We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place was great... and they have Roku too!”
Review of Starlite Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Starlite Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Big Indian
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Me and my Girlfriend really loved this place. We went with 2 more couples. The owner Michelle and staff were very friendly. Each room get fresh milk and a breakfast basket. it is only 10 mins away from a Freshtown market where you can get some fresh produce or some meet to cook with the grill in the backyard. I know that on this types of vacation you are supposed to be disconnected from the world and connected with nature but I was very excited when I saw they have a Roku in the room. For those of you who dont know what the Roku is, it is a Streaming media player just like Apple TV or WDTV. You can use your Pandora, Netflix or Amazon Prime account with it. If you have ever been to a trip in the mountains you'd know that there's hardly any to NO phone signal. But dont worry.. this place also has a Cell phone signal buster for Verizon and ATT.

We will be coming back :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jdlsf00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
modato2, Owner at Starlite Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Thank you so much. It's nice to know that these little things are appreciated. I often think "what do I like when I travel?". So I have to admit that being a techno-junkie myself, I understand the need to stay connected. Still, we're always open to suggestions on making your experience more complete..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2013

Very clean, cozy and very well kept up!. The best place I have stayed in a very long time :). Would stay here again. Please chose this place for your adventures in the Catskills. I loved the breakfast basket, and soft cozy memory foam beds

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corrine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

10 of us stopped at Starlite for 1 night of a motorcycle trip. The owner Michelle was really nice and friendly. The place was full of amenities. Each room got a breakfast basket. There is even fresh milk in the frig. The rooms were very clean with extra towels. There were BBQ at the back with candles, lights, bug repellents, screened patio with comfortable chair. A++++

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpikingJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
modato2, Owner at Starlite Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Pleasing a large group of well travelled folks, is sometimes challenging. But you guys are super easy. Please come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

I went with three friends to see Manhattan Transfer at Belleayre Mountain. I wasn't sure what this place would be like, but it was very close to the mountain and easy to get to. When we arrived we were all pleasantly surprised. While not "fancy", it was clean and comfortable and the staff had gone out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed, including a large variety of breakfast foods and real milk in the fridge for our coffee and cereal. An added feature was a very nice "back yard" where we met some fellow travelers who were sitting around the open-air fireplace. Each unit had its own picnic table and barbeque grill and there were two nicely furnished outdoor structures for those who wished to be outside but in a covered, screened-in area. Next time we go to an event at the Belleayre Music Festival, we will definitely stay at the Starlite. It would also be a great place for people who go to Belleayre to ski in the winter.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
modato2, Owner at Starlite Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Thank you ladies. We look forward to your return. Belleayre always has a lot of fascinating concerts lined up for the Summer. We're very lucky to be located within 3 miles. So I'm sure we'll see you lovely ladies again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

The Starlite has got to be the best motel in the Catskills.Michelle and her staff couldn't be nicer,and her recommended restaurants-the Peekamoose,for example,rivals anything in the city-are perfect.
And,for me,the motel's location is ideal;interesting small towns to explore and nearby trails to hike.
I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robertms_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
modato2, Owner at Starlite Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Yay!! Thank you for making us your home away from home in the Catskills. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

my husband and son attened a concert on saturday. They enjoyed the wonderfur room atStarlite motel.tjhe vroom was very clean with nice towels. They enjoyed the country breakfast in their room. The owner was very nice ans suggested Peekamoose reataurant which provided an excellent meal. My husband plans to take me to the motel soon.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryfemia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

The Starlite Motel has everything you need for a great trip. It has a full kitchen with everything: a stove, microwave, refrigerator, sink, coffee pot, and more. There are plenty of BBQ grills in the rear of the motel if you want to have a cookout. The rooms are clean and comfortable. This is a nice place to stay in the Catskills for couples and families.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jfemia2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Indian
17.2 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
303 reviews
23.3 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
150 reviews
17.4 mi away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 7 in Windham
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Cold Spring Lodge
Cold Spring Lodge
#2 of 2 in Big Indian
93 reviews
1 mi away
Pine Hill Arms Hotel & Restaurant
19 mi away
Hotel Dylan
Hotel Dylan
#3 of 3 in Woodstock
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starlite Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starlite Motel

Address: 8722 State Route 28, Big Indian, NY 12410-5133
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Big Indian
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Big Indian
Price Range: £77 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Starlite Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Starlite Motel, your home away from home in the heart of the Catskill Region! The Starlite Motel is located on Route 28 in Big Indian, near famous hiking trails like the Big Indian Slide Mountain Trail and near to many towns and attractions which keeps our small Catskills hotel busy most of the year. Located on 2.5 acres, Starlite Motel is set back from Route 28 and nestled into the postcard setting of Rose Mountain. Our boutique hotel has a mere eight rooms, which shows our commitment to enjoying the Catskills in a relaxed and casual atmosphere while maintaining an outdoor experience. All rooms are newly renovated from a Cabin-like decor to Modern Country decor, which we are calling Premium rooms. All rooms are spacious, comfortable and loaded with amenities such as Kitchens, newly renovated baths, 90+ Cable Channels, Video Streaming and Free Wireless Internet. Visitors open the back door of their kitchen to find a retreat in the backyard; a sprawling wooded area with picnic tables, charcoal grills, a deck to lounge and a screened room for outdoor dining. Staying true to this mission, our hotel continues to be second home to many outdoor enthusiasts, filled with the nostalgia of great family memories built here. From the entire staff here at Starlite Motel, we look forward to having you, your family and friends join us soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Starlite Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starlite Hotel Big Indian
Starlite Motel Big Indian, New York - Catskill Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing