We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 Night Stop-over”
Review of The Dominion House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Dominion House
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“1 Night Stop-over”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My fiancee and I recently stayed for 1 night at the guest house enroute from Niagara Falls to JFK airport. The property is an amazing, colonial building with plenty of history and many more stories hidden within the walls. Joe and Kathy are very welcoming hosts and provide a very relaxed, homely atmosphere. We experienced an extremely pleasant albeit, brief stay and would highly recommend the Dominion House.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Airliebird9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    6
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
38
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Our family took over The Dominion House for 5 days while attending my son's graduation from West Point. It was a crazy week with many 0:Dark:30 wake-ups around which Kathy and Joe graciously scheduled breakfast. We had hoped to take in the lovely backyard swimming pool, but the weather did not cooperate although we were able to enjoy several tasty breakfasts on the sunny deck overlooking the pool, The young adults in our party made use of the room with a pool table, staying up late each night to play a few games while the rest of us either watched (and laughted) from the dining room or retired to the parlor to chat and eat cookies. The older folks in our group made full use of the beautiful wrap around front porch for early morning coffee and the few afternoons when they did not have graduation events to attend. We called them Porch Perchers, and they strived to live up to the title! The charming 1880s house, complete with original furnishings, is really something to see. Thanks to recent upgrades, all rooms now have bathrooms. We put the young adults in the seperate cottage giving them a retreat after the rest of us went to bed. The grand stairway in the main hall is a little challenging for older folks, but my 78 year old father managed even though he recently suffered a broken hip. The library and hot tub are two other features that our guests utilized, truly there was something for everyone! The food was first rate, if you're a pastry lover you'll be in heaven. Having stayed in several B&Bs over the years, I have to say the Spears are the easiest going host and hostess I've met, we just made ourselves at home.

Room Tip: If stairs are a challenge, the separate cottage might be the better choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2014_WP_Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed at The Dominion House while visiting the area to attend a wedding. This beautiful B&B has history and charm, but also many amenities, including a pool, billiards, hot tub, TV in the room, horseshoes, Wifi, and wild life watching. Kathy's breakfasts were scrumptious, and there were always beverages and baked goods available. Joe insisted that we make ourselves at home, and we really felt like we could. There were so many touches in the home and our room that made us feel pampered. We will now compare future B&B visits to The Dominion House, and they have set the bar high.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlton, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

My wife took me hang gliding near Middletown NY for my birthday and we stayed at the Dominion House for the weekend. Katie was a fabulous hostess and when you go you must ensure her Peach French Toast is on the menu - this was the best breakfast I've ever had at a B&B! And her scones were more delicious then those of my Irish Grandmother!

The house is large and many of the rooms are filled with interesting historical items. The property is sprawling and lovely. On Friday afternoon after cooling off in the pool, we sipped cocktails (our own) and watched a variety of beautiful birds - humming birds, golden finches - quite relaxing.

On Friday night we took a blanket into the back yard - which is really a very large field - and watched the stars. On Saturday night after the hot tub, we again enjoyed a romantic evening of stargazing.

We enjoy B&B's often and Dominion House is in our top three! Great breakfasts, wonderful hospitality, romantic, and if you're adventurous, try hang gliding at Hangar3 which is just a few miles away in Middletown.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We stayed here for several days August 2012 when we were attending the Bull Family Picnic nearby. Had the cottage to ourselves and a room inside for younger family members. It is one of the only properties in the area with a real pool, essential in summer. We had a grand time cooling off in it. The Spears were relaxed, welcoming hosts, and the breakfast served on the back deck next to the pool was very tasty. We came and went easily for 3 days. The Italian restaurant down the hill was good.

Room Tip: We liked having the privacy of the cottage, if you can get it. Has a full kitchen. The upstairs ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCtravelin'girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vanduynhoven, Innkeeper at The Dominion House, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
We had a good time with this family when they visited. We just wanted to let everyone know we are now all private bathes. We did some renovations over the winter months.
Thanks for all our reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2013

While our son was at West Point, we stayed in a number of local hotels and B&Bs. We discovered the Dominion House at the beginning of his senior year, and we certainly regretted not finding it earlier. The Dominion House is well taken care of, the accommodations are nice and priced appropriately. Joe and Kathy are gracious hosts. Breakfast was wonderful every morning. The best days we spent at the Dominion House were during our son's graduation week. We rented the entire B&B, and had friends and family members spread all over the house and cottage. One evening we decided to save a few bucks when we went out and purchased food for a feast. Joe and Kathy welcomed us into their kitchen, and even started a fire for us in their den when the weather outside was unseasonably cold. I highly recommend the Dominion House.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We stayed for a week at The Dominion House in mid-December when my father died and felt rested and comforted. Kathy and Joe gave us a lovely balance of warm attention and privacy. Every morning we had a different delicious breakfast and every night we had good night's sleep on a comfortable bed. The house was lovingly decorated in holiday style with old fashioned train set and holiday village in the front room. We look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bcrisp2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blooming Grove
12.6 mi away
The Thayer Hotel
The Thayer Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Point
976 reviews
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chester - Monroe - Goshen
16.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Fishkill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
#1 of 2 in Central Valley
759 reviews
9.5 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn - Newburgh
4.5 mi away
Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast
Caldwell House Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Salisbury Mills
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dominion House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dominion House

Property: The Dominion House
Address: 50 Old Dominion Road, Blooming Grove, NY 10914
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Blooming Grove
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Blooming Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dominion House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dominion House is located on 4.5 Acres in central Orange County NY. An 1880'farmhouse with original antiques, ornate mouldings and cornice work. Three rooms in the main house and private cottage. The main house has a hot tub, slatetop pool table, den with fireplace, library and swimming pool. Private cottage has a gas fireplace, kitchenette and jetted tub in the bath. All reservations include full breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Dominion House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing