mix of contemporary American and Italian. The place looks very cool and the surroundings gorgeous. Staff is friendly although the valet parking is a bit over the top for the place .... Will absolutely return

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Herman H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hempstead, New York
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2013

My name is Tony and myself and my wife were about to spend our 3rd wedding anniversary at the Inn, when I tore my meniscus in my right knee. I called Tim Puchalski whom I had made the reservation and he was so sympathetic and gladly changed my reservation. But that was not the end of it. I needed to change it a second time due to a second unexpected surgery. and with not even a hesitation the same wonderful customer service by Tim and he changed it again. No words can even express how I was treated. Every Inn and Hotel should have a person like Tim working for them and then there would always be customers of inns and hotels very happy and always wanting to go back to there place I will tell all my friends and family about the Bedford Post Inn and Tim That never met me but treated me like his family. Looking forward to finally meeting you when we stay in September. Thank You Again Tim. Tony

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonyroe1154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I don't think my wife and I could have had a more relaxing and enjoyable experience. The grounds of the Inn are quite beautiful. The staff was informative, friendly and professional. Our room was perfect; king bed, fireplace, private patio, a bathroom with a big tub and shower and a heated tile floor. When we ordered breakfast/room service for 8 AM, it showed up both mornings with 2 minutes! The Restaurant (The Barn) had a completely different menu both nights we were there. One of the best vacation experiences my wife and I have had.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARufrano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

B&Bs are such a great concept yet too often disappoint. Not the Bedford Post. Arrived for a Thursday night stay late July and here are a few takeaways. This is a beautifully done place. My room was fantastic - country but modern / clean. beautiful linens etc. Large bathrooms you'd expect from a top hotel - made better with heated floors. I had one of the best meals of my life at the restaurant outside on the patio. Chef Jeremy and his team cooked outside in a cool little outdoor kitchen you could sit at the bar and look in on. The entire staff - front desk to restaurant were pitch perfect. Warm and friendly yet professional. I had used the virtual concierge service prior to arrival - everything was executed as ordered. This place did everything well from the big things to the small details. Love to go back fall / winter to see the seasons.

Room Tip: I had room 7 which has a great little patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meewahLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rye, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

My husband, adult son and I reserved 4th of July bbq dinner. We dined inside and the service was efficient and professional. We started with a cold antipasto to share then followed by our first course. Two of us had the heirloom tomato salad with mustard seed vinagraitte and one grilled corn and peach salad. We shared tastes and liked that they were crisp and bright tasting. The corn an peach had a nice smoky bacon flavor.Our mains were grilled cornish game hens and spare ribs served with dill potato salad, baked beans and coleslaw. We had difficulty eating our chicken and ribs with forks and knives, as we didn't feel comfortable picking up our entrees with our fingers, so we ended up taking home what we did'nt eat.Dessert was good, nothing special.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MTWENTZCESTMOI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We recently spent one night at the Inn, in room 1. Everything was perfect. The room was beautifully decorated and the linens extra soft. The bathroom was beautiful as well and I loved the toiletry products. The turn down service left us with the most delicious chocolates. We received a lovely breakfast tray in the morning. Everyone was so nice and accommodating. Although it rained a little and we didn't go outside, the the fireplace was such a nice addition, as was the wine hour in the early evening. Our dinner at the Barn was delicious. There was pix fixe
menu which had great choices.
I hope to come back again some time!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amyjaffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bedford
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Mt. Kisco (Westchester Cty)
16.9 mi away
Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
14.0 mi away
Delamar Greenwich Harbor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Westchester
8.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Armonk Westchester Cnty Apt
13.8 mi away
Ethan Allen Hotel
Ethan Allen Hotel
#2 of 15 in Danbury
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedford Post Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Post Inn

Property: Bedford Post Inn
Address: 954 Old Post Rd, Bedford, NY 10506-1216
Region: United States > New York > Westchester County > Bedford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bedford Post Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bedford Post, set in the heart of Westchester, at 954 Old Post Road in Bedford, NY. Bedford Post is home to an eight-room luxury inn, a yoga studio, and two distinct restaurants: The Barn, for casual dining, and The Farmhouse, our more formal dining room. Reservations are gladly taken up to one month in advance at the Farmhouse, and two months in advance at the Barn. Join us for daily classes, workshops and events at The Yoga Loft. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and World Independent Hotel Promotion so you can book your Bedford Post Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Post Hotel Bedford
Bedford Post Inn New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing