We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mickey's way or no way” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pollywogg Holler Eco-Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Belmont
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pollywogg Holler Eco-Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Belmont
Clearwater, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Mickey's way or no way”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

We decided to spend my mother's 60th birthday at Pollywogg Holler. We had a great time until the end, however was not surprised with ending from the observations I made throughout the night. Mickey is the pizza chef/owner. After the first hour of business he was extremely rude with an Asian couple who approached the pizza bar. 30 minutes later a male in his 50's approached the pizza bar as he could not hear what name was called when Mickey went off on him, If that wasn't enough he then came out from behind the counter to continue to belittle this customer. At the end of the evening he came over and asked who our party was for, I proceeeded to tell him it was my mothers 60th birthday, he went over to her with his headlamp blinding her in her face and began to lay into her for bringing such a large party (50) up there at once without prior notification. She explained to him she made several attempts in the prior weeks to notify him and finally left a voice mail message witout a response. At a 5$ cover charge and $9.00 for a paper plate size pizza they made plenty of money. I have never seen a business that would get upset to make money and be busy, I would assume it would be Mickey's dream. If you ever decide to partake in this establishment do not take anyone with you because you may overwhelm Mickey. It's obvious Mickey lacks in people skills, and maybe he should hire a manager to deal with the customers because he cannot handle it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    5
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
5
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

This is a long overdue review as we stayed here for a night in October 2010. On arrival we were welcomed into the Main Lodge by Mickey and were given a little tour and history of this amazing place. They cooked for us in their Lodge, we enjoyed the local wine/beer and later retired to our Sauna Loft where the fire had been lit and the Sauna was ready. Mickey even gave us a lesson in how to properly tend to the fire so that it would stay burning all night and be lovely and warm in the morning. The loft was cozy and such good fun. Amazing stay in this place which is full of things to explore.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LouJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delevan, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Some VERY GOOD friends of ours invited us for a small trip !! could not believe our eyes !! Was a total unexpected experience. It has to be seen to believe, we enjoyed our pizza, wine and beer and all the attractionsm uncluding live music, plus being with our friends. We reserved a cabin for 2015. Can't wait to take all our friends to see this place. It was well worth the $5.00 addmision charge.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wixom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

After coming across Pollywog Holler on the internet, I decided to book a trip there. I booked the Woodshed. A nice rustic room, although I would have preferred some type of latch on the door and the housekeeping could have been better. I enjoyed walking around the grounds, especially in the mornings. The meals were fantastic and not at all skimpy! The wine was very nice also. The hosts couldn't have been nicer. I wish the hiking opportunities in the area were closer. I drove down a gravel road into a state park that just went on forever. I finally decided to turn around and head back. If you love Antiques, there is the nice little town of Angelica with several Antique shops. I look forward to my next trip back and more exploring. This place has so much potential.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LovesTheOutOfDoors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

My boyfriend and I went with another young couple because my friend is good friends with the owners and to this day we still laugh about our crazy pollywogg adventure! Hilarious stories and pix. We hung out with micky quite a bit, and def. drank our fair share if the amazing homemade wine :-) food was good, service was great. However, waking up hungover on that awful dome was pretty trumatic. My friends stayed in the sauna and we were extremely jealous. We will probably go again this summer but book another room!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessikah1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

Nice Sunday afternoon thing to do when deep in the country. We planned a Sunday family day out just to see the accomadation and get an idea of what life in the outback could be, but we were peasantly surprised to arrive on a day with a live band playing, but perfect weather to wander. They've made a real effort of this place, although pricing it for city folk wanting to experience the great outdoors. Pizza was nice though and the selection of bottled beers was good.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank francisedwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester NY
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

My boyfriend and I went here because we wanted a truly unique experience and the eco-resort, rustic, free-minded nature suits us.
The pros: There's nothing else like it. The Sauna Loft is really neat, and feels like you are living in the Hobbit. Good dinners. We were the only ones staying there on this fall night and the owner's son was interested in making us feel welcome and was generous.

Cons: The biggest con of Pollywog is that it is in DIRE need of some picking up and repairing. Especially for the price. This is a splurge for most people - it's not a cheap eco-resort- and if I'm paying this amount of money for an overnight, then the grounds should look maintained. It's rustic. That doesn't mean there should be old barrels and rusty tools laying around, shoved behind buildings (and not hidden at all).

While we loved the Sauna Loft, we booked the Phantasy Dome - a geodesic dome, all alone on a private pond, with 360 views. It was confirmed.

When we got there, we were told we were being put in the Sauna Loft. It was too cold for the dome and it needed some repairs.
We went with it.

Trekking around the next day we went into the dome. There was no way it was fit for someone to sleep in - the hanging bed was broken. Sides ofthe dome ripped. Water damage. It looked as if it had not been functioning for a long time. So why book us in there?

They knew we would not be able to stay there when we booked and said nothing.

We also booked the package where we would get a wine cellar tour .... to be told that it was not in operation. AGain, after we were there.

Wanted to be alone more than we were. Very gregarious host.

Sunday pizza nights looked interesting and maybe worth a drive down this summer - but until someone ACTS like they care about the place they created and that they want to provide a true experience based on what they claim on the website, no more expensive overnights.

Room Tip: The Sauna Loft is by the neatest place to stay. Confirm you will actually be staying in the lodging...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ayapua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belmont
11.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wellsville
11.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Maple City Inn
20.6 mi away
Econo Lodge Cuba
Econo Lodge Cuba
#1 of 1 in Cuba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Best Inn Wellsville
Best Inn Wellsville
#3 of 3 in Wellsville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
12.2 mi away
Days Inn Hornell NY
Days Inn Hornell NY
#3 of 4 in Hornell
3.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Hann Homestead Inn
The Hann Homestead Inn
#1 of 1 in Andover
5.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pollywogg Holler Eco-Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pollywogg Holler Eco-Resort

Property: Pollywogg Holler Eco-Resort
Address: 6240 South Rd., Belmont, NY 14813
Region: United States > New York > Belmont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Belmont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1987, Pollywogg Holler Bed & Breakfast creators Bill and Barb Castle have been entertaining guests at their Eco-lodge with an emphasis on art, nature and being kind to the environment. Now managed by their oldest son, Mickey & his wife Tammy.Book an overnight stay for the full experience, or come by to visit on Wednesday evenings and Sunday afternoons for Pizza and see the new projects that are in progress ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pollywogg Holler Eco Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing