We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just What I Needed!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blue Mountain Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prospect Point Cottages - Blue Mountain Lake
New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just What I Needed!”
Reviewed 29 October 2009

I traveled to Blue Mountain Lake from Manhattan to escape the busyness of the city. Prospect Point Cottages provided the perfect retreat. The cottage was newly renovated, clean, and just feet from the magnificent lake. The screened in porch made it possible to enjoy the scenery even when it was raining. The staff was wonderful and welcomed guests like they were staying in their own home. They were knowledgeable about the area including being able to give recommendations for hiking trails and they even helped teach these city folks how to string a fishing pole. The lodge is cozy with a lovely stone fireplace and a lap top with internet access, movies, books and music for public use. They serve a wonderful breakfast each morning during the winter months. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisanne1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
37
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 20 October 2009

This was the most amazing place. The scenery was beautiful, the cottages were cozy, kid-friendly, but also romantic. They staff were absolutely exceptional. They had everything down to the smallest detail. We felt as if they were there to make our trip the best it could ever be. They were very personable, friendly, warm, inviting, considerate, and far exceeded our expectations as well as any prior experiences we had. We will definitely be visiting again!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Macbeth429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2009

If you are looking for the perfect place to create a lifetime of wonderful memories of "Summer at the Lake" for your family this is it! We have been visiting for 15 years now and there are many families who are on their 2nd or even 3rd generations. This is a marvelous spot on a gorgeous lake. Recent improvements have been done with a sensitivity to the history of the site and a loving careful touch towards improving without overdoing it. The staff is always helpful and friendly. The recent landscaping touches by the manager Carol are just lovely, especially the herb garden which you are free to clip from.

The area is full of outdoor activity from swimming to kayaking and beyond. The Arts Center and Museum always have some interesting concerts and activities. The Prospect Point Talent Show can't be beat with wonderful performances from children and grown-ups alike and if you're lucky Mr. "O" will be around to end the evening with one of his marvelous stories.

Yes, the food choices locally can be slim but adequate. If you want something special just bring it with you...which is what we've done using small ice chests and a stop in Glens Falls or Saratoga Springs.

What more is there to say....after 15 years we still look forward to our time at Prospect Point every summer and rain or shine we always find something to do and are never disappointed.

Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank WeloveBalsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2009

Myself, husband and three year old daughter spent a week in Redview Cabin at Prospect Point Cottages in July 2009. This was our first visit to Prospect and the cabin and grounds exceeded our expectations. Within hours of arrival I secured the same week for next year and was in vacation mode!!! (often times it takes days to get in vaca mode)

The Redview cabin is a spacious, 2 bedroom winterized home that actually sleeps 10 comfortably. It has 180 degrees of waterfront viewing, a large private yard, full kitchen, clean bath, extremely comfortable beds with 300+ thread count sheets, your own boat dock equipped with a canoe and rowboat and a lovely all glass/screen porch. Within walking distance is their private beach with kid toys, paddle boats, playground and a beautiful lodge with games, books, internet - a great meeting/gathering place.

Our stay was very comfortable and the views of Blue Mt all day were breathtaking. I highly recommend this cabin however they also have add'l cabins in the park that are smaller and closer together. But, if you're looking for privacy, get Redview!!

The staff is very friendly and although there is no housekeeping daily, they will bring you whatever you need.

We only wish we could've purchased a tshirt or some Prospect Point memorabilia, maybe next year......

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VacaMode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lindenhurst,ny
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2009

My family started coming here 3yrs ago in August on the advise of friends that come every year. We all stay in cabins by the water & there is always something for our teenagers to do . We love going to Rock island to jump off a sheer rock in the middle of a beautiful lake. We love going to Buttermilk Falls to swim followed up by a short ride to Long Lake for ice cream. The sunsets are the best especially when sitting by a campfire on the beach. Its so beautiful that some of the pics we take go on my walls at home for a moment of peace!

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2kidsndog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fingerlakes Region
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2009

Henry David Thoreau wrote, "Heaven is under our feet as well as over our heads." Between the sandy beaches and breathtaking blue sky, fully-equipped cottages at Prospect Point Cottages on Blue Mountain Lake in the Adirondacks, you'd think the owners and managers took Thoreau literally. Cottages come replete with heat and some are equipped with fireplaces. There's cozy bedding, plenty of traditional Adirondack throws and blankets about, closets and storage space, immaculate bathrooms, roomy kitchens, cathedral ceilings, delightful screened-in porches on the pristine Blue Mountain Lake and breathtaking views. With rentals that include life vests, free canoe and rowboat usage on a private beach and a quaint playground, you just won't want to leave. Reasonably priced and nationally-reviewed, this is one slice of heaven you can't afford to miss.

Add a warm, family atmosphere of friendly guests (your cottage neighbors that often make friendships and book together for the same dates annually) and a staff that's superbly attuned to anticipating your needs and whipping up a divinely-inspired Adirondack breakfast that's included in the modest rental fee from October-June 20 (warning: you MUST hit the many on-site and nearby trails after, or you'll doze and get fat by the fire) and you might just find yourself coming here year after year.

There's also a main Lodge that stays open 24 hours a day. Not only is it where food, beverages and snacks are served, it also boasts comfortable seating, a sinfully comfortable couch and roomy chairs, WiFi access, a computer if you don't have your own laptop, a modest library (where famous guests like author Jonathan Scott Fuqua's novels can be found, among others), a lending library of DVDs, a screen projector for evening movies, games and toys and plenty of firewood for a cozy day or night in.

Right down the road is the famed Adirondack Museum (see the front desk at Prospect Point for $2 off coupons for admission) and the nearby Indian Lake Community Screen and Theatre where $5 movies are shown throughout the summer.

So, what are you waiting for? Book your cottage today, as it may take a year in advance to get the cottage of your heart's desire. Open year-round. Phone: [--] or e-mail:[--] or log-on to www.prospectpt.com

-Michelle Berry, Travel Writer (www.michelleberryblog.blogspot.com)

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelpoet5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atascocita, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2009

Our cottage was roomy with everything we needed. We were there with four children between the ages of 6-10 and we were very comfortable. The scenery is amazing and the staff is wonderful. We definetly recommend this rustic and yet cozy retreat to everyone!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rpjp695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blue Mountain Lake
21.9 mi away
Great Pines
Great Pines
#3 of 12 in Old Forge
121 reviews
19.4 mi away
Garnet Hill Lodge
Garnet Hill Lodge
#1 of 1 in North River
54 reviews
21.9 mi away
Big Moose Inn
Big Moose Inn
#1 of 1 in Eagle Bay
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Marina Motel
Marina Motel
#1 of 6 in Inlet
156 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Prospect Point Cottages - Blue Mountain Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prospect Point Cottages - Blue Mountain Lake

Property: Prospect Point Cottages - Blue Mountain Lake
Address: 3381 New York Route 28, Blue Mountain Lake, NY 12812
Region: United States > New York > Blue Mountain Lake
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Blue Mountain Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming housekeeping cottages on the shores of Blue Mountain Lake in the heart of the Adirondacks. On the water, breathtaking views, private sandy beach, porches, fully equipped kitchens, free cable TV and wireless Internet, phones, linens -- everything you need! Some cottages feature fireplaces, cathedral ceilings, skylights, and are wheelchair friendly. Wonderful fishing, hiking, lawn games, picnics. Free use of canoes, rowboats and paddleboats. Conference Room\Library with fireplace and piano. Tennis and golf nearby. Easy walk to town. Open all year! Adirondack Museum across the lake. Exhibits, concerts, plays, art classes in town. Visa/Mastercard/AMEX accepted. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Prospect Point Cottages - Blue Mountain Lake Hotel Blue Mountain Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing