We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BEAUTIFUL SETTING AND QUITE RUSTIC” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hedges

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Blue Mountain Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Hedges
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
79 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL SETTING AND QUITE RUSTIC”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

A very laid back place with excellent caring service. The rooms vary a bit but this time we had a pretty modern room. The setting and vibe is really great with everyone loving being there.

Emma in the dining room was delightful as always. Francie is a great owner and host.

Really a warm atmosphere and certainly much nicer room and food wise than most of the places in the Adirondacks, believe me.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank NYSojourner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    31
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
33
65
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, New York
Level Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at The Hedges for three nights. The lodge is located on the shores of Blue Mountain Lake. The lake is very pretty and the view from the deck of the main lodge is very relaxing. Loons calling, hummingbirds flitting about and a friendly family of ducks are just a few of the things you can see and hear just sitting still for a few minutes on the deck.
The view from room 16 was nice, water on all sides, and a view of the lake while showering.
The food quality varied from diner quality to gourmet. Our first nights dinner was trout stuffed with crab meat, a spinach salad and good bread. That was the high water mark for food. The next night my wife was served a shrimp dish with bacon in it after we asked if there was any other meat in the "New Orleans shrimp" and were told no. I ordered the pork dinner and was served a dish that looked like it had been sitting around awhile, the gravy was congealed with a skin formed over the top and the food was cold.The third night I ordered the roast beef dinner, the meal tasted ok. The food was cold, portions were small, and the only thing that saved it was that the gravy was hot.
Breakfasts were the best bet, you could order from a menu with plenty of choices. Something for everyone, the omelets were good, the bagels were excellent.
Service was friendly and competent if sometimes slow, breakfast is first come first served while dinner requires reservations. Other reviewers have commented on the language problems with the servers, we did have a few misunderstandings but nothing serious other than the bacon brought-ha-ha...;)
We have been to the hedges 8-9 times over the last 16 years and the improvements in the rooms and buildings are well done.
Suggestions for future improvements would be ceiling fans in the dining room, it was stifling in there when the room was full. And something other than a salad for a vegetarian option every night for dinner, some type of veggie burger on hand would be a good start.
The cost for three nights was just over $1000. Steep but not out of line with other lodges that use the American plan system. My wife loves this place, I find it peaceful if unfulfilling gastronomically.
There is Wifi in the buildings, no TV,s or radios. Plenty to do if you want or nothing to do if you prefer.
Coffee and tea are available all day.

Room Tip: Room 16 in the main lodge is our favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vaultcoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

We came to the Hedges for a short break with our two teenage daughters. We stayed in a two bedroom lakefront cottage.
We fell in love!! The property was gorgeous, the food phenomenal, and the staff was so friendly and accommodating! The overall atmosphere was like home away from home.
We can't wait to go back!!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Heather2929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
105 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Foremost the location is outstanding. The lake is right there and surrounded by the peaks of the Adirondacks. The lake is crystal clear and lightly used (just a few power boats now and then). It has many large and small islands and leads in to two other lakes. There are some homes and development but very limited as it is part of the Adirondack state park. It is an excellent place to Kayak and Canoe. The Hedges is one of the old Adirondack "camps" and the grounds and most buildings are lovely. Lots of fine craftsmanship and interesting and old furniture and decorations. Lots of places to sit and relax. Even though at capacity, the place never felt crowded and you never felt rushed. In fact more than once we remarked on "where is everybody?".The staff was very friendly and accommodating. There was almost always coffee and tea and ice tea available in the dinning room, usually with cookies and/or bakery items available for free. Bingo night was also free and surprisingly fun with some very nice prizes from the gift shop (including a $100 gift certificate).

A few points to be aware of: Yes most of the wait staff is from Romania. As many resorts in this part of NY and VT do, they bring in summer help from overseas. The staff was friendly and attentive but you may have to repeat yourself now and then. Breakfast and dinner are included in the room rates. Breakfast was excellent with many choices and get them all if you like. the Suzies breakfast potatoes were surprisingly good. You can order a box lunch for $9 and it is enough for two (after that big breakfast). Dinner is less wonderful. Their are 4 entree choices (including a Cobb salad and vegetarian option). The food is of good quality and tasty (if you like what is being served) but the meat portions were rather skimpy. A ham dinner was two thin slices of ham. The BBQ night dinner was a single chicken thigh and two heavily sauced ribs. Here the sides can save the night. Dont get me wrong, you leave feeling full but I was mildly disappointed. A high point is a wine list with many NY wines and all at reasonable prices. It was nice to get a good Riesling for just a few dollars more than you would spend in the store buying it.

We stayed in the Stone Lodge and found it to be extremely clean and nicely decorated. the bathroom looked brand new. Only complaint would be the second floor needs better ventilation as it was hot. There is no A/C and opening the windows and running fans doesent always do the job. A simple attic vent would do wonders here.We did not check out the many cabins but some have beautiful sitting areas and porches.

A 15% gratuity is added to the room rate at check out. It is recommended so you can request a reduction. It was a bit over what I might have normally tipped for the meals and maid, but close enough that I did not complain.

You are in the Adirondack forest here so expect wildlife and bugs. Sitting in the grassy areas right by the water can get buggy. Even some of the porch areas were a bit buggy. Bring repellent or the gift shop will sell you some. Coming after Labor day will solve most of the bug problem (cold nights). I did not find it buggy while Kayaking.

There were some families with kids there. Meals could be a bit noisy but the hostess was happy to sit us away from the noise when asked. Only once were some kids running wild outside, and that didn't last long.

The Hedges has a very dedicated following. When asked at Bingo most have been returning for 10 plus years and some had a family history of going there for 30 plus years. You should book early in the season. Canoes and Kayaks are available for guest use. Some are a bit beat up but they work fine and there is a convenient launching area that is good for getting in and out, and good for watching people fall in while trying to get in and out.
The Adirondack museum is just down the road and Lake George is less than and hour away. Lake Placid and the Olympic training areas are less than an hour away. Great Kayaking and boating is everywhere.
Sunsets are spectacular and sitting early morning with a hot cup of coffee listening to the Loons calling each other was, well, special.

Room Tip: For couples, the Stone Lodge. For famalies a cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stumbled on the Hedges by accident, looking for a place to turn around. My wife just happened to notice that they had vacancies and went in to check for us. We were only passing through, and thought the price for one night's accommodation was a little on the high side, but it did include dinner and breakfast, so we thought "what the hell". Our cabin was lake side. A little small for 5, but charming and well furnished. Dinner was terrific. The food really was some of the best we've had, and the dining room is beautiful. Very rustic, very adirondack - so if you're not into that, it isn't for you. But lovely food, and plenty of it. The beds were all comfortable and everything worked fine, and we really had the feeling of staying in the wilderness. Canoeing on the lake in the early morning (included), then breakfast, which again was top notch. We came away wanting to stay for a couple of weeks. And the price was worth it.

Room Tip: They are mostly fully booked. We were lucky to get a lake side cabin. I'd go for one of the larg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poppasilverback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camillus, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

The Hedges is an absolutely beautiful property with many beautiful flowers/plants/sitting areas, outside and in. The rustic lodges really have an old fashioned great camp "feel", and it's a wonderful place to uplug, rest and recharge. You can't beat Blue Mountain Lake for gorgeous views!

HOWEVER,

First of all, good luck getting in! The Hedges welcome back the same families year after year, who like to stay in the same cabins/rooms year after year, and it doesn't matter how early YOU personally get your application in, chances are, if it's prime summer tourist time, you will NOT get in. The Hedges doesn't seem to care about turn over, or "new blood"....though I can understand counting on a perceived guaranteed income. Reservations are definitely NOT first come, first served, though they will put you on a wait list if you don't mind being left in limbo until you hear from them months later.

Secondly....be advised that each additional child you add (6 and older) is $75/day...FOR EACH CHILD! I have three children, and would have paid $75 total for all three combined....but I can't see how they justify that charge! Even considering breakfast/dinner/linens and boat rentals...the cost is simply too high! All three of my kids combined would not eat $75 worth of food a day, (let alone $225...which for a full week totals to over $1000)!

If you are lucky enough to get in, and lucky enough to justify the extra daily fee per child, then The Hedges will not disappoint....it's too bad that (it seems as though) families with children are discouraged (even though they will point out all the Children's activities and programs available).

It's too bad...we would have really liked to have stayed!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Greystonegirl117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Two sisters, Pat and Francis, from Georgia run the Hedges. They bring with them warm Southern Hospitality that permeates through the entire staff. Good food from Sue the head cook that has been with the sisters for 39 years. Relaxing atmosphere. Community campfire every night. Good quality boats for guests use; royalex and fiberglass canoes, kayaks. (no cheap tin-can aluminum boats) Great place to rejuvenate. Blue Mountain Lake is one of the most scenic and interesting in the Adirondacks; lots of islands. If you want a great Adirondack experience at an old time historic Adirondack camp, this is a good choice. If you are expecting the Ritz-Carlton, go elsewhere. The Hedges is a unique place in the mountains. It is not fair to compare it to a city hotel. It knocks Elk Lake out of contention.

Room Tip: The're all unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blue Mountain Lake
0.0 mi away
Great Pines
Great Pines
#4 of 12 in Old Forge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.0 mi away
Garnet Hill Lodge
Garnet Hill Lodge
#1 of 1 in North River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Alpine Lodge
The Alpine Lodge
#2 of 4 in North Creek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Saranac Lake
BEST WESTERN Saranac Lake
#1 of 8 in Saranac Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#8 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
0.0 mi away
Surfside On The Lake Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hedges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hedges

Property: The Hedges
Address: Route 28, Blue Mountain Lake, NY
Region: United States > New York > Blue Mountain Lake
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Blue Mountain Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
The Hedges Hotel Blue Mountain Lake
Hedges Blue Mountain Lake
Hedges Hotel Blue Mountain Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing