We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At-home feeling!”
Review of Starlite Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Starlite Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Big Indian
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed at the Starlite 3 years ago for Memorial Day weekend (we visit the Catskills every year at that time). This is before the new website and the renovations...and we liked so much we tried to come back the following year. Unfortunately, the entire motel was booked for a wedding party (smart people!!) so we had to stay elsewhere. The "elsewhere" was ok, but we wanted to get back to the Starlite. This year we will have the opportunity, and we can't wait! The ability to book the motel through the website was much appreciated (the previous method of "phone tag" didn't work all that well), and we can't wait to see the "new and improved" Starlite. It was great before (the breakfast basket is a charming and much-appreciated touch we've never experienced anyplace else), but if the photos are ANY indication of the improvements, we'll be back year after year.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NH_Scruffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
modato2, Owner at Starlite Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Eureka! This is what we strive for; to make the Starlite "a home away from home in the Catskills", a place where the whole family wants to return year after year, a tradition that everyone looks foward to.
-Adding some of the hi-tech amenities is something we realized we just had to do, like flat screem TV, DVD players and free WIFI. We are finally pleased that our Wifi signal is strong in all our rooms, even in the backyard.
- Being almost a one-man-show, made it impossible to avoid phone tag in some cases. I have to agree that Online-booking is one of the best things we have ever done for our guests and ourselves. Following up with an email gives guests the opportunity to ask questions about their accomodations and nearby attractions. It has enhanced our communication with guests in a way that is convenient to everyone.
- We have completed renovations in 3 of our 8 rooms. These have been well received. We will continue our renovations in this manner til all our rooms reflect an Updated-Catskill-Charm.
We look foward to your family making a home here at the Starlite Motel.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2012

I stumbled upon the Starlite Motel while traveling through the Catskills and what a pleasant surprise! The room was perfect!...very comfortable Temperpedic pillow top bed, soft sheets, plush, soft towels, flat screen TV. Additionally, the decore was well above average, colorful and sophisticated. I was also surprised to find a wonderful breakfast basket in our room, complete with muffins, rolls, cereal, coffee, tea and granola bars. There was also a back entrance to our room, which lead to a beautiful back yard, complete with bright colored picnic tables, torch lamps and a weber grill (one for each room). The icing on the cake had to be the gorgeous stand alone screen room, perfect for relaxing with friends. This motel was like something out of a storybook, complete with little white bunnies dancing in the lawn day and night. The motel is very close to many attractions. I will definitely be returning again!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
modato2, Owner at Starlite Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

I am so glad that your visit with us was so special. We will endeavour to make this the experience of all our guests. Your review is so encouraging to us. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Let's start with the great service. The proprietor calls you up a few days before arrival to ask what time you plan to arrive, and if you want to get Belleyare tickets. She tells you the room number and you're all set. Just pull up to the room and the key is in the door, the continental breakfast is ready and your tickets are in an envelope. The motel is nicely laid out and very easy to find from the main road - RT 28. A big plus when the weather is bad and you just want to get there. You just pull in the driveway and park the car right in front of your room. The rooms will fit two adults and a child comfortably the kitchen is well sized and the bathroom is warm and stocked with comfortable towels. I can't mention enough how nice it is to have a well heated room and bathroom. It get's cold in the catskills and nothing like a well heated room to take the chill out of the bones after a long day skiing.
We highly recommend this motel. It's just two miles down the road from Belleayre and is our favorite place to stay for a weekend.
A few notes:
Cell phone service is very spotty in the area. If you have gear with Wi-fi bring it
The breakfast is typically a mix of cereal, a couple muffins, nature valley bars, roll or bagel and some butter and jelly.
Whole milk is in the fridge and regular coffee is included. Make sure to ask for decaf if you want it.
There are not a lot of restaurants or stores in the area, if you have special diet needs bring your own food otherwise the hotel stocks some goodies like ramen, etc.
Best restaurant in the area is Peekamoose a mile down the road going east on 28.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
modato2, Owner at Starlite Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2012

Thank you for choosing us. And thank you for this great review. Express Check-in and preparing in advance for late arrivals makes life easier for our guests and us too. Turning the heat up just right, breakfast waiting in your room and anything else like ski tickets, menus, movies, extra towels; is our way of making sure you feel at home. In fact, if you let us know 2 days in advance that you have a preference for skim milk and decaf coffee, that's what you'll find in your room. If during your stay you never have a chance to connect with us, feel free to call or email me with your feedback, good or bad. This is how we continue doing what works and improve on what needs work. Thanks again and see you next ski season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

the rooms were great, clean and warm and welcoming!

Room Tip: no complaints of any room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
modato2, Owner at Starlite Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2012

It's always a pleasure serving you. You've stayed with us so many years that we look foward to your visits every year. Thank you for making us your home away from home in the Catskills.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

my family and i needed a place to stay for skiing on the winter weekends close to belleayre mountain. this motel is absolutely the best option in the area. the owner is sincerely friendly, helpful and kind. the room and the bathroom were very clean and the bathroom was well stocked with good towells, shampoo, etc. the room was nicely decorated and the mattresses were great. we saved money by staying here because we did not have to eat out and we cooked simple meals in the kitchen which was stocked with dishes, flatware, pots and pans. what really amazed my husband and me was that everyday after coming back from skiing, the house keeper had washed our dishes and cleaned up the kitchen!!! in addition, the owner stocks the room everyday with a breakfast basket which includes muffins, butter, single serving cereal, nature valley energy bars and a quart of milk is put in the frig! the price is very reasonable but best of all the palce was quiet at night and we actually got to relax and watch televsion and enjoy our weekends skiing without having to worry about going broke by the time the ski season ended. GREAT PLACE...

Room Tip: room seven is a pet room; we bought our small terrier. room 8 and six are a litte fancier but all t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boomzhighlandfalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
modato2, Owner at Starlite Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2012

Thank you. Thank you. We live for this kind of review. And hope to have many more like this. We are not perfect but strive to do our best to make guests feel at home. And little by little we continue to do upgrades to our rooms in a manner that would encourage guests to lengthen their stay or return as often as they can. Good value, functionality, convenience and the comforts of home is what we strive to provide guests with, as they come to the Catskills to Ski NY. After a long day out in the cold, a warm and comfy place is where you'll want to be. Mornings should be just as easy to get started, hence the continental breakfast basket in your room was born 11 years ago. Its contents seem relevant to most guests' needs. It is sufficient for 2 persons and a good starter kit for a larger family. We do not charge extra for kids, so that is an added value for families. Now that you've found us, we look foward to your staying with us every year at the Starlite Motel. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

I've just left this place about 4 hours ago and i had to come on here and make a review. After traveling for 2 and a half hour to come to this place for a stay, i felt that it was worth the trip in many ways. The room was cozy and comfortable and the bathroom was extremely clean. Although the kitchen was a little behind in technology/time; me being me, I can live with whatever is being provided. For a motel with kitchen, that's a big plus. Anyways, i was making coffee and the coffee pot poped and they were nice enough to replace it without asking anything in return. The TV and the WIFI was as well enjoyable. The lady or owner of the place was EXTREMELY nice. If i ever come back to Belleayre mountain to snowboard, I wouldn't have second thoughts of coming back to this place. Hopefully next time the kitchen will be better :) It's a motel, and it has a kitchen, so what more can i asked for the price they provide? Although the cheaper the better :P
- Too bad AT&T and T-Mobile have no service in this area what so ever.
-Thank you.

Room Tip: Nice and quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chao L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
modato2, Owner at Starlite Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

Thank you for your enthusiasm and kind words of encouragement. We also look foward to your return. I'm glad you mentioned our kitchens. It really is a pleasant surprize to most people who expect the basic motel. We've made sure to include kitchen neccessities such as, fridge, stove microwave, cofeemaker and toaster and all that it takes to prepare and serve a basic meal for 4 persons.
And just as we've upgraded all our bathrooms this past year, the year ahead will see more renovations. We have in fact, just completed our first 2 kitchen upgrades as well. They contain the same basic amenities but with a more modern decor.
Sorry that the cell phone service in the area is out of our control. I've heard it through the grapevine that this will change within the next year. Still, we do have phones in some of our rooms and sell phone-cards. Also most Verizon users and some AT&T users get service in our parking lot. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

My family and I stayed here on our Catskill vacation. It is a small motel with BIG rooms. The rooms are very clean, nice quilts, and we had a small kitchen with microwave and mini fridge. The owner was a very sweet woman and very cheerful. When we went to our room we had a breakfast basket, completely filled with name brand items. It included coffee, cereal bars, mini cereal assortment and wonderful large variety of muffins! what a delight! behind the motel was a large lawn, picnic tables, grills , chairs and 2 nice sized screen houses lit up. also the entire backyard was was surrounded by tall trees and woods. Just gorgeous! I would not have a problem living there year round if that were ever possible : ) the other renters were pleasant and friendly and adored this diamond in the rough as well! also convenient location surrounded by lil old towns!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
modato2, Owner at Starlite Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2011

Thank you. We're looking foward to being "Your Home away from Home in the Catskills".
We continue to think of ways to make our rooms and outdoor space more functional and accomodating. We are now on facebook as well to stay in touch with everyone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Indian
17.2 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
300 reviews
23.3 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
149 reviews
3.4 mi away
Cold Spring Lodge
Cold Spring Lodge
#2 of 2 in Big Indian
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 7 in Windham
512 reviews
18.5 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
1.0 mi away
Pine Hill Arms Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starlite Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starlite Motel

Address: 8722 State Route 28, Big Indian, NY 12410-5133
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Big Indian
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Big Indian
Price Range: £81 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Starlite Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Starlite Motel, your home away from home in the heart of the Catskill Region! The Starlite Motel is located on Route 28 in Big Indian, near famous hiking trails like the Big Indian Slide Mountain Trail and near to many towns and attractions which keeps our small Catskills hotel busy most of the year. Located on 2.5 acres, Starlite Motel is set back from Route 28 and nestled into the postcard setting of Rose Mountain. Our boutique hotel has a mere eight rooms, which shows our commitment to enjoying the Catskills in a relaxed and casual atmosphere while maintaining an outdoor experience. All rooms are newly renovated from a Cabin-like decor to Modern Country decor, which we are calling Premium rooms. All rooms are spacious, comfortable and loaded with amenities such as Kitchens, newly renovated baths, 90+ Cable Channels, Video Streaming and Free Wireless Internet. Visitors open the back door of their kitchen to find a retreat in the backyard; a sprawling wooded area with picnic tables, charcoal grills, a deck to lounge and a screened room for outdoor dining. Staying true to this mission, our hotel continues to be second home to many outdoor enthusiasts, filled with the nostalgia of great family memories built here. From the entire staff here at Starlite Motel, we look forward to having you, your family and friends join us soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Starlite Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starlite Hotel Big Indian
Starlite Motel Big Indian, New York - Catskill Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing