We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even the dressings!”
Review of Tavern on the Lake

Tavern on the Lake
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Whether you are vacationing at the Blue Water Manor resort or exploring the Lake George region by land or boat, Tavern on the Lake is the place for dining on the lake. Come and enjoy the casual dining atmosphere or get a drink at our bar while being surrounded by exceptional views of Lake George and the Adirondack Mountains. Tavern on the Lake is now offering breakfast in addition to lunch and dinner and our new menu is filled with great appetizers and delicious entrees!
Ellicottville
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Even the dressings!”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Just returned from a trip to Bolton Landing, NY where my family and I stopped in to the beautifully renovated Tavern on the Lake at the Blue Water Manor Resort. The view from the outside deck overlooking the lake is nothing short of spectacular! There was live entertainment and we had a ball! We had stopped in for appetizers and spirits but we knew we had to return again for diner. Several nights later we docked the boat where we found a friendly dock boy who assisted us. We climbed the stairs up to the restaurant and were met again with a friendly manager who gave us the best seat in the house. Our appetizer of the night was the baked brie! By far, the best thing I ever tasted! I dined on the chicken dinner with cornbread stuffing, homemade mashed potatoes, and broccoli. The new owner stopped by our table to check on us and informed my family that everything is homemade...EVEN the salad dressings! Once again, we knew we had to return for breakfast! So the next morning we returned for a fabulous breakfast. We couldn't stay away! We were seated on the deck overlooking beautiful Basin Bay. The new owner told us he has plans to continue remodeling the existing buildings and plans to build a hotel on property. In the mean time, if you are in the area, you must stop in for a drink and a little baked brie, dinner or breakfast! We cannot wait to return!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    30
    6
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, PA, & Lake George NY
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal- Tracy (waitstaff) is a gem!”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

As "Lake People" or "Summer Residents" with a seasonal home on Lake George, we've eaten at just about every area restaurant you can name. Some made us ill and we'd like to forget them, some have great views but crappy food, some are ridiculously expensive for their offerings and some are still trying to ride (and in my opinion, failing) the coat tails of what they "used" to be, a TV spot or simply name recognition. We have our handful of favorites but there is usually a new place or two that pops up every season and we take bets about how long they will stay around.

My clan hopes Tavern on the Lake enjoys a long life and develops a loyal following. The view and atmosphere and view is amazing and the food is great. 3 adult dinners Fish and Chips, Cajun Chicken Alfredo and Ribs - All fairly standard dishes, but easy to destroy and earn low grades - not here. All 3 were thoroughly enjoyed and plates cleaned. 2 kids meals - grilled cheese and chicken fingers. Again, pretty standard fare for kids but mine are picky buggers and the grilled cheese got rave reviews from both kids - my Son said to my Daughter, "You've gotta try this" and actually shared a part of his grilled cheese- and he never shares, anything. The chicken fingers were not so loved by my Daughter, too much pepper in the coating on the chicken fingers she said...I had to agree. All 5 of us loved the texture and crispiness of their french fries but again, both kids and I could have done without the black pepper sprinkled on them...but to each his own, the 2 adult guys liked them just as they were. Portion sizes were spot on. We skipped dessert to save time and beat a thunderstorm but there were several items offered that caught our attention and sounded fantastic.

We would have rather gone by boat but opted for car as one in our party had tried to eat there before but there wasn't enough dock space to accommodate the needs of patrons and after floating/waiting for a spot for 1/2 hour, he decided to go elsewhere.

So the view was great - check. The food was great - check. Prices typical for fare - check. More dock space in future likely will be needed - check.

The service? Check+! Tracy, our waitress, was fantastic. Witty and engaging with the adults, warm and interested with my kids. Almost like a long-time friend was your server...but we had just met at the beginning of the meal - yes, she's THAT good. Sometimes you may feel folks like that are fake, merely charming all during the meal for tip's sake. But meeting Tracy in town (well after our dinner) speaking with her further, remembering all of our names and asking my children more about the sports and activities they had told her they were involved in? Well, that's rare...and deserving of positive public recognition.

Give this new restaurant a try and ask to be seated in Tracy's area...it will be well worth your while. Enjoy!

PS You won't believe the size of the fireplace in the indoor dining/bar area - it is a selfie photo worthy and a "you've gotta see this" spot all by itself.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sevenangels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton Landing, NY
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Kudos to the new owners!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We have been to the recently remodeled Tavern on the Lake for breakfast and also for dinner. The view from the deck which overlooks Basin Bay on Lake George is magnificent! Breakfast was delicious - loved the home fries. Dinner was also great and it was nice to be able to order light fare and enjoy one of the many beers on tap. The new owner, John Kelly, dropped by our table and was friendly and was proud of the work already done and shared his goals for what he hopes to accomplish this coming winter. Congratulations - you are off to a great start and we look forward to many more meals at the Tavern!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rbaqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
2 reviews
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This was our first visit to Blue Water Manor, and we were very impressed. The food was fantastic, the views are spectacular, and it was overall a wonderful atmosphere with live entertainment. A true hidden gem!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tammy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freehold, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“New Owners, Great Lunch!”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My family docked our boat at the newly redone dock at this impressive stone structure built directly on beautiful Lake George. The pleasant deck hand helped us tie up our boat and we climbed up the steps to the newly renovated deck for lunch. We had been here before, but it had been in need of remodeling and the new owners have done a nice job. The lunch menu had a good selection and the staff was attentive and pleasant. The view is wonderful. We had a few burgers which were delicious and done just as ordered, with tasty fries, chips, side salad, or onion rings, and we also had a BLT, and a chicken wrap sandwich. They were all good. It was a very good overall lunch experience and we will go back! The inside bar area is very cool also, as it is an open stone structure with a huge fireplace. They have local entertainment some nights also.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tavern on the Lake also viewed

 

Been to Tavern on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing