We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid at all cost” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lakeland Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lakeland Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bohemia
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Avoid at all cost”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

I stayed here for 3nights for work and decided to leave as changing room 3x made no difference. The rooms were supposed to be non-smoking yet I could see smoke burns on the cover and I was welcomed to smelly rooms. When I complained the lady was rude and told me that the room was a smoke free room.
Front desk didn't want to transfer calls to my room, the carpet was dirty and stained and I also found bugs on my bed and that's why I decided to check out.
The only positive thing about this motel is the location

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank voyageuse329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    4
    1
    2
    7
See reviews for
2
3
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

When we arrived to Lakeland Inn, the guy behind the thick bulletproof-looking glass seemed inconvenienced with our arrival. Upon inquiring about the crib I requested, at booking 3 months prior, being in the room he replied they don't have cribs. Once in the rooms, the smell of smoke was so overpowering even though there was a sign on the door that said non-smoking room. The carpet was filthy, the bed comforter had a cigarette burn in it, and the door had a lock that looked and felt like a dollar store special. After assessing the conditions of these rooms and our kids being asthmatic we felt it better if we spent the night in the car.

So in short: Filthy carpets, Smoke burn in comforter, Non smoking room with smoke smell, and locks that didn't insure you were secure.

The only positive thing is the no hassle cancelation as we returned to the front desk to inform them that we were not staying in such conditions.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank chris w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bohemia hotels

Clarksburg, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

This is an old style Motel. Very basic. King size bed, but particle board poking out on the sides and queen size sheets and mattress cover that meant an exposed mattress. A tattered blanket had cigarette holes burned in it. At $82 per night this did not really represent value. Location is very noisy and the door did not seal properly. I could not recommend this motel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ritz49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

I stayed here for two nights while traveling for work in the area. The room was nice, clean, and I had no complains while onsite. Convenient that it was by the airport and highways. Would recommend to others.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

This is a good place for a basic overnight stay. No frills, just a nice clean room with a warm bed. I was just looking for a place to crash for the night. This place fit the bill. Nice size room, clean, nicely decorated, hot shower, comfortable bed. Just what I was looking for at the price I wanted to pay. Would definitely go back

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joemar4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronkonkoma, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2010

The room was very dirty. There was urine was on the toilet seat. It was a non smoking room yet it had an ash tray in it and smelled of smoke. The sheets were paper thin and came off the bed during sleep. The blankets stank, were dirty. The heat was a joke, as at times i was sweating like a 'pig' and then 'freezing' like an eskimo. I wanted my money back.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mish3961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakelandinn, General Manager at Lakeland Inn, responded to this review, 8 December 2010
This was clearly an example of a customer who uses your facilities and at check out makes a series of complaints in the hope that they would not get charged for their stay. The customer demanded a refund at check out .Our reply was that if her complaints were valid had she called the front desk we would have automatically changed her room or dealt with her problems. It is not unlike going to a restaurant eating the entire meal and then demandiing your money back because you did not like the food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bohemia
1.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Islip MacArthur Airport
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Islip/MacArthur Airport
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Long Island/Islandia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Residence Inn Long Island Holtsville
2.1 mi away
Courtyard Long Island MacArthur Airport
4.5 mi away
Residence Inn Long Island Islip/Courthouse Complex
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeland Inn

Property: Lakeland Inn
Address: 1630 Lakeland Ave, Bohemia, NY 11716-2146
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Bohemia
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bohemia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Lakeland Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
52 Rooms very affordable near MacArthur Airport. Friendly and courteous staff. Very clean and well located. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Lakeland Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeland Hotel Bohemia
Lakeland Inn Bohemia, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing