We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“summer07” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carey's Lakeside Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bolton Landing
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Carey's Lakeside Cottages
Mineola
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“summer07”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2007

With the weather super & the temp's in the 90's, what better way to start summer than a couple of days on Lake George. Carey's Lakeside is still like an old friend. The rooms were spotless, and the people who own the place are as nice as always. We come here for a enjoyable vacation, nice rooms & grounds. And the beach, ( not to big ) which always has friendly people enjoying the lake. If you want a fancy, high priced stay, go to the Sagamore( and we go there too ). But if you want to remember a simple, quiet ,old fastioned stay come to Carey's.

Helpful?
2 Thank Chief160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    8
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
7
12
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2006

I just got back from a weeklong vacation at Carey's with my wife and one year old son. We loved it.

Our room was done in a rustic style, with wooden beams and a big stone fireplace (which we would have tried out in another season). We had a small kitchenette, with a mini-fridge, stovetop, and sink. The bathroom was small but clean, with a stand-up shower.

The hotel spans a grassy slope leading down to the lake, where there is a sandy beach, a large dock, and plenty of lawnchairs under shady trees, perfect for reading, snoozing, or just staring out at the beautiful view.

Carey's has been run by the same family for 50 years (three generations work there now) and the service is friendly and attentive. Although not fancy, everything is meticulously upkept, clean and comfortable.

Some nice surprises: A swingset with baby swings for our son; a rec hall with vintage video games like Galaga; rowboats and canoes free for guests to use; outdoor gas grills for your barbecue.

  • Stayed June 2006, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Snisson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2006

We only stayed one night in a motel room. The room was quite large, and very basic. It was very clean. No phone or air conditioning, but the weather was fine and we didn't need the latter. The bathroom was clean, but the skimpy, threadbare towels were a joke. The bath mat was paper!

Still, for the price we paid, about $85, you get what you pay for. A free cup of coffee would have been nice, but apparently, that is offered a bit later in the season.

The waterfront area was small but adequate. We took out a free canoe and paddled around a bit. The families staying in the cottages seemed to be having a nice time. The location on Lake George is absolutely breathtaking.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kolomya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Windsor, NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2006

My immediate family and extended family rented 3 cabins at Carey's. We had never been to Lake George before and after calling dozens of places in early August were able to get a week at Carey's. We came to find out later that we only got that week because another family had just cancelled. We also found out that practically everybody else there knew the people who cancelled and were somewhat surprised to see us. This place is about families, some of whom we met had been coming to Carey's for 3 generations. Kids love it and parents can see almost the entire place from their front porch. We were, at first, a little surprised by all the people sitting around on their porches and hanging out. One day later we were those people. The place brings you back to a slower, easier time of life. The cabins were rustic but very clean. Honestly, the rustic part is really the charm of the place. Once you come down off of your redline lifestyle you will love this place. Bill, the owner, was super nice and helped us out with whatever we needed. We met the nicest people staying at the resort, all ready to tell their story of how they found Carey's. Our "neighbors" also recommended some great restaurants 2 minutes away in Bolton Landing. Carey's also had space for our boat at their dock and parking for our trailer right onsite. Everybody is really cool about watching out for your boat as they come in and out with their boat. It may take a day to really see why people love this place so much but if you can slow down and soak it all in I guarantee you will too. Give it a chance.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank willfare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2004

Careys Lakeside Cottages is full of lovely suprises - They have quaint fireplaces that work great and are very romantic! Linens that feel crisp, fresh and soft ...and real wool blankets. The owners run a small coffee/breakfast shop with GREAT coffee. Lots of open space and a beach if you want to swim or get some sun. You can see the majestic mountains and beautuful Lake George from the beach and are within a 2 mile car ride or 10 minute walk to the quaint little town of Bolton Landing with lots of little shops and a big food store where you can buy almost anything.
What I loved the most was that it was run by a family who knows what the word hospitality means. Their friendliness and genuine concern for our trip was the reason we will return.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2004

Had search web sites for place to stay while visiting Lake George. After seeing Careys site with their pictures and size of beach and shoreline view, decided to give them a try. Well, the beach was very, very small and could only handle about 4 adults and a couple of children. Their picture of a sprawling seating area down by with water was just that a picture. We were also going to stay there for four nights, but had to return home one day early and informed the management of that but still had to pay for the extra night. I was not happy about that and can deal with it but wish people would be more honest about their policies and their web sites

Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolton Landing
9.3 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
0.8 mi away
The Sagamore Resort
The Sagamore Resort
#2 of 8 in Bolton Landing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,496 reviews
0.7 mi away
Boathouse Bed and Breakfast A Lake Castle Estate on Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Blue Lagoon Resort
Blue Lagoon Resort
#1 of 5 in Diamond Point
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
4.0 mi away
Flamingo Resort on Lake George
Flamingo Resort on Lake George
#2 of 9 in Diamond Point
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
7.2 mi away
Lodges at Cresthaven
Lodges at Cresthaven
#26 of 87 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carey's Lakeside Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carey's Lakeside Cottages

Property: Carey's Lakeside Cottages
Address: 4826 Lakeshore Drive, Bolton Landing, NY 12814
Region: United States > New York > Bolton Landing
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Bolton Landing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Carey`s Lakeside Cottages Hotel Bolton Landing
Careys Lakeside Hotel
Carey's Lakeside Cottages Lake George/Bolton Landing, NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing