We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its a place to renew body & spirit because of its simplicity & beauty”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blue Mountain Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prospect Point Cottages - Blue Mountain Lake
lindenhurst,ny
1 review
“Its a place to renew body & spirit because of its simplicity & beauty”
Reviewed 27 July 2009

My family started coming here 3yrs ago in August on the advise of friends that come every year. We all stay in cabins by the water & there is always something for our teenagers to do . We love going to Rock island to jump off a sheer rock in the middle of a beautiful lake. We love going to Buttermilk Falls to swim followed up by a short ride to Long Lake for ice cream. The sunsets are the best especially when sitting by a campfire on the beach. Its so beautiful that some of the pics we take go on my walls at home for a moment of peace!

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2kidsndog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
37
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fingerlakes Region
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2009

Henry David Thoreau wrote, "Heaven is under our feet as well as over our heads." Between the sandy beaches and breathtaking blue sky, fully-equipped cottages at Prospect Point Cottages on Blue Mountain Lake in the Adirondacks, you'd think the owners and managers took Thoreau literally. Cottages come replete with heat and some are equipped with fireplaces. There's cozy bedding, plenty of traditional Adirondack throws and blankets about, closets and storage space, immaculate bathrooms, roomy kitchens, cathedral ceilings, delightful screened-in porches on the pristine Blue Mountain Lake and breathtaking views. With rentals that include life vests, free canoe and rowboat usage on a private beach and a quaint playground, you just won't want to leave. Reasonably priced and nationally-reviewed, this is one slice of heaven you can't afford to miss.

Add a warm, family atmosphere of friendly guests (your cottage neighbors that often make friendships and book together for the same dates annually) and a staff that's superbly attuned to anticipating your needs and whipping up a divinely-inspired Adirondack breakfast that's included in the modest rental fee from October-June 20 (warning: you MUST hit the many on-site and nearby trails after, or you'll doze and get fat by the fire) and you might just find yourself coming here year after year.

There's also a main Lodge that stays open 24 hours a day. Not only is it where food, beverages and snacks are served, it also boasts comfortable seating, a sinfully comfortable couch and roomy chairs, WiFi access, a computer if you don't have your own laptop, a modest library (where famous guests like author Jonathan Scott Fuqua's novels can be found, among others), a lending library of DVDs, a screen projector for evening movies, games and toys and plenty of firewood for a cozy day or night in.

Right down the road is the famed Adirondack Museum (see the front desk at Prospect Point for $2 off coupons for admission) and the nearby Indian Lake Community Screen and Theatre where $5 movies are shown throughout the summer.

So, what are you waiting for? Book your cottage today, as it may take a year in advance to get the cottage of your heart's desire. Open year-round. Phone: [--] or e-mail:[--] or log-on to www.prospectpt.com

-Michelle Berry, Travel Writer (www.michelleberryblog.blogspot.com)

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelpoet5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atascocita, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2009

Our cottage was roomy with everything we needed. We were there with four children between the ages of 6-10 and we were very comfortable. The scenery is amazing and the staff is wonderful. We definetly recommend this rustic and yet cozy retreat to everyone!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rpjp695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn Ny
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2009

My family and I have been visiting the Blue Mountain lake region for several years now. We look forward to our stay at Prospect Point Cottages every year around Memorial Day weekend. Everyone who works there is very friendly and more than accommodating. The cottages are well maintained and the view is breathtaking! There are many things to do such as horseback riding, canoeing, white water rafting, hiking, visiting the museum and just relaxing by your fire at night under the stars. Whether you go alone as a couple or bring the whole family there is much to do and see!!!!!

Helpful?
Thank Brandy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2009

I can't say enough good things about my stay at Prospect Point Cottages. The location is not only centrally located in the Adirondack park system, it is quite peaceful and beautiful.

The cottages were clean, comfortable and roomy, with all the luxuries of home, yet rustic enough for a true Adirondack experience.

Our hosts were exceptional - friendly, courteous and very helpful. Getting to meet them was worth the trip alone!

If you're staying during the off-season, be sure to check out their new brunch service. It was amazingly good!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dondestan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2008

Prospect Point cottages sit on a small peninsula on Blue Mountain Lake. The cottages are rustic cottages: they are comfortable places with full kitchens and baths but nothing "luxurious". They are wonderfully clean, and the interiors are beautiful: finished in cedar and each cottage has a theme: ours was Moose.

Carol the manager was friendly and helpful with local activities and hikes.

A couple recommendations:

For the best views, ask for Hemlock or Balsam cabins. There is another one that has a great view that is escaping me.

Buy food on the way in. There is nowhere to eat in this town, and I mean nowhere. No grocery, no restaurants, nuthin. There is a lovely "camp" called the Hedges down the way that serves dinner if you want dinner...but that is it. Nearest grocery is ten miles out.

Hike Castle Rock. Amazing views.

I'd recommend not staying in "the Lodge"; this contains Moose, Bear or Loon. These are lovely, lovely lodge rooms but . We loved the place but the noise between these triplex rooms carries rather sharply.

The only thing that keeps this from being a five-star review is the proximity to 28 and the noise that travelled through our triplex. On the road noise: these properties sit rather close to the road. For many of the cabins that are down over a hill, this does not matter so much but the "lodge" sits close to the road and catches a lot of noise.

All in all, a wonderful place in a wonderful spot.

  • Liked — Cabin interiors and friendliness of staff
  • Disliked — proximity to major road
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank robininaustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, CT
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2008

Our Cottage at Prospect Point was fabulous, directly on the water we were able to launch our kayaks from our back door well let me say it was 20' away. The cottage was very clean with all amenities including an apt. size fridge (14cu), a 4 burner stove with oven, microwave, etc, The bathroom was very large and modern. In the large bedroom there was a dbl. bed and a twin bed along with a built in dresser plus a closet. The living room had a day bed which opened into two twin beds which also doubled as the sofa. It was not to comfortable when watching some TV but otherwise the living area was ample. The separate dining area had a trestle table for 4 or you could have dined on the screened porch overlooking the lake as we did. Overall I highly recommend this place and will be going back. One last thing plan on bringing most of your food as there are not to many restaurants in the immediate area nor are there any supermarkets for the city folk.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank shiraz627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blue Mountain Lake
21.9 mi away
Great Pines
Great Pines
#4 of 12 in Old Forge
90 reviews
19.4 mi away
Garnet Hill Lodge
Garnet Hill Lodge
#1 of 1 in North River
40 reviews
19.0 mi away
The Woods Inn
The Woods Inn
#3 of 6 in Inlet
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Big Moose Inn
Big Moose Inn
#1 of 1 in Eagle Bay
161 reviews
19.1 mi away
Marina Motel
Marina Motel
#1 of 6 in Inlet
153 reviews
25.0 mi away
The Copperfield Inn Resort
The Copperfield Inn Resort
#3 of 4 in North Creek
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prospect Point Cottages - Blue Mountain Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prospect Point Cottages - Blue Mountain Lake

Property: Prospect Point Cottages - Blue Mountain Lake
Address: 3381 New York Route 28, Blue Mountain Lake, NY 12812
Region: United States > New York > Blue Mountain Lake
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Blue Mountain Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming housekeeping cottages on the shores of Blue Mountain Lake in the heart of the Adirondacks. On the water, breathtaking views, private sandy beach, porches, fully equipped kitchens, free cable TV and wireless Internet, phones, linens -- everything you need! Some cottages feature fireplaces, cathedral ceilings, skylights, and are wheelchair friendly. Wonderful fishing, hiking, lawn games, picnics. Free use of canoes, rowboats and paddleboats. Conference Room\Library with fireplace and piano. Tennis and golf nearby. Easy walk to town. Open all year! Adirondack Museum across the lake. Exhibits, concerts, plays, art classes in town. Visa/Mastercard/AMEX accepted. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Prospect Point Cottages - Blue Mountain Lake Hotel Blue Mountain Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing