We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect vacation spot!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Boathouse Bed and Breakfast A Lake Castle Estate on Lake George
Certificate of Excellence
Port Orange, Fl.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The perfect vacation spot!”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My wife and I spent three nights here and we wished we could have stayed forever. Not only is this a beautifully restored boathouse, but the owners, Joe and Patti have put so much of themselves into it, it just feels like home when you are here. Every morning you and the other guests are treated to a wonderful breakfast that is presented in just the right setting. They have thought if every little detail to make your stay memorable. The location of the Boathouse is also perfect as you are in walking distance from the village of Bolton Landing and also the world famous Sagamore Inn. For a very small fee Joe will give you one of the best boat tours of the lake you will ever get with lots of local history thrown in for good measure. There are just not enough superlatives in the dictionary to describe this place to any one without having seen it for yourself. We already have our reservations in for next year and can't wait to go back. This is just one of those places that is not to be missed!

Room Tip: If you like a large shower area, book one of the larger rooms as the standup showers in the smaller...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkalka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    16
    7
    8
    8
See reviews for
10
193
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Scotia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We had this B&B on our bucket list... but always found it to be sold out. Finally for our 23rd Anniversary, we were able to book a room when we needed it. Always shy of B &B 's as we adore our privacy , I am happy to report that we found our new Anniversay Tradition. We stayed in a room with a balcony and found the room to be very comfortable. The property is breath taking and you can tell that Patti and Joe put much thought and LOve into the personal touches that await you. From the homemade granola and basket of apples that are there upon your arrival , the generous items in your room such as black towels for women like myself that wear makeup but hate to ruin white towels to candles, an assortment of dvd's to a white noise machine that plays oceans waves you could feel the care that went into each choice! You truly walked in the door as a stranger and left feeling like you found new life long friends! Joe and Patti were excited to share how the generous and gourment breakfast - worth being in the stunning dining area at 9 am for! The property is stunning and was very peaceful and relaxing. If you have the chance join "Captain Joe" for the boat tour- worth the money for sure as you learn about the history of the Lake and have the experience of riding in a luxurious boat ... Joe & Patti love what they do and it shows!!! The location is perfect as a short ride away you may have dinner at the Sagamore Resort. So if you desire a stay with new fiends at a first class location chose to stay as we did , and you'll have an experience matched by none!!! Add this to your bucket list and you will not be disappointed!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We first visited the boathouse in 2012 for a short winter honeymoon and have returned twice since to enjoy the peace and serenity the Boathouse offers. The trip this weekend was by far the best yet as the warm weather allowed us to tour the Lake with Joe in his boat. Patti's three course breakfasts never disappoint and the waterfront porch is one of favorite spots. Beautifully situated and well kept, clean, and comfortable, it has become the only place we care to go to on Lake George to relax. Thank you Joe and Patti!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We have stayed at the Boathouse Bed & Breakfast a number of times in the last couple of years and we are never disappointed. Joe and Patti have a created such a welcoming atmosphere, you never want to leave. The location is perfect, you can walk anywhere in Bolton Landing, and there are a number of nice restaurants to choose from. The views are spectacular from every window, but our favorite place to sit is on the porch, which is cantilevered over the Lake. It's so beautiful in all the seasons, but watching the boats go by is really fun. If you are a boater, Norawal Marina is right across the street. It's reasonable to store your boat for the weekend or week and launching is super easy. We are already looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 492lisan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Easton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Twelve of us gathered for a small wedding. Beautiful location with views of lake, three course breakfast, fireplace, intimate setting and perfect opportunity for two families to meet and witness the most relaxed, no-stress wedding. If a location is wonderful in early March, just think how special it would be with wonderful weather. Joe, Patty were always there when we needed anything and the perfect hosts!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MaryLuL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fountain Hills, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 October 2013

My grandfather was George Reis and the original owner of this house. He was also a renowned speedboat racing champion in Lake George. As a Reis family member, I could not be more thrilled and proud of what Patti & Joe have done with this house. Everything is top notch. The rooms are beautiful and very comfortable and Patti's cooking rivals anything you would find in larger 5 star hotels.

The setting is magical--the house actually sits in part of the lake and there is nothing more peaceful than sitting on the dock watching the boats go by.

But the best part is Joe's obvious love for the racing history of the house and this area. His enthusiasm is contagious and makes this place truly special.

The house is very well located to the Sagamore Inn and the town of Bolton Landing as well.


This bed and breakfast is not just a place to stay while you are in the area, it is a destination all it's own.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We spent two days at Lake George, NY a few weeks ago and loved our stay at the Boathouse Bed & Breakfast. Great location, you can walk to the restaurants and shops in Bolton Landing and you're right next to the Sagamore. We had perfect weather there and sitting on the porch, which is cantilevered over the lake, is just really an experience to remember. Joe and Patti were very hospitable and have great pride in the property. Our room, the Allayla, is the smallest room there, but was still comfortable. Take some kind of boat ride on the lake to appreciate the beauty of Lake George, it worth it. Our two days there were a treat for us and we'd like to get back there sometime in the future.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Howard d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolton Landing
10.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
10.0 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
9.5 mi away
Courtyard Lake George
Courtyard Lake George
#4 of 88 in Lake George
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake George
8.7 mi away
Tea Island Resort
Tea Island Resort
#19 of 88 in Lake George
141 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Sagamore Resort
The Sagamore Resort
#1 of 8 in Bolton Landing
1,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boathouse Bed and Breakfast A Lake Castle Estate on Lake George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boathouse Bed and Breakfast A Lake Castle Estate on Lake George

Property: Boathouse Bed and Breakfast A Lake Castle Estate on Lake George
Address: 44 Sagamore Rd, Bolton Landing, NY 12814-7734
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Bolton Landing
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bolton Landing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boathouse Bed and Breakfast A Lake Castle Estate on Lake George 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This "Lake Castle Estate" is the only B&B in the waters of Lake George. Featured in many books and magazines with its outstanding views of the lake & mountains. Historical site, former home of the Gold Cup Winner George Reis. This boathouse has seven rooms all with private baths, some with fireplaces and two person whirlpools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Boathouse Bed and Breakfast A Lake Castle Estate on Lake George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boathouse Bed And Breakfast A Lake Castle Estate On Lake George Bolton Landing, NY
Boathouse Hotel Bolton Landing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing