We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“High end dining in the Catskills”

Peekamoose Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Big Indian
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Romantic, Kids, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“High end dining in the Catskills”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is probably the most high-end restaurant in the Catskills, which is reflected in their prices, service and atmosphere. This may also be one of the only restaurants I've been to in the area that really does require reservations to avoid a lengthy wait for a table. There is a formal dining room and a bar area where they serve the same menu. The bar was hectic and the service slow on a recent busy night. I would recommend the main dining room if you want a calmer dining experience. The staff was professional, but didn't seem to have their sea legs yet for the busy season.

The food was mixed. Some dishes (chopped salad) were great, while the steak was obviously under a heating lamp a little too long. The beer list was solid and the cocktail menu was Brooklyn hipster.

They were quite thoughtful in how they created the atmosphere. We were encouraged to visit the fire pit outside the restaurant to roast a marshmallow on our way out. There was a little play room for kids built around a fairy-tale like tree which was completely charming. The staff were well versed on the food and drinks and happy to tell you more about them.

This is a great break from the usual Catskills dining experience. I'm sure a couple more weeks of high season traffic and they'll work out the kinks.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrklynTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    89
    32
    19
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
172 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Quite an indulgence - fresh produces and a great place for everyone”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stopped by a local cafe/ furniture store in Catskills and out of the blue just ask for a restaurant recommendation. The cafe staff recommended this place and we tried to make a reservation for dinner but nothing was available.

We asked the hotel and they said the outdoor seating is walk-in so we gave it a try. Love this place already from the look of it, it is very relaxing and just to look at all the trees surrounding it, it was a treat already.

We ordered asparagus, chicken and steak and they were all very tasty. I love the asparagus a lot, the seasoning pair with the asparagus very well. The asparagus tasted very fresh.

The chicken is organic and I saw some chickens roaming around in the restaurants too. Chicken tasted like they are farm chicken and has strong chicken flavor.

The steak was very tender and juicy.

Love this dinning experience!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luxship
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockport, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A treat in Catskills”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Our first trip to the Catskills and we did not time our trip very well. It was dark and we were lost and then an oasis is the cold night. Peekamoose was a gift to our journey. The atmosphere,the cocktails,the service the food was more then I could have ever expected in this little town of Big Indian. If you are in the area please take the time to find this lovely little hideaway.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GinaMDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Lovely atmosphere"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Very beautiful restaurant. Atmosphere was very nice. Food was delicious however wait time was long. Perfect for me though. It gave me time to digest my meal. Dessert was spectacular. Owner was extremely attentive and kind. French server was quite rude. Overall food worth the wait. The decor made it a very nice experience. I will definitely return.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ilovepurpletulips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madzilla23, Owner at Peekamoose Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thank you for your kind words and taking the time to share your experience. As we continually are trying to improve ourselves, would you mind contacting me directly to discuss your server? She has been with us since we opened - more than 10 years ago- and is our most requested server. I would welcome any insight or feedback so that I may know more specific details about your dinner.

Again, thank you for your glowing words of praise - We hope to have you back around our table again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
141 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Big City Taste in the Catskills”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Always a fantastic meal! The chicken dish is the best I have ever had, but order right away because it takes over 25 minutes to prepare. We always eat in the bar because it is cozy and the service is great. Dee, the bartender makes an amazing Cosmo!
Burger is fantastic and menu changes with the season.
They recently added a craft beer tap with local interesting beer.
And, always have a fire going outside in the firepit.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Peekamoose Restaurant also viewed

Phoenicia, Catskill Region
Pine Hill, Catskill Region
 
Phoenicia, Catskill Region
 

Been to Peekamoose Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing