We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Blue Mountain never looked so good!”
Review of The Hedges

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Blue Mountain Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Hedges
Certificate of Excellence
Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Blue Mountain never looked so good!”
Reviewed 20 September 2010

I've been to Blue Mountain a few times. Overnighted once before, but at another location. The Hedges is BEAUTIFUL. Besides the beautiful setting, the use of their canoes/kayaks, and the nice rooms (we stayed in the main lodge over the dining area), your stay also includes a great breakfast AND dinner. And the dinners were great! So if you think the cost per night stay is steep, don't forget to factor in the meals, and it then seems quite reasonable. It is well worth the extra, as there are not any good dining options in the area. We would definitely stay there again. And one more thing--the staff were wonderful! Helpful, friendly, and clearly enjoyed the public. Great place.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PudgexMish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    31
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
33
65
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2010

This was the final stop of our first wedding anniversary and to sum the place is just darn cute and exceeded my expectations. My wife and I fell in love with the place instantly. We met numerous visitors returning over generations. Checking in the staff immediately made you feel at home. The Moose Lodge we stayed in was cozy and very clean. The well manicured property sits lakeside with Adk chairs and loungers peppering the little coves. I was initially a tad disappointed that you couldn't see Blue Mountain from the boat dock, but go over to the swim dock or the little beach and BAM, there it is. BEAUTIFUL. I was also concerned they allow motor boats on the lake. However, they must limit the number of them and horsepower because they never were a problem. Plus motor boat traffic generally stayed near the boat ramp on the other side of the lake. In fact there were a couple of Loons and their fledgling that could be heard nearby. You could sit there all day, do nothing and love it. Conversely, if you wanted to there are a million things to do. Horseshoe pit, tennis, bikes as well as kayaks, canoes and even windsurfers to use at will with nobody telling you where/when or how. They also had guest come in and introduce things like fly fishing, even an Adk storyteller. If it rained they have sitting areas for reading, games and puzzles. They even had a game room with foosball and other table games. Families ruled over couples but they were quite. It seemed everyone was there for the same reason and people respected that. The place had such a calming effect my wife and I found ourselves whispering to each other. At night we sat lakeside, drank a bottle of wine and saw a dozen shooting stars. There’s even a fire ring complete with smores. During meals the hostess treated us like a family member. All wait staff were kind and met you with a smile. The placemats changed between meals and displayed old surveys of the surrounding land including hiking trails. How cool is that? The food was good and if you didn't have your fill they would get you more. The owner served us coffee our breakfast morning and solidified that we will be returning. All service industries should take lessons from this place, they were there when you needed them, out of site when you didn’t and never pushy. Top notch!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaypeakpow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
detroit michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2009

The Hedges is just what you envision when you think about the Adirondack's - beautiful old buildings on a mountain lake. The buildings and rooms are clean and well decorated with beautiful woodworking. The service in the dining room was good and the food was acceptable. There are canoes, kayaks, and small boats to explore blue mountain lake. The lodge is well stocked with games, books and magazines, but there are no TV's or other modern distractions except that WiFi is available. The guests while we were there (mid Sept) tended to be in there 60's and 70's. If you are looking for great conversations with new friends in front of a big fireplace, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank touristDetroit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 October 2009

My family has been coming to The Hedges for the past twenty years, and I can't think of a better, more relaxing vacation spot. Imagine having breakfast and dinner cooked to perfection every day; a place where your biggest concern is whether or not to go boating - that's The Hedges. The Hedges is the vision of rustic elegance on possibly the most beautiful lake in the region. Add in the great staff, and you've got the ideal getaway for a family or a couple.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simaeich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2009

We have been on an extended trip through the upstate New York, exploring in our own backyard but far enough away to be away from home. We just spent a few days here and had such a great and relaxing time. It was as if we were in a different area of the country and yet we were only about two hours from home. We loved it and are planning to stay again next season. It is perfect.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miquelport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2009

We really liked The Hedges and will be back again, hopefully with our grandchildren and their parents. Stayed in the Stone House - initially requested room 23 because it is the largest and has lake views, but the bathroom is inadequate to our needs so we moved.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcoithaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson Valley, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2009

The Hedges is an Old World resort hotel (Great Camp) on placid and beautiful Blue Mountain Lake. It is my secret that I am reluctant to share but I am compelled to tell the world. The Hedges has peace and quiet (no telephones or televisions) and the natural beauty of the Adirondacks as its greatest selling points as well as endless hiking, mountain biking, kayaking/canoeing. Pat Benton, owner and loving caretaker, along with her staff take you back to another time,the perfect stewards of the land and the spirit of the Adirondacks - NYS's spectacular resource. Stone Lodge accomodations are well appointed and comfortable. Meals are hearty and satisfying. We shall return over and over again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dpitcher50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blue Mountain Lake
0.0 mi away
Great Pines
Great Pines
#4 of 12 in Old Forge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.0 mi away
Garnet Hill Lodge
Garnet Hill Lodge
#1 of 1 in North River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Alpine Lodge
The Alpine Lodge
#2 of 4 in North Creek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Best Western Saranac Lake
Best Western Saranac Lake
#1 of 9 in Saranac Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Big Moose Inn
Big Moose Inn
#1 of 1 in Eagle Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hedges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hedges

Property: The Hedges
Address: Route 28, Blue Mountain Lake, NY
Region: United States > New York > Blue Mountain Lake
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Blue Mountain Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
The Hedges Hotel Blue Mountain Lake
Hedges Blue Mountain Lake
Hedges Hotel Blue Mountain Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing