We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Motel Closest to Belleayre”
Review of Starlite Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Starlite Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Big Indian
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Motel Closest to Belleayre”
Reviewed 23 February 2013

I've stayed at the Starlite many times over the last few years; by myself, with friends and with family menmbers. I've also stayed at a number of other motels in the area over the last 40 years when sking at Belleayre and this one is BY FAR the best. A little pricy, but well worth the extra cost. The rooms are clean and and large enough. The kitchenette is nice for snacking, but one could also prepare full meals there (I don't do that). I love the breakfast basket since it has everything I normally eat for breakfast with lots of selections; the coffe maker is super. The beds are comfortable and the TV worksd fine. Free internet is available. The only draback is that cell phone reception is marginal at best; most times I cannot connect (I have Verizon). The motel is only a couple of miles from Belleayre; takes only about 5 minutes to get there.

And last, but certainly not least, Michelle is very friendly and it is a pleasure to stop by the office and talk with her.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ASRA-22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    54
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
74
75
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

We took a few days in the middle of Presidents' week to take the kids skiing at Belleayre. We've previously gone to the Bershires and stayed in depressing little bed and breakfasts where we felt like uninvited guests imposing on the owners' uptight regimen. Mind you, we're not difficult guests--we ski, go have dinner, then head back to our room for a good book and glass of wine. Our kids are quiet and well-behaved; they read, then go to bed--no shouting, jumping or banging.
But the past few B&B's we've stayed in have made us feel like Anne Frank's family tip-toeing around in an attic in Amsterdam.
So we decided to bag the Berkshires and head to Belleayre after reading reviews that described an uncrowded mountain, decent restaurants and the Starlite Motel.
The Starlite is so much more than a drive-up place to sleep for the night. Michelle's love for her business was apparent in our room's cleanliness, cheerful decor, and thoughtful touches. The kids shunned the breakfast foods we'd brought in favor of the breakfast basket waiting in our room (there were two large baskets the next morning, to our daughters' delight).
During our three-day stay, we really felt at home. It was so nice, after a day of skiing, to drive up to to out cheery motel. We'd relax before dinner while the kids played out back and built a snowman. Both our neighbors on either side had kids, but all was quiet and peaceful.
So many hotels are over-rated; much less than they could be. The Starlite is much more--it exceeds the definition of motel.
Michelle recommended Brio's in Phoenicia for dinner and they did not disappoint. Great pizza (sesame seed crust--amazing!). Terrific waitress and a good IPA beer on tap.
The next night we splurged and went to The Peekamoose just down the road from The Starlite. I love finding these dining gems in unexpected places--terrific menu, fabulous food.
Loved Belleayre, perfect for our kids who are still getting their ski legs. No cowboys crashing into you. There are three ski lodges: at the top, middle and bottom of the mountain. If you're an expert skier, there won't be enough black diamonds to keep you happy, but everyone else should find enough variety for a few days.
No nervous B&B owners with neurotic cats for us anymore. Next year we'll come back to Bellayre, The Peekamoose and Michelle's Starlight Motel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JustoutsideNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Michelle, our hostess is a delight which made the whole experience more wonderful. The rooms were warm, cozy, clean and without a hint of odor. Important to me, since I'm very sensitive to cleaning products, mildew, etc. Went up for a week of skiing at Belleayre and it was a really cozy place to come home to after a day of skiing. The bathroom and kitchen were very clean. The bathroom even had its own thermostat. We even got to take our pooch with us which made it even better. The TV is hooked up with Roku which made movie viewing a breeze. Everything we needed to cook with was there. The pots and pans were new including the coffee maker. The frig was big, roomy and the breakfast basket was filled with muffins, cereals, energy bars, coffee/filters and milk in the frig. I have zero complaints about the Starlight and I hope you do, too.

Room Tip: Just speak with Michelle to help you with your needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lillian890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahwah, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 11 February 2013

My 11 yr old son and I stay here when we do overnight ski trips to Belleayre. It's ususlly for a few days during Presidents week but we stayed this past weekend (2/9/1) as well. The owner Michelle remembers us and makes sure we have everything we need. The rooms are very clean and we love the kitchen. A complimentary breakfast basket includes cereal, trail bars, a muffin, coffee & filters and condiments. There was even a fresh container of milk in the fridge. My son loves going here and we have built some great memories staying at the Starlite. If you stay in room #8 take good care of out room! lol. Don't get me wrong so your expectations are met. This isn't a 4 star Hotel you would find in a major city. It 's a Motel and it's run really well!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scarr25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sellersville, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 February 2013

If you want to ski Belleayre Mt. this is the best value going. It's 2.5 miles from Belleayre entrance, is VERY clean, and odor-free. Plenty of food provided, has kitchen, stove, oven, microwave,toaster, coffee machine etc.. Three individual thermostats, very cozy and warm ! ! In my 30 years of skiing I have never seen a Mt. as well groomed as Belleayre. Plus it is less than 195 miles from Sellersville PA (Southeast PA). I would highly recomend this motel !!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manasquan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

This motel is a diamond in the rough; looking at it from the road, looks like a typical roadside motel. But the rooms are good size, clean, nice kitchens. Guests are well taken care-of. We have stayed twice so far & were very happy both times. Nice little touches throughout. Only negative was the shower water temperature was hard to control.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bicyclops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Our room was spacious, clean, and charmingly decorated. The breakfast basket was generous and had everything we needed. The owners went out of their way to make us feel welcome. I would be happy to stay at the Starlite again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Indian
3.5 mi away
Cold Spring Lodge
Cold Spring Lodge
#2 of 2 in Big Indian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
18.5 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
17.2 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Hanah Mountain Resort and Country Club
1.2 mi away
Belleayre Lodge
Belleayre Lodge
#2 of 2 in Pine Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
4.4 mi away
River Run Bed & Breakfast
River Run Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 3 in Fleischmanns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starlite Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starlite Motel

Property: Starlite Motel
Address: 8722 State Route 28, Big Indian, NY 12410-5133
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Big Indian
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Big Indian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Starlite Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Starlite Motel, your home away from home in the heart of the Catskill Region! The Starlite Motel is located on Route 28 in Big Indian, near famous hiking trails like the Big Indian Slide Mountain Trail and near to many towns and attractions which keeps our small Catskills hotel busy most of the year. Located on 2.5 acres, Starlite Motel is set back from Route 28 and nestled into the postcard setting of Rose Mountain. Our boutique hotel has a mere eight rooms, which shows our commitment to enjoying the Catskills in a relaxed and casual atmosphere while maintaining an outdoor experience. All rooms are newly renovated from a Cabin-like decor to Modern Country decor, which we are calling Premium rooms. All rooms are spacious, comfortable and loaded with amenities such as Kitchens, newly renovated baths, 90+ Cable Channels, Video Streaming and Free Wireless Internet. Visitors open the back door of their kitchen to find a retreat in the backyard; a sprawling wooded area with picnic tables, charcoal grills, a deck to lounge and a screened room for outdoor dining. Staying true to this mission, our hotel continues to be second home to many outdoor enthusiasts, filled with the nostalgia of great family memories built here. From the entire staff here at Starlite Motel, we look forward to having you, your family and friends join us soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Starlite Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starlite Hotel Big Indian
Starlite Motel Big Indian, New York - Catskill Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing