We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful view of lake, but cottages old” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bonnie View on Lake George

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bolton Landing
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bonnie View on Lake George
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Bolton Landing
Certificate of Excellence
Stratford, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful view of lake, but cottages old”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

We went on vacation with my family and we had a very nice time. However, the rooms in cottages are very old and really need to be updated. I guess there are some rooms that have been updated, and I wish we had gotten one of those instead. I also wished there was a sandy beach you could walk into, but you have to walk down metal steps to get to the water and it wasn't the best for my 1 year old. It is quiet and nice area though, there are a lot of activities-playgrounds for children, boat rentals, shuffleboard, tennis, etc. The pool is nice and much warmer than the lake.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dylan D, Front Office Manager at Bonnie View on Lake George, responded to this review, 3 July 2015
Thank you for your positive review! We appreciate your feedback. Next time you come visit, let us know you prefer one of the newly renovated cottages and we will honor your request! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    44
    11
    3
    3
See reviews for
113
45
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hasbrouck Heights, New Jersey
Level Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

This was my first time staying at the Bonnie View, not my first in Lake George. I was so happy with the staff, they were always so nice and always available. My two sons (11 and 8) and I had a poolside motel room, it was perfect. It was large, clean, comfortable, had a huge closet and three chairs outside for us to relax on. We were with a large group that had cabins which were also really nice, great sizes and comfortable for families of all sizes. The lake entrance was really nice, the dock was great fun for the kids. The location is great you can easily take a nice walk into Bolton or it's a very short drive. Can't wait to go back next year :)

Room Tip: If you have no children I would ask to stay closest to the lake for great views. With children any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MagicalJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dylan D, Front Office Manager at Bonnie View on Lake George, responded to this review, 3 July 2015
Thank you for your great review! We enjoy hearing what a great time our guests have at Bonnie View and hope to see you again in the near future! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massapequa, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

Okay before you read this, understand that no resort (except maybe the Saggamore) is going to be in the conditions of a 5 star hotel. These are lakeside resorts/cabins and aren't meant to look like the penthouse in a Hilton hotel.

But besides that, I stayed at Bonnie View for 10+ years all throughout my childhood, and it is the best place I have ever stayed. I've been going to Lake George since the year I was born, and every summer after that (I am now 20). Bonnie view has a wonderful staff and owners who are always looking to help in any way they can. The whole resort as a whole is wonderful, including things that many other places in Lake George do not have (two playgrounds, a tennis court, ping pong tables, a large heated pool, shuffle board, etc). In addition, the Lake Front is absolutely gorgeous and is the best I've seen at any resort. There is so much room for swimming and also tons of dock space for boating. Also, there are so many chairs for laying out by the water. Bonnie view is definitely a family environment and great for kids of any age. The overall atmosphere of this resort is such a happy, relaxed one. People come to Bonnie View for decades on end because it is such a wonderful place. More than half the people I've met here are regulars who come back every summer.

There are absolutely no complaints about this place, and I can say that honestly because I have been here so many summers in a row. The resort is huge and has many different options for room types. The prices are completely affordable. If you want to have a wonderful, relaxing week with a phenomenal view of Lake George, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dylan D, Front Office Manager at Bonnie View on Lake George, responded to this review, 3 July 2015
Thank you for your great review! We hope to see you again soon! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, CT
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

We booked the Bonnie View based on these reviews. We expected it to be rustic so were prepared for a little " roughing it." Yes, the lake front proximity and the views of the lake are great but that is it. To start listing all of the downsides: if you are staying in the motel rooms around the pool you will find the rooms and the pool right on the busy road-something you can't tell at all from their web site. The "cottages" are downright disgusting. Clean, yes, as the reviews state. The housekeeping staff does a good job with what what they have. However, the cottages haven't been updated since 1970 at least. We did not even want to put our bare feet on the old linoleum flooring in the kitchen/living area or the old shag rug in the bedroom. The blankets and bed spreads on the bed looked just as old. I couldn't bare to use the blanket. I just kept thinking of the hundreds of people who must have used that same old, pilly blanket. I used the sheets only which were nice and clean. Also had a roll away bed, opened it and a large dead bug fell out. Stove barely worked. Couldn't regulate the tempature on the stove and the burners took forever to heat up. Old stove top camping coffee maker in cottages-no modern coffee maker. How much could it cost them to buy some Mr. coffees for their cottages??? So much more that bothered me that I can't list it all. Peeling paint on all the adirondack chairs, garbage in the water and on the sand floor around the docks; huge pile of trash and discarded items including toilets on the left as you drive into the "resort"; Tennis court full of tree debris so not usable; grounds not at all manicured and no effort to curtail bugs and large black ants which are everywhere; RUDE owners and front desk staff and on and on. Do yourself a favor and stay anywhere else.;

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LynWestportCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dylan D, Front Office Manager at Bonnie View on Lake George, responded to this review, 5 July 2015
Thank you for your feedback! We are sorry that Bonnie View did not reach your expectations. We tried very hard to please you. We moved you from a Motel Room to a Cottage at no additional charge despite the rate change between the accommodations. When you informed us you were leaving because of a medical issue with your child, we gave you a full refund on the balance. We tried to be as helpful and understanding as possible. While some components are dated, the linoleum floor in the cottage was less then two weeks old. We had just replaced it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, Ny
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

Went up to Bolton for a graduation party- have family in the area so always stayed at their homes. Decided this trip to stay right on the lake and picked a winner. We stayed in the Beachview Motel Room and was quite pleased. It's not 5 Star but very clean and comfortable. Lake access was wonderful - whole resort was clean - maybe some areas a little outdated but would recommend and will stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sOccermOm94_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dylan D, Front Office Manager at Bonnie View on Lake George, responded to this review, 3 July 2015
Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Plymouth, New York
Level Contributor
133 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

We've becoming here every year for almost a decade. For better or worse, the place just doesn't change. The owner is a super guy. The place is comfortable and extremely clean. It however, is in need of a big update/face lift. Perhaps it would drive prices up too much.Gorgeous view of Lake George is an incredibly expensive place to vacation. If you want to stay in this area, you pay top dollar for sometimes rundown Ma & Pa establishments. That being said, the place remains relatively reasonable and adequate.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ljc2tall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dylan D, Front Office Manager at Bonnie View on Lake George, responded to this review, 3 July 2015
Thank you for your feedback! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Hampton, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

We love the Bonnie View, been going there the last 10 years for annual guys getaway. The accommodation are pretty basic, rustic, timeless, tasteless. Lets just say, really could use an update. But thats the charm of the place, year after year, you know exactly what your getting. We stay at the cabins down close to the lake, perfect for our needs. With kitchen area and ample room tp hang out. There are rooms that are right on the lake that look pretty sweet as well.
We like it because its close to Bolton Landing, large cabins,great value,lake views.

Room Tip: Get a cabin Close to the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Satchmo88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dylan D, Front Office Manager at Bonnie View on Lake George, responded to this review, 3 July 2015
Thank you for your positive review! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolton Landing
9.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
8.6 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
8.2 mi away
Courtyard Lake George
Courtyard Lake George
#9 of 87 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake George
7.3 mi away
Tea Island Resort
Tea Island Resort
#22 of 87 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Sagamore Resort
The Sagamore Resort
#2 of 8 in Bolton Landing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bonnie View on Lake George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonnie View on Lake George

Property: Bonnie View on Lake George
Address: 4654 Lake Shore Dr, Bolton Landing, NY 12814-3004
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Bolton Landing
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Bolton Landing
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bonnie View Resort on Lake George has approximately 400 feet of lake frontage, including a private sand beach with sun decks & lounge chairs, fishing piers, rowboats you can use for free, paddleboats we rent by the hour ($3/Hr.), Paddleboards and a Kayak that are available for half or full day rentals ($12/Half, $20/Full), a heated swimming pool, a tennis court, shuffleboard, ping pong, basketball, croquet, horseshoes, badminton, several playground areas with swing sets & slides, & BBQ grills & picnic tables spread throughout the property. Bonnie View is a nine acre resort. The entire resort is on the lake side of the road. (Our lakefront includes a 30 x 40 ft. sand area with concrete steps that lead down into the lake. There is a roped-off shallow area for children.) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bonnie View On Lake George Hotel Bolton Landing
Bonnie View Hotel Bolton Landing Ny
Bonnie View On Lake George Bolton Landing, NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing