We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enough of an Epic Fail for This Family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Binghamton
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Binghamton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Caveat emptor.

Unhappy, miserable Saturday evening for $132 (excluding $17 tax). Room next to a wedding party. High-pitched whine from refrigerator's compressor. Notified front desk, which sent a repairman while we were away at a sporting event, and assured us upon our return it had been repaired. It wasn't, and continued to emit a screeching pitch through the night. I resorted to earplugs.

Worse still, we also found the room had no air conditioning when we returned at 10:30 p.m. It was 74 degrees then, and the compressor was clearly not cycling. Phoned the front desk which offered to send a repairman again to the room, but as we had our 3- and 8-year-olds with us, we declined facing maintenance at what was by now almost 11 p.m.

It was 78 degrees the next morning and rose as high as 80 by 10a.m. By 10:15am, we had to open the room door to the hallway to let in cooler air from the corridor.

Unacceptable, failed to meet Hilton's own standards. Offered a free breakfast we didn't want, or 5,000 additional HHonors points, which a front desk clerk claimed was adequate for one night's stay at another time. Doubletree Binghamton's own reward level is 30,000 points.

Complained in a written letter a few days later to the hotel manager and received back an undated letter on blank white paper (no letterhead, no stationery) from the front office manager who apologized, adding "the new points scale has changed and 5,000 points is indeed enough to stay at Hilton properties..As the Front Office Manager I provide the best alternatives when resolving guest issues, and believe our alternatives would have been sufficient in suiting [sic] you and your family's needs. Although the compensation may have been inadequate compared to your past experiences with Hilton hotels, my experiences as Front Office Manager with Hilton properties have proven that the compensation was justified. We also offered to move you to a room with amenities working properly, which you declined as to not disturb your children."

We checked: there are exactly 33 hotels on a Hilton list of some 2,200 properties where you can find a room for 5,000 points. Complained to customer service via Facebook and received an added 10,000 points. Big deal. Now we'd gotten 15,000 points -- or half the level of one night's redemption at the same property.

Epic fail. Next time we're in Binghamton, perhaps we'll try the Holiday Inn down the street.

Room Tip: Check for noise; check for functioning AC
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deantown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,143 - 1,149 of 1,310 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2013

Priceline find for an overnight in Binghampton. Amazing value. Modern, clean, newly renovated. Complimentary wifi. Attached to a health club with pool. On the waterfront promenade, which has an interesting collection of civil rights plaques. Yes, the cookies were warm. Found way to temporary bar/lounge in basement, amongst the meeting rooms. It had a huge rec room feeling, and while not the greatest atmosphere, it was way more memorable than your standard hotel bar. Couches, gaming, air hockey and a pop a shot game. Staff were friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bailey_Von_Schnauzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

We were on a road trip and spent one night. The young man (Scott?) at the desk was very helpful and gave us ideas of where to go for dinner. Everything about the place was clean, relaxing and we got seconds on the cookies when we came back from dinner.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessicat57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Looks like DoubleTree is restoring the hotel. Still some signs of old stuff but all in all not a bad value. Had to stay with team and often we get taken to the cleaners. Not the case with this hotel. Breakfast was a bit on the expensive side but didn't try it so can't speak to quality.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank JolyMon-Maje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We stopped at this hotel on the way to Cooperstown and loved it! The room was huge and modern, free guest laundry and free game room games for kids to play while we had a drink at the bar. Fitness center and pool across walkway was open for use to hotel guests

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank DozerB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

From the moment you check in until the day you leave, you're treated as royalty. The management will bend over backwards to satisfy the residents. The rooms are spacious with views of the river. There is even a riverwalk. The fitness center and indoor pool is first class.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank john1938i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
3
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Great place to stay while visiting our son attending Binghamton Univeristy. Our room felt brand new and very clean. We had a king size room that was VERY spacious. The hotel staff was very accomodating and friendly upon our arrival. No fee for parking is a nice feature. Additionally, there is a health club with pool that was adjacent to the hotel that guests could use. Of course, the warm chocolate chip cookies are always a plus!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Binghamton
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Binghamton - Hawley St/Downtown
2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Binghamton
2 mi away
Fairfield Inn Binghamton
Fairfield Inn Binghamton
#4 of 13 in Binghamton
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Binghamton/Vestal
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Binghamton / Vestal
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 13 in Binghamton
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Binghamton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Binghamton

Address: 225 Water St, Binghamton, NY 13901-2704 (Formerly Binghamton Riverwalk Hotel and Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Binghamton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Binghamton
Price Range: £78 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Binghamton 3*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated DoubleTree by Hilton Binghamton, where the little things mean everything! We offer the finest accommodations in the Binghamton area. Guests enjoy free use of the Riverwalk Athletic Club located onsite and fine dining at our restaurant, the River Bistro. We also have exceptional facilities for gala occasions and corporate meetings. We can host events from 2 to 1,000 people and have a variety of meeting spaces to fit the needs of any event! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Binghamton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Binghamton Riverwalk Hotel Binghamton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing