We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A travelers oasis!”
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Binghamton
Riverview, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A travelers oasis!”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We had been traveling from New Hampshire and needed a place to stay. All hotels along I-88 were sold out! We were tired and frustrated, and we could had hugged Ryan at the front desk when he said there was a room available for us! The lobby is clean and spacious. Games, magazines and books are available to guests. The room was clean and the decor was modern with white duvets with lovely coverlets. The carpet was clean. The shower was a bit old, but adequate and the sink was outside the shower/toilet area which made our morning preparations easy. The room has plenty of outlets to recharge all electronics. Free WiFi is included. Free breakfast is included: good coffee/juice, bagels/toast/muffins, scrambled eggs and waffles, fresh fruit. All served by a friendly staff. Our check-in clerk, Ryan suggested a restaurant down the road for dinner, The Spot, which served fantastic greek food (along with Italian and American favorites). All in all, our stay at the Comfort Inn was good.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sheryl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    57
    35
    10
    10
See reviews for
57
45
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stayed one night on our way back home from New Jersey and was very clean as soon as we walked in the lobby. They gave the AAA (CAA in our case) discount but with the hidden, outrageous New York State taxes, a $109 room even with the CAA discount came to $127. Not the hotel's fault but something to be aware of.

The breakfast area is large and even has an overflow area, which is nice as it was pretty full when we came down at 8 am. There's a good variety of eggs, sausage, bacon, hot waffles, bread, buns and cereal. Rooms were clean, spacious and the internet was fast.

Our room faced the same was as the lobby and the only minor gripe is that with the window open (up to about 11 pm anyway), the smokers congregate outside and you can't have the window open as the stale smoke smell drifts in. Gaaak. After midnight, we opened the window and it was fine - not too noisy and we got our needed fresh air.

The staff were friendly and made note of the free newspapers when we arrived.

All in all, we were happy with our stay, even though we didn't take advantage of the outdoor pool, which looked pretty nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boone8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed in Binghamton a couple weeks ago on a road trip South and chose the Comfort Inn on Upper Front Street in Binghamton as a stop over.

We arrived around 10pm and the front desk was friendly and responsive, and it was one of the cleanest rooms I have seen. I am the type of guest who will look around for things that might be wrong, and I could not find anything even slightly dirty here. Without question, the housekeeping staff of this hotel gets 5 stars out of 5, as does the front desk. The rate was more then fair, and quite frankly lower then I was expecting.

So why 4 stars and not 5? Breakfast. Traveling with someone who was autistic, I thought the breakfast lady was too pushy on him (when it came to making him a waffle), with a bit of an eyeroll when he did not immediately respond if he wanted syrup. (It was just as breakfast was beginning, and there was only two other guests in the breakfast area at the time so it was not busy yet) This was after I briefly mentioned to her that he was disabled. It wasn't anything big, but it was noticeable enough and discouraging. Perhaps the hotel should just let people make their own waffles if they can't understand that some people will require a little more patience, especially after I told her that he was disabled. It's a minor deal, but perhaps something a manager can remind their breakfast staff about: just because someone is young (in his 20's), doesn't mean they may not require the same kind of patience as someone who is older and obviously shows that they do.

That won't discourage me from returning to this hotel. It is a great place, and is why I still give it 4 of 5.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The Comfort in Binghamton is close to major highways, which is both a blessing and a curse. Our room was in the back of the hotel facing an elevated highway with lots of truck noise at all hours. And if you exit the back door of the hotel for the rear parking lot, beware of an unexpected drop-off. I'll bet there's more than one guest with a twisted ankle. The desk clerk was all business -- not rude but not overly welcoming either. The hotel is an older property, but the room was adequate ...comfortable enough but basic. The sink was located across from the bathroom -- I don't recall running into that kind of room design elsewhere. And the coffee machine, etc., took up most of the space for toiletries. Overall, the Comfort in Binghamton is an o.k. place. Nothing spectacular, but nothing awful either.

Room Tip: Probably a lot more highway noise in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 48NYSV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houlton, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The Comfort Inn in Binghamton, NY was a comfortable place to rest from our long road trip. We called ahead just a couple of hours before we arrived and the front desk was warm and the customer service was great. The hotel is pet friendly and we only had to pay $5 more for the new puppy that we were bringing home with us (purpose of the trip). Rooms were clean - I never worried about my kids being on the floor. Beds were comfortable and if I hadn't been up and down all night with a new puppy I would have gotten a good night's sleep like everyone else.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank romantravelingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The Comfort Inn Binghamton is the stereotype average Comfort Inn. The hotel is fairly clean and the personnel was very useful. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable and the room was well appointed. Nothing to rave about, but nothing to complain about. quite average. However, the cost of a room there is slightly more than the average Comfort Inn in that area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaynaldLortie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

This was our first stop at a Comfort Inn in a number of years. We were quite pleased with the accomodation for the price. The room was clean, the heating system worked as expected, there rwas a 35 inch flat screen TV and free internet. Large beds, clean linens, 4 pillows per bed, coffee maker in the room, wakeup service, and a clock.
We were travelling with two small dogs. They accommodated our request for a rooom on the ground floor, which makes it weasier to get the dogs in and out for their various functions.
The breakfast, included in the cost of the room, starts service at 6AM. An attendant was on hand to provide your choice of plain or cinnamon hot waffles and there were good sausages, hot coffee, 4 kinds of cold cereal and scrambled eggs as well as various muffins and other breakfast rolls.
Good stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The-Sandman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Binghamton
2.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Binghamton
2.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Binghamton
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Binghamton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Binghamton - Hawley St/Downtown
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn Binghamton
Fairfield Inn Binghamton
#4 of 13 in Binghamton
200 reviews
4.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites at Binghamton University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 1000 Upper Front St, Binghamton, NY 13905-1298 (Formerly Days Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Binghamton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Binghamton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Binghamton
Comfort Inn Binghamton
Binghamton Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing