We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Chinese Food in Atlanta”
Review of The Orient

The Orient
Ranked #1 of 63 Restaurants in Bethpage
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Merrick, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Best Chinese Food in Atlanta”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Excellent chinese restaurant. When in Atlanta we make a point of going there. It can get very crowded so early is good.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lchris41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    56
    16
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bethpage, New York, USA
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Must try”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Excellent Chinese! The best I have had on Long Island! And great service! Very fast delivery,! My favorite are the salt and pepper shrimp

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tonytyson2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

On the menu you will find your typical Chinese food selections - all prepared perfectly, kicked up a notch! We were a table of 6, and had...lettuce shrimp wraps, salt & pepper pork chops, filet mignon, shrimp in black bean sauce, sesame chicken, scallops...all excellent. The service & ambience leave something to be desired, but as the locals know, you come strictly for the food! They do not take reservations, so be prepared to wait a few!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andiamo101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, New York, USA
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best Dim Sum”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Great dim sum 7 days a week in comfortable surroundings. Carts on the weekends, menu during the week. Equally good, although weekdays are far less hectic.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, New York
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A mob scene”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

The Orient is an extremely popular restaurant in a strip mall in Bethpage, NY. They do not take reservations so be prepared to wait and wait and wait. This is apparent testimony to the popularity of the place. Service is good and once seated there is little wait time for your food to arrive. We were a party of six and got there early enough to have under an hour wait. Our friends have eaten here often and described it as having the best Chinese style food on Long Island. We shared several dishes including shrimp, scallops, beef and noodles. Personally I found the food average. But I'm an outlier in my views as evidenced by the mob scene in and outside the restaurant. The Orient is well reviewed by Trip Advisor devotees. For me, not so much. Dinner for two came to under fifty dollars; no alcohol; BYO.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Orient also viewed

New Hyde Park, Long Island
 
Garden City, Long Island
Manhasset, Long Island
 

Been to The Orient? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing