We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly Surprised” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Starlite Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Starlite Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Big Indian
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Pleasantly Surprised”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

The room was very clean, you can tell as soon as you walk in. The king size bed was very comfortable, it had a memory foam topper, slept great! The owner was very nice and friendly, and very helpful getting us familiar with the area. They leave out a basket of breakfast goodies, complete with milk in the fridge. It's a great location to explore the area from, great restaurant right down the street.
I'd reccomend this motel to anyone looking for a pleasant stay in the Catskills.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maineexplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    51
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
73
72
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
long island, ny
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Had a wedding to go to in town and found this little motel which was perfect. Small and personal. The room was more than adequate and clean. Little kitchen so you could cook or store food which we did from a general store down the road. Beds were comfortable as well as the pillows and the towels were nice and fluffy. Breakfast basket in room was perfect. Filled with tea, coffee, hot chocolate as well as cereals, granola bars, bagels and muffins. Would tell anyone needing a good place to stay to pick the Starlite.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank wavalaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

I had a wedding to photograph in Big Indian and had some trouble finding lodging at first. Booked a chain hotel in Kingston, 30 minutes away. A few days before leaving checked again, Starlite had one room. Booked it and was very happy. Rooms seemed to have been recently remodeled. Lovely colors, super comfy beds. The even left a basket with snack bars and some cereals and fresh milk in the fridge for breakfast. Overall a great stay at a great price. Very good value in my opinion. The had lots of picnic tables and grills in the back but I had little chance to enjoy the area due to work. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason12885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Vermont, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

A group of us meet for an annual hike up the Slide Mountain (the youngest is nearing 60; hence the stay at a motel rather than the Woodland Valley camp ground). We stay at the Starlite each year. Nice rooms, comfortable beds, and a full kitchen, allowing for drinking a leisurely cup of freshly brewed coffee (provided by the motel) with some muffins or snacks (also provided) or stuff from the fridge, brought from home by the ones on a restricted diet. The owner, Michelle, is very nice and friendly. Great place to stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are pretty much the same. Quiet, and facing in the same direction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aleks72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liberty, Missouri, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

I knew when I saw the pictures online of how each room was painted and decorated in such a beautiful decor that this is the place we were to stay. When we arrived, the room felt so welcoming, not anything like a room at the Holiday Inn. The room was very clean. We loved the food basket with such a great variety of choices. It was great to have a backyard, as well. We had our own picnic table and grill. The outdoor rooms to sit in and relax outside were great and very comfortable.The wifi worked great with no problems. The kitchen was very well stocked. Michelle was very friendly and welcoming. I would definitely stay there again and would recommend others to do so as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

Very clean room-quiet and scenic location.Almost like a slight step back in time (in the best possible way).Good beds,well equipped kitchen INCLUDING kettle if you look.Breakfast as much as I needed.Michelle very friendly and helpful .Excellent value and less than two and a half hours from NY City(and a world away)

Room Tip: They are all about the same,equally good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyster Bay, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Arrived on a Saturday afternoon in anticipation of our Sunday bicycle trip. We were welcomed with a wonderfully clean room with a breakfast basket and coffee ready to be brewed in the morning (and milk was also provided). TV and WI-Fi provided, nice little kitchen with frig all utensils and kitchen wares provided for those who would like to cook in, bathroom was small but very clean. Back yard was wonderful... picnic tables, B-B-Qs, screen rooms, fire pit, candles, etc. Michelle was very pleasant and helpful (came out back and hooked up my iPhone to a powered speaker for us). Ahhh...fire, music, drinks! Nice! We'll be back.

Also, Peekamoose down the road for some great dinner and drinks.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoingPlaces41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Indian
3.4 mi away
Cold Spring Lodge
Cold Spring Lodge
#2 of 2 in Big Indian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pine Hill Arms Hotel & Restaurant
17.2 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#1 of 6 in Windham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Hanah Mountain Resort and Country Club
1.2 mi away
Belleayre Lodge
Belleayre Lodge
#1 of 2 in Pine Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
2.2 mi away
Gateway Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starlite Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starlite Motel

Property: Starlite Motel
Address: 8722 State Route 28, Big Indian, NY 12410-5133
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Big Indian
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Big Indian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Starlite Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Starlite Motel, your home away from home in the heart of the Catskill Region! The Starlite Motel is located on Route 28 in Big Indian, near famous hiking trails like the Big Indian Slide Mountain Trail and near to many towns and attractions which keeps our small Catskills hotel busy most of the year. Located on 2.5 acres, Starlite Motel is set back from Route 28 and nestled into the postcard setting of Rose Mountain. Our boutique hotel has a mere eight rooms, which shows our commitment to enjoying the Catskills in a relaxed and casual atmosphere while maintaining an outdoor experience. All rooms are newly renovated from a Cabin-like decor to Modern Country decor, which we are calling Premium rooms. All rooms are spacious, comfortable and loaded with amenities such as Kitchens, newly renovated baths, 90+ Cable Channels, Video Streaming and Free Wireless Internet. Visitors open the back door of their kitchen to find a retreat in the backyard; a sprawling wooded area with picnic tables, charcoal grills, a deck to lounge and a screened room for outdoor dining. Staying true to this mission, our hotel continues to be second home to many outdoor enthusiasts, filled with the nostalgia of great family memories built here. From the entire staff here at Starlite Motel, we look forward to having you, your family and friends join us soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Starlite Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starlite Hotel Big Indian
Starlite Motel Big Indian, New York - Catskill Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing