We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Great relaxing vacation spot"”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bolton Landing
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chelka Lodge on Lake George
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Bolton Landing
Coventry, Rhode Island
2 reviews
“"Great relaxing vacation spot"”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We go every year and have a great time, nice dock for our boat, lots to do at Chelka and in the area. Nice small gradual beach for little ones, grandkids love it and learned to swim and kayak this summer. Light breakfast is just enough and the views are great. Every year we have been bringing friends and family and they always love it. Dave and Judy are always around and helpful. Definitely recommend you stay here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s-m-ponder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adkski, Owner at Chelka Lodge on Lake George, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your review! Dave and I are always happy to see you, your family, and friends and we certainly appreciate the fact that you choose to vacation with us each year. We are so fortunate to have such a beautiful spot on the lake and we enjoy sharing it with all of our guests. We look forward to seeing you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    41
    13
    10
    6
See reviews for
73
87
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Afton, NY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My husband and I stayed for three nights in an upstairs king room...nothing fancy but clean and comfortable. The views of the lake from the room and balcony were beautiful. The bathroom had a tub/shower combo and had recently been redone. There's a mini fridge in the bathroom that we had to plug in when we got there. The AC worked well. It would have been nice to have a flat-screen TV mounted up high on the wall, but the old one on the dresser still worked fine and had lots of channels to watch. Good location and convenient to Lake George and Bolton Landing areas. Parking can be difficult - not many spaces and very close together; happy I have a small car but worried that others would back into it. The breakfast room and servers were nice, the food was good, but we could not eat there one morning because it was so horribly hot in the room so we just left and found an air-conditioned restaurant. We enjoyed meeting Sophie and Heidi. Thank you for a pleasant and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beach_Lover_13730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adkski, Owner at Chelka Lodge on Lake George, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your review. Every guest comment is important to us and helps us to improve our lodge and our services. As to the frig, we apologize-it should have been plugged in and cold. We have addressed that with our staff. Our TVs are in the process of being replaced with flat screens. At this point half of our rooms do have them. With regard to the breakfast room, on the occasional very hot day it can get warm. It is located in an historic early 20th century home without A/C. The four ceiling fans usually are sufficient. We are so sorry that you were uncomfortable that morning. Again, thank you for your comments and suggestions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne, New Jersey
Level Contributor
52 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

First visit to Lake George for my wife and me. Really happy with the accommodations at Chelka Lodge. Originally thought the 'no friends --one car policy' was too restrictive. After spending several days there found it was great . This avoiding overcrowding, and made it almost like a private resort for us. We stayed in the standard lakefront room which had a beautiful view of the lake/sunrise in the morning. Not luxurious, but very comfortable. Lots of relaxing chair space with lots of privacy. (Never found ourselves close to other guests). Boating, lake, basketball... Lots of things to do on the premise. Not far from Lake George Village and good restaurants. Overall, we give it a very high rating.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adkski, Owner at Chelka Lodge on Lake George, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comment regarding our no-visitor policy was accurate. As a small resort with only 25 rooms we want our guests to enjoy all the benefits we offer-canoes, kayaks, paddle boards, etc. as well as beach chairs and lawn space to relax and unwind! As for parking, it is tight, but to add parking space we would have to encroach on our beautiful lawn and beach front. To paraphrase the words of a popular song, we don't want to "pave paradise to put up a parking lot". We love the beauty of the view here and we're glad you did too. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massena, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stay here when we go to Americade the first full week of June. This was our 3rd stay at Chelka Lodge. It is so peaceful, beautiful accommodations and the owners are wonderful people. Our room is always pleasant and clean. Wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lydia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adkski, Owner at Chelka Lodge on Lake George, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for your review! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We love Americade week and our Americade guests. Every year we look forward to seeing our regular guests and our new ones. We hope to see you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Chelka Lodge is beautiful! We stayed for 2 nights during what was still considered the off-season. Since the prices were lower, we opted for one the efficiencies right on the lake. Totally worth it! Eating breakfast in the morning and enjoying an adult beverage in the evening on our private patio was amazing. Keeping the window open and falling asleep the sounds of the lake was divine. Having the option to cook some of our meals in the mini kitchen was a plus.

I can see how this place fills up during the in-season; the private beach is pretty small (though beautiful). But while we were there, we basically had it to ourselves. The kayaks, rowboats, and canoes for use were an added bonus.

The staff was great, from the time I called to the make the reservation to the time we checked out. What I really appreciated was that one of the owners checked us in and gave us lots of useful info about the lodge and the area-- and then left us alone. I felt like we could approach them if we needed something, but they weren't on top of us.

The owners do have 2 dogs and I read some other reviews complaining about that. I get that not everyone is a "dog person". Some people are allergic or afraid! BUT Chelka is very upfront about the dogs on their website and Facebook page. You gotta do some research people! Sophie, the black lab, was super sweet. She's come up to us every now and again but was never a bother. She is adorable!

Overall, Chelka provided a great Lake George experience. I would recommend it-- and return-- in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elle032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adkski, Owner at Chelka Lodge on Lake George, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
We thank you for your review, and Sophie thanks you too! She is a gentle soul who loves our guests. We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay. Chelka Lodge's location on Boon Bay contributes to its beauty and peacefulness as well as the opportunity to provide the rowboats, canoes and kayaks in a calm setting. Dave and I enjoy meeting our guests and giving information and suggestions about the area as well. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Lake George is stunningly beautiful. Almost too picturesque to be true. Sadly this motel isn't the way to see the lake. True, the swimming/canoeing is fun. But the quality of the rooms - from the floor to the doors, the bathroom to the beds - is so poor. I have stayed in equivalent truck stops. Now the view at the truck stops isn't anything you'd consider attractive, unlike Lake George. But in many cases the breakfast was better than Chelka. I mean: who doesn't serve toast for breakfast? I'd happily have made my own. If there had been a pile of bread and a toaster to hand. This would be a one-star review, but the lake bumps it up to two.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adkski, Owner at Chelka Lodge on Lake George, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review Chelka Lodge. I’m glad you enjoyed the views from the hotel and I apologize that you were less than pleased with everything else. We are a family owned and operated resort so updates take longer here than in a chain hotel where they can buy in bulk and change everything at once. While 80% of our rooms have had recent upgrades yours obviously was not one of them. By next season that will be fully remedied. As for your comments on breakfast, we offer a complimentary breakfast for our guests to save them the time and trouble of having to drive to town. I must say, however, that saying our breakfast is not as good as a Truck Stop is not considered a slam as truckers do know the best places to eat and they offer a more expansive selection than we can.

If you do come back to Lake George I hope you have a great time wherever you decide to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Rochelle, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The lodge is located directly on the lake and has a beautiful view of the surrounding area. The rooms are large and freshly renovated with a king size bed, a refrigerator and a beautiful bathroom. The owners, Judy and Dave, are very nice and did everything to make our stay pleasantly memorable. The free coffee, juice and muffins are a nice touch and just another indicator of the owners willingness to make the stay memorable. The owners two elderly golden retrievers are a joy and very sociable. The property is beautifully maintained and there are plenty of outdoor activities made available for everyone to enjoy. We absolutely loved the stay and will return.

Room Tip: We stayed on the upper floor and it was great. No complaints!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oliver M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adkski, Owner at Chelka Lodge on Lake George, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! Letting us know what you especially liked helps us to continually maintain and upgrade our resort. We certainly enjoyed meeting you and having you as our guests. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolton Landing
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
7.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake George
5.3 mi away
Tea Island Resort
Tea Island Resort
#18 of 88 in Lake George
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Sagamore Resort
The Sagamore Resort
#1 of 8 in Bolton Landing
1,535 reviews
2.4 mi away
Blue Lagoon Resort
Blue Lagoon Resort
#1 of 5 in Diamond Point
237 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Lodges at Cresthaven
The Lodges at Cresthaven
#22 of 88 in Lake George
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelka Lodge on Lake George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelka Lodge on Lake George

Property: Chelka Lodge on Lake George
Address: 4204 Lakeshore Drive, Bolton Landing, NY 12824
Region: United States > New York > Bolton Landing
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Bolton Landing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on beautiful Lake George, Chelka Lodge offers spacious motel and efficiency accommodations,and the water's edge is just a few steps from your door. Amenities include free use of rowboats, canoes, and kayaks, basketball, ping pong, and shuffleboard, sandy beach and sand-bottom swimming area. Beautiful lake views from every room. Complimentary light breakfast is served during peak season in our beautifully appointed lodge. AAA rated. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chelka Lodge On Lake George Hotel Bolton Landing
Chelka Lodge On Lake George Bolton Landing, NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing