We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Boathouse Bed and Breakfast A Lake Castle Estate on Lake George
Nearby Hotels
The Sagamore Resort(Bolton Landing)(Great Value!)
US$292
US$254
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Contessa Resort(Bolton Landing)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (260)
Filter reviews
260 results
Traveller rating
220
16
7
9
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
220
16
7
9
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmiss boathouseb bsagamore resortother gueststhe main housegreat hostsgourmet breakfastcaptain joerelaxing vacationgreat roomevery amenityrestaurants and shopsprivate balconygas fireplacelake tourcommon roomour honeymoon
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
221 - 226 of 260 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2008

First, let me say that we are world travelers. Some things you can't explain. The B&B is lovely indeed. Very clean. The view of the lake, magnificent. I personally felt very uncomfortable and unwelcome, almost like an intruder.
Please call ahead if you're a vegetarian.
You can use the Sagamore amenities but only until check-out time, which is 11:00 am to the millisecond. Not 11:01 am.
If we MUST eat at 9 am exactly, please allow the guests to speak with each other. This is a nice alternative from the Sagamore, and those who love rules, timelines and tip-toeing, will fit in nicely. I sincerely wish the owners well. We will not return.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank NeenTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2008

When the world seems to shine like it has had too much wine, when you are walking in a dream and you know you are not dreaming, it's amore!!!

BoatHouse BB is constructed on one of the most magical locations on Lake George. The Roman style stone arches take you back in time and the warmth of Isabella's suite will simply make anyone fall in love. Patti spoiled us daily with a 3-course breakfast while Joe narrated great stories about the history behind the house and the city. On our last day, Joe gave us a very special lake tour on his 33-foot custom mahagony boat, without which our stay would have been incomplete.

Every morning we woke up to the beckoning mountain views and the sweet ocean breeze on our porch. Patti and Joe made the stay very memorable, but more importantly they made us feel very special throughout.

I strongly recommend BoatHouse BB to all those who cherish luxury and comfort and expect nothing but the best.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ronsidhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2008

Driving up Route 9N from Lake George Village, you will pass innumerable motels and cabins, some dating back to the 1940’s and 1950’s, in various states of repair. Then you come to Bolton Landing, home of The Sagamore - the great Grand Dame of hotels on Lake George. But right before the bridge over to the island on which the old Dowager presides, you will find the Boathouse Bed and Breakfast. The Boathouse is a unique little jewel which actually sits over the water of Lake George: a little refuge amid the hustle and honky-tonk that often characterizes the west side of the lake

The Boathouse was once the summer home of George Reis and his Gold Cup champion speedboat, El Lagarto. The house that is now the bed and breakfast was built above the boat slips and the water below, and it has the feel and smell of an old Lake camp: cluttered with family photos and bric-a-brac that give you the feeling that you really are a guest in someone’s home. The polished wood floors (or ceiling if you are in the slips) and the casement windows around the sunny front common room speak volumes of the quiet elegance of a former time, and the comfortable wicker chairs, which look out to the lake from the front porch and every conceivable corner on the docks or the seawall near the water, promise to be heaven on a sunny day.

We took advantage of an April special, and we booked one of the two “suites,” which are the only rooms which are not in the boathouse itself, but are above the garage behind it. Our room was not what I would call a suite - a single room with an enormous Adirondack-style bed, gas fireplace, a small kitchen area consisting of a sink, fridge and microwave, and a sumptuous bathroom – but it was very pleasant nonetheless. It had a tiny balcony, just big enough for two chairs and a small table, looking out over the roof of Boathouse to the lake and the mountains on the opposite side. The bed was huge and delightfully comfortable, the bathroom boasted a double whirlpool tub, and our hosts thought of every amenity we could have wanted: bath salts, tooth paste, a shoe-shine kit, and even earplugs for what we could only imagine would be the noise from the nearby road in high season, although it was very quiet when we were there

But the real pleasure was the Boathouse itself. Sitting in the April sun on the wicker chairs on a corner of the dock, inches away from the surface of the lake that slapped and gurgled below us, we found an ideal way to while away the afternoon with a book. Their boat, a Hacker Craft which was built just up the lake in Silver Bay, sits in one of the slips below the living quarters, and Joe apparently takes guests for rides (for a price) when the weather warms up. A hot tub is also situated up against the house for those cool starlit nights - unfortunately we had not packed our bathing suits. Before breakfast I sat on one of the chairs on the front porch and decided that I just might forego the morning meal in order to linger in the sun. But we were only there for one night and I did enjoy the breakfast.

We did not experience the attitude which some have described in Patti and Joe, nor did we find the little signs and rules to be intrusive or unnecessary.

The ambiance comes at a price, of course. Even at the discounted off-season April rate, our one night totaled more than $300 when the tax is included. But it was a delightful little stay and one that we hope to repeat.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matombo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2008

Had a one night stay in April, as the sagamore was full the first night of our arrival. Beautiful grounds and beautiful scenery all around you. Food was fabulous. Bed as comfy as clouds. Jacuzzi on the deck, what a great surprise that was. It was an 80 degree weekend in April, so enjoying the jacuzzi outside with the stars above us. Pure relaxation. I would highly reccommend this to anyone that loves a true B&B. Or if you have never experienced one as well.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank smatzke64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2008

"Magical"- Romantic" - Enchanting"-Breathtaking"-we've traveled to many locations through the years and Vermont is our main retreat. Takes us back in time. Recently, we were stressed and needed a quick getaway. We went to our childhood vacation area for dinner one night, in the Lake George region. We both love the area and thought we'd like to spend a night or two next time we needed a getaway. I researched online and discovered a hidden gem. Unfamiliar with "Bolton Landing", all though I stayed at the Sagamore years ago, I came acrossed "The Boathouse". The website was very inviting, we soon made a reservation. When we arrived, we were immediately awestruck. GORGEOUS to say the least. Built IN the Lake, we felt like we were on a cruise without all the chaos and crowds. Breathtaking views! Patti and Joe, the owners, we can't say enough about. Such a warm, genuine, classy couple. They live what most of us would describe as "the good life". They love people and what to "pay it forward", and give back. It's so obvious in their manner. Attention to every detail, amazing. Each room is named after their grandchildren which makes you feel the love throughout the B&B. Our room was so intimate and romantic. It was mid March and that room made us feel like we were in mid July. We were both so giddy and fell in love all over again. Patti is truly gifted. Between her decorating skills and her gourmet breakfast, she should have her own show on the Food Network. Cheri, the Manager, is the sweetest person I ever met! We will be back, Vermont will have to wait, we found a new romantic haven! GO to the Boathouse B&B - Relax, Fall in love again, Smile....

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank kimberqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews