We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“consistently good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn Binghamton
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Binghamton
Certificate of Excellence
Lenox, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“consistently good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

This is our preferred place to stay when visiting family in the area several times a year. Easy access, clean, well maintained, indoor pool and treadmills. Breakfast included that includes eggs, sandwiches and waffles as well as the usual pastries and cereal. Good staff. Have put in a request for extra pillows when making a reservation for that night and they are there when we check in.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sirius7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    78
    36
    5
    7
See reviews for
81
59
6
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, NY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

We stayed here twice around the Thanksgiving holiday. Even though the hotel is located right off of I-81 and a major local street, very little traffice noise could be heard in the room. One of the best nights of sleep I've had in a hotel ever - very comfortable bed in a very clean room.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyFurTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Center Valley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
68 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

I stay here often and haven't been disappointed yet. It's an older fairfield Inn but it is well maintained. You won't go wrong here. The location right off Interstate 81 is great!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RCRDSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

We arrived at dinner on a Saturday night. The front desk staff was professional and friendly. The hotel is extremely clean. The bed is the most comfortable bed ever! The room isn't huge, but adequate. The bathroom is small with not much counter space. We stayed on the first floor in a room with a king size bed. Front desk called in the evening to make sure we were happy with our accomodations and to see if we needed anything. Nice touch. Our night was quiet and relaxing.
The breakfast was fine. Nothing to rave over, but nice none the less. Packaged cereals and oatmeal, apples and bannanas, yogurt, waffles. We were happy with that. Loved our room, loved the customer service. Expensive, yes. Great stay, yes.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cutiegirlWhitby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

If you are in Binghamton, DO NOT stay at the Fairfield Inn. First, they are priced higher (by $10 to $15/night) on all rates (rack rate, AAA, & AARP rates) than the other 2 Marriott properties in the Binghamton area.

I have stayed at this hotel 3 times in the past 3 months for a total of 10 nights stayed. I am a business traveler, on the road between 30 and 40 weeks a year, 5 days a week. I'm also a Marriott Elite member. As you may know, all Marriott hotels are 100% smoke free worldwide....except for this property.

Every night around 7pm someone would come in and start smoking in their room. Each night I notified the front desk, who gave me attitude about reporting the smoke. One night they sent up a bellhop with deodorizing spray to mask the odor...it lasted until the smoker had their next cigarette.

I was told by a very rude black woman at the front desk that the general manager, housekeeping manager, as well as herself had been in all rooms on my floor and no one could smell smoke. Now, if you are a non-smoker you know this isn't possible. All of these people are either smokers, have sinus cancer, or are lying. I asked for someone to call suspected rooms, put a letter out to all guests about the policy and the penalty (A $250 room reclaim charge) or check keycard logs around the time the smell started....they refused to do anything other than walk around the floor, walk around the building looking for open windows, or mask the odor.

I contacted the general manager, who offered nothing more than an apology. His apology wasn't sincere.

Additionally, as mentioned in other reviews, the hotel is right on I-81, you will hear trucks if you are on the east side, facing the interstate.

This hotel is concerned with keeping occupancy high, rates inflated, and smokers (including the management staff, who MUST be smokers) happy.

They consistently violate Marriott Corporate policy, and are by far the worst Marriott property I have ever stayed at.

Room Tip: Head for the Courtyard Binghamton on Vestal Parkway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brafly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

We stayed for a night on a trip from Ottawa to Newark DE. It's right off I-81, and located within walking distance of two restaurants (Applebee's and a Cracker Barrel).

The check-in was smooth, the staff were friendly and our room was clean and comfortable (the bed was excellent). Our room faced the highway side of the building but the noise wasn't a factor. The free continental breakfast was above average with a waffle maker and microwave for breakfast sandwiches.

Would I stay there as a destination hotel? Probably not. But as a stop-over on a trip, we'll definitely use it again. One tip is to shop around on their website for discounts (AAA, gov't or AARP). Their regular posted rate ($170) was stiff and overpriced for that property but we paid $95, which was reasonable.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mubwubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

I am Marriott Platinum Member and travel every week. This has to the worst Fairfield Inn; I have stayed in. Outdated rooms and old. The hotel needs to spend money and updated.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NEOBED75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Binghamton
2.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Binghamton
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Binghamton - Hawley St/Downtown
2.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Binghamton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 13 in Binghamton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Binghamton / Vestal
2.2 mi away
Grand Royale Hotel
Grand Royale Hotel
#10 of 13 in Binghamton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn Binghamton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Binghamton

Property: Fairfield Inn Binghamton
Address: 864 Upper Front St, Binghamton, NY 13905-1542
Region: United States > New York > Binghamton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Binghamton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Binghamton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn Binghamton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Binghamton Hotel Binghamton
Fairfield Binghamton
Binghamton Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing