We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Contessa is the best kept secret In Bolton Landing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Contessa Lake George Motel & Resort
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Bolton Landing
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We Stayed at the Contessa Resort October of 2013 and impressed. The unit’s amenities we stayed in were as nice as our own home. With marble floors and granite countertops, fashionable furnishings and hardwood interiors, we were trulyimpressed. The views were dramatic at any time of the day and the fresh clean mountain air was very therapeutic. Thank you Contessa Resort and Thank you to Captain Bob

Room Tip: call ahead ...this is a popular resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReeseArcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2014

My friends and I stayed there this past July (we stayed in Unit 11) and we had a great time. Owner Bob was very accommodating and made sure that we had everything that we needed. He went out of his way to make our vacation a positive experience. View of his resort toward the lake and mountains were breathtaking. Rooms were very clean, recently upgraded and service was great. One day we went out on the boat and it was such a relaxing fun time. We planned on returning again this summer. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reggie116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Checked in as planned and had a BEAUTIFUL ROOM! Granite & Marble all around! But outside THE VIEW WAS GORGEOUS!!! A private deck over looking Lake George with our own table to relax. Capitan Bob was very congenial for our boat rental as well. His daughter was also a pleasure. We had an interesting experience though. Apparently about a quarter mile up the lake a fox literately got into one of the neighbors hen house several days prior and these starving chickens were roaming around the lake. Captain Bob informed us he called the owner who said he couldn't catch the chickens and if they were on his property to please dispose of them. The chickens were a load nuisance and were going to the bathroom all over the resort. The housekeeping staff were shooing them away and cleaning up after them all day. Well, this family were feeding the chickens, (they were vegans). Bob asked them not to feed the chickens and they would move on.... No the family fed the chickens and the father went on and on and on with Captain Bob. I give Bob credit, he had patience with the man and his family. The family truly made matters worse. The owner asked Captain Bob if he had a BB gun and if so to please shoot the chickens. Everyone was aware of this, and Bob was polite about it. The chickens were properly disposed of quickly and humanely. The family eventually left, but not before calling the police. When the police came, they couldn't believe the waste of their time. I do hope the family never comes back. This was my 4th trip to the Contessa and we plan to come back Memorial Day. I like and respect Captain Bob, his property, and I am glad he asked the family to leave. They chickens were annoying, and the family made matters worse. Captain Bob did the right thing, and I would have done the same thing. Kudos to Captain Bob!!!! We will be back again and again!!!!

Room Tip: Go on the Web Site. I upgraded ever time and each room gets better and better!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lou T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Let me start with the positive, since I firmly believe in a fair and honest review. The rooms were clean and recently upgraded. The view toward the water was spectacular. The pool was clean and showed no signs of wear. You can walk to Bolton Landing from the resort. These are the kinds of things we look for and EXPECT in a vacation resort. What I don’t look for is a feeling of fear and anxiety, which was omnipresent at the Contessa…in the form of the owner, Bob. The details follow.

We booked a three-night stay, with a large family group, for 22-24 August. Frankly, were surprised to secure three units at the same resort just a few weeks before the weekend. There’s a reason why the Contessa Resort, located in a prime location right on the lake, has numerous vacancies (several units were empty) during a prime rental weekend in the summer. The reason is the owner, “ Captain Bob,” as he is self-titled. His angry, explosive personality gave the resort a sick, nervous vibe, where any interaction with “El Capitan” might go south. How far south? The possibilities are endless, and as my family discovered, LIMITLESS.

On numerous occasions, we witnessed Bob berate, insult or yell at people around the resort. He relentlessly berated his daughter, which made us feel really uncomfortable. Kind of like watching an abusive parent smacking their child around in the grocery store, except Bob’s daughter is an adult. Up until our last night at the resort, we only witnessed other guests and boat renters being abused. For our last night, Bob pulled out the red carpet and treated my family to the most horrifying, abusive several minutes of our lives. Here’s what happened.

While eating dinner on the deck, Bob zooms up in his golf cart and asks us “have you seen the chickens?” Four chickens have wandered the resort since we arrived, entertaining the kids (my daughter named the chickens and liked following them around). My wife replied “No. Why?” Bob replies, in front of my children, “because I’m gonna shoot’em,” and drives off. My daughter starts crying (10 year old) and my son is wide eyed (13). Bob had a rifle in the golf cart. Vacation Fun!

Five minutes later, my daughter excuses herself from dinner and runs across to the playground. She’s there for a few minutes before she starts screaming and runs back to the deck. She reports that “the guy is walking around aiming a rifle.” Now we have Bob hunting chickens amidst the rental units at dusk, while we are trying to enjoy a family dinner. Just then, the chickens scurry out from behind our deck and decide to stand around between our unit and another, less than ten feet from the deck. I hear Bob’s cart approaching, and decide to ask Bob if he would consider postponing the chicken massacre until 1.) We finish dinner (we are on vacation after all) 2.) I can remove my children from the scene so they do not witness the shooting. 3.) So Bob doesn’t accidently shoot one of US! I have no idea at this point what Bob is using to shoot the chickens, nor do I have a grasp on his capability to handle a firearm safely among people.

I head up the hill to talk to Bob, and VERY nicely ask him if he could do this at some other time. I explain that we are having dinner and that my kids and wife are extremely upset that he is shooting the chickens. I literally begged him not to continue right now. His words: “You’re wasting your breath. Nothing you say is gonna make a difference.” I continued to plead with him, and he became belligerent. Bob doesn’t like his “authority” challenged or his actions questioned AT ALL. Now I’m getting worried, because I have an irrational lunatic approaching my family with a gun. I examined the rifle and determined that it was either a .22LR or a .177 pellet gun. As ex-military, I have vast experience with firearms. When I ask him about the rifle, he tells me it is a pellet gun and that it’s perfectly legal. “Go ahead and call the cops. It’s all legal,” he says. He’s completely missing the point that we are on vacation, trying to enjoy dinner as a family…and that his actions are completely inconsistent with the concept of a PAID VACATION at a RESORT.

Bob drives down the road and parks in front of the deck. My family is in hysterics. With Captain Bob bearing down on my family (he was enraged and heated up at this point), I demanded that he stop. He tells me “say another word and I’ll F#$!ing kick you out of here.” He screamed at my wife at this point (while brandishing the gun), telling her to “get your kids out of here!” Apparently, they were disturbing his concentration. That’s not a joke. He was not one bit concerned with the kids witnessing the chicken massacre…they were making it difficult for him to shoot the chickens! Bam! He shot one of the chickens (less than 10 feet from the deck), which took off and hid under the deck, spraying feathers everywhere and squawking until it died several minutes later. My daughter refused to leave the suite for at least 30 minutes, because she could hear the chicken dying. We had some heated words at that point and I called 911. The barrel of his gun crossed the plane of my body several times while he was out of the cart, stalking the grounds around the deck. He was too “riled up” to take notice. Ever have a gun pointed in your direction while staying at a resort? Part of the Contessa experience!

What you have to ask yourself before committing your family to three, maybe seven days at Bob’s resort, is “do you feel lucky?” I would never in a million years have guessed that my vacation would come to a violent, angry end, in which we all felt threatened and unsafe. Luckily, this was our final night. Do you want to risk your rare relaxation time on Bob’s unpredictable behavior? Do you even want to witness it as a casual observer? There are several dozen resorts along the waterfront to choose from. Why take a chance with Captain Bob.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
27  Thank Skmaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Contessaresort, Owner at Contessa Lake George Motel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

I would like to start by saying that SK Maine has some very valid points in his story. For example our rooms are impeccably clean and recently upgraded, with a view toward Lake George that is spectacular. The pool is immaculately clean and shows no sign of wear, that's where the truth ends and the lies begin.
Let's address Mr. Maine's allegations one at a time. First he makes the comment, " there's is a reason why the Contessa Resort located in a prime location right on the lake has numerous vacancies during a prime rental weekend of the summer" Our occupancy for the entire month of August 2013 was 98%.
Here are some things Mr. Maine neglected to state in his review of the resort.

1. He neglected to state that his entire family are VEGANS. There is nothing wrong with being a vegan or vegetarian, however you shouldn't force your opinion on other people.
2. After calling 911 the state police officer determined we were within the full compliance of the law and that Mr. Maine should go back inside his cottage.
3. The chickens in question were deemed nuisance animals, ordered to be destroyed by the town. We telephoned the owner of the chickens who lives 800 feet from the property who told us he couldn't catch them and to destroy them if we could. SK Maine family had been feeding them.
4. We had received numerous complaints from other guests about chicken feces on the ground and on the decks of their units.
5. Chicken feces are a health hazard to all guests, they carry parasites which lead to swimmers itch, bird influenza, and other diseases that can harm people.
6. It's difficult to believe that someone who's ex-military has difficulty distinguishing between a rim fire firearm and a child's pellet gun. He also claimed "He had been in combat zones and I was doing something worse then anything he had ever witnessed in combat".
7. Lastly but not least family members from the other two units his party rented came to me the next morning and apologized for his actions, stating they had encountered similar actions.

The most disturbing thing that Mr. SK Maine wrote was in reference to my relationship with my 24 year old daughter claiming I "belittled her and smacked her around the store" THIS IS A BLATANT LIE and an outrageous attempt to make me look bad. Anyone who knows me can attest that I'm a good and loving father. Not only do we have a professional working relationship, we also go to family gatherings and family vacations together.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We have stayed at Bobs resort many times. At the time we were in need of a place to stay with a dog. We discussed this with him prior to arrival. Yes, we paid additional. We stayed with the dog. The place was Clean and orderly. As for Bob. He has a way about him. So what! He is fun and respectful. Our time with him has been both enjoyable and fair. I hate it when people have personality conflicts or isolated incidents. Then post one side of a story. Although our needs have changed. We would stay there again if needed. We do send our friends. Leona Helmsley had a reputation of being a xxxxx but she ran the best hotels in the city! They were spotless and meticulous and I'd stay there again too!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dazisa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I stayed with my family at the Contessa Resort during a recent leaf-peeping trip to Lake George. The first issue I absolutely have to address is the bad rap that Bob got from other reviewers, here on Tripadvisor. Although I did not rent a boat, in all of my experiences with Bob, he was nothing but very courteous and professional toward me. Dare I say he’s a nice guy?? With that said, the Contessa Resort is in an AMAZING location. About 10-15 minutes outside from the town of Lake George in the much quieter town of Bolton Landing, the entire resort has a gorgeous view of Lake George and the surrounding area. As a matter of fact, right outside our bedroom was the balcony, with the view of Lake George beyond that. Sunrise over the mountains in the morning, and more stars than you've ever seen at night! We stayed in what Bob called a “cabin”. That was the only minor disappointment of the resort…. None of the “cabins” as far as I could tell were free standing. When looking for a place to stay, because we were traveling with a baby, we opted for a cabin, so as to not bother other patrons of the resort. It turns out, that our “cabin” was actually one of four connecting units, as I would call them. I’m not complaining mind you, since I was the one with the crying baby in the middle of the night. It was just my ASSUMPTION that the cabins were free-standing, so I can’t fault Bob for being misleading, since I never actually asked him if the “cabins” were connected. The unit we stayed in however was absolutely GORGEOUS. It was very clean, very spacious, and it looked like it was very recently remodeled… beautiful floors, walls, and counter-tops throughout. We were on the 2nd floor of the connecting units, so again, we had an absolutely GORGEOUS view of the Lake. When I return to the area, I will DEFINITELY be staying at the Contessa Resort again.

Room Tip: We stayed in "cabin" # 10. There were four connecting "cabins". Two on top and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zuzanecka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

I have stayed at Contessa several times and can honestly say that it improves every year. The views are second to none. The owner, Bob always makes sure that you have what you need and are having a good time. This trip, Bob was standing on a ladder adjusting the outdoor lighting timer for us, despite the fact that he was scheduled to undergo knee surgery a couple of days later. The resort is great and the prices are very reasonable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolton Landing
1.9 mi away
Bonnie View on Lake George
Bonnie View on Lake George
#1 of 8 in Bolton Landing
236 reviews
9.2 mi away
Tea Island Resort
Tea Island Resort
#5 of 89 in Lake George
223 reviews
10.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Ticonderoga Inn & Suites
10.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
0.9 mi away
The Sagamore Resort
The Sagamore Resort
#2 of 8 in Bolton Landing
1,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Contessa Lake George Motel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Contessa Lake George Motel & Resort

Address: 5102 Lake Shore Dr, Bolton Landing, NY 12814
Region: United States > New York > Bolton Landing
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Bolton Landing
Price Range: £76 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Contessa Lake George Motel & Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Contessa Lake George Motel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Contessa Lake George Motel And Resort
Contessa Lake George Hotel Bolton Landing
Contessa Lake George Motel & Resort Bolton Landing, NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing