We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean rooms but hard pillows” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Northward Ho!

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bolton Landing
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Northward Ho!
NJ
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Clean rooms but hard pillows”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

Rooms could use updating, but they are spotless. Beds are hard and the pillows harder. Walls a bit thin, you can very easily hear your neighbors conversations. Dock on the lake is very nice and a great place to have a glass of wine in the evenings.

Grounds very well kept. Don very nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanWP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ramsey, New Jersey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

My boyfriend and his family have been going to Donald's place for the last 25 years. Now we're a blended family and my kids love it too. This year was my 6th year and I won't stay anywhere else in Bolton Landing. It gets better every year. Donald does a fantastic job of keeping the grounds immaculate and the rooms clean. Best view on Huddle Bay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room closest to the Lake. There are cabins with full kitchens too
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonoma County, Ca
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

I called Northward Ho! for a possible one-night reservation on a busy summer weekend and Don was able to accommodate my family (the place was fully booked and only this one night was open!). Don was SO nice on the phone...I asked him numerous questions and he was so willing to give of his time. I had never been to the Adirondacks before, so my questions were many! Thanks Don!!! The property is spotless. The property begins up at the main road with the office; pool in back. As you walk past the pool, you pass the motel units on the left and a converted garage type structure on your right. The converted garage has been turned into a game room with a ping-pong table, Foosball table, other games and a coffee bar (mornings only) where they serve/sell HOME-MADE (yes, I said homemade) doughnuts! Continuing on past the the garage, you start heading downhill toward the lake. You will pass several different individually situated cabin-type units. Once at the lake, you will find numerous Adirondack chairs where you can sit and enjoy the lake views. A small lawn, dock, and swimming area w/platform complete the picture. There are rowboats for your use as well. The whole property is like stepping back in time to a more gentler era...where families gathered every summer for a week at the lake (they still do!). Unfortunately, we were able to spend only one night. Yes, the place is dated...but it's CLEAN...literally SPOTLESS. If we visit the Adirondacks again, we will stay here (and we are picky).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dnrme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

My family and I are lifelong Lake George vacationers, and Northward Ho is home away from home for all of us. Through the years (over 30) there have been timea when we couldnt stay at Northward Ho and made arrangments elsewhere. None of the other places, even come close to comparing to Northward Ho.
Its the cleanest establishment I have ever stayed in, anywhere, not just Lake George. Guenther, Don and Mimi take pride in their place and it shows!! They go above and beyond to make sure you have a wonderful stay! They are friendly, welcoming, and all around genuine!!
I honestly can not say enough good things about Northward Ho!! Its a beautiful, serene, slice of Heaven on Earth!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank littlestbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookfield, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

The owners clearly take great pride in the business, and it shows from the clean rooms, well-kept grounds, and friendly service. They have a really pretty view of the lake from their location on Huddle Bay, where their beach is protected from the bigger waves and wakes. It's close to Bolton Landing for shops, restaurants, grocery store, and kayak rentals, and a 10-15 minute drive to Lake George Village. I agree with a previous reviewer's comments that it's retro; this is not a fancy hotel but the price and location are great. I stayed for 3 nights in mid-September and enjoyed sitting on the lakeside deck whether it was morning, afternoon, or watching the shooting stars at night.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IsItScenicYet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
92 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

We have been visiting Lake George for years, and finally, decided to stay away from the village of Lake George a couple of years ago. Found Northward Ho then and have never looked anywhere since. It's on a beautiful quiet part of the lake that is ideal for swimming. The property is spotless! Don is a wonderful host that will go out of his way to make your stay wonderful. We were thinking of taking our kids to The Great Escape one day and he sells discount tix. When my husband talked to him about the tix, he phoned around to see if we could tix cheaper and looked up the hourly forecast for us since we knew the forecast was iffy and it was our last day. How nice is that?! We love staying there and will never stay anywhere else! So relaxing!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewJerseyBossFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenmoore, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

We have been going to the Roessler's Northward Ho! cottages for many years. It feels like going home when we come back every year. Lots of the same families come back year after year and we've really enjoyed this aspect, like getting back together with family you haven't seen for a while. The family who runs this property take pride in their business and it shows.
This is not a fancy motel, but it's clean, well-kept, and quiet. They have a beautiful location in Huddle Bay on Lake George. There is dock space available for those with boats. Cottages, small efficiencies and motel rooms are available. It is difficult to get one of the cottages because of the repeat business from year to year. Returning customers get first chance at the end of the winter to rent their unit for the same week each year, but openings do occur. Even the efficiencies are enough for a small family as each unit has an outdoor grill and picnic table in addition to the small fridge and small stove inside.
There is a nice pool and of course beautiful Lake George. There is a small sandy beach area with a swim platform and a dock you can jump from. Very safe for kids. Also a playground area with swings, a basketball net, and a game room with ping pong and foosball. This motel is located close to Bolton Landing, so you have access to the stores, restaurants and marinas in town. Only about 15 minutes to drive to downtown Lake George, too.
And perhaps the best - the fresh made donuts and coffee in the coffee shop/snack bar every morning!

Room Tip: It can be hard to get a good location down closer to the water but definitely choose this option if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolton Landing
3.6 mi away
The Sagamore Resort
The Sagamore Resort
#2 of 8 in Bolton Landing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,498 reviews
3.7 mi away
Boathouse Bed and Breakfast A Lake Castle Estate on Lake George
1.1 mi away
Flamingo Resort on Lake George
Flamingo Resort on Lake George
#2 of 9 in Diamond Point
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Blue Lagoon Resort
Blue Lagoon Resort
#1 of 5 in Diamond Point
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
1.0 mi away
Treasure Cove Resort
Treasure Cove Resort
#9 of 9 in Diamond Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
2.2 mi away
Golden Sands Resort on Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northward Ho!? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northward Ho!

Property: Northward Ho!
Address: Lake Shore Drive, PO Box 464, Bolton Landing, NY 12814-0464
Region: United States > New York > Bolton Landing
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Bolton Landing
Also Known As:
Northward Ho! Lake George/Bolton Landing, NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing