We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Came for cocktails and the view, but didn't stay at the hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Sagamore Resort
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Bolton Landing
Certificate of Excellence
Parkesburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
213 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Came for cocktails and the view, but didn't stay at the hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

Came here for cocktails and the view over the Thanksgiving day holiday. It is such a beautiful and historic hotel. The energy was electric - they were having a ginger bread house making class somewhere in the hotel and everyone was walking around with smiles carrying boxes with their projects.

We sat in the bar and just enjoyed the view of the lake. They have wood burning fireplaces and need to work on their air circulation or damper flow as it was quite visibly smokey (to the point where my eyes eventually began to burn), but that was fine as we were able to be motivated to walk around the grounds - also lovely. We ordered the artichoke and flatbread appetizer which was completely awful. Too runny and huge chunks of artichokes made it difficult to smear on the crispy flatbread and then make it to your mouth without dribbling.

But people brought games to their tables, enjoyed good drinks, good views and seemed to have good times!

Room Tip: This may be a given, but be sure to get a room with a solid view of the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    652
    355
    222
    169
    112
See reviews for
536
543
20
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (456)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alpine, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

What a classic Americana Historic Family Resort. We brought our entire family to what we believe now will become a Family Tradition. The moment you pull into the circular driveway you know this rare gem of a resort is filled with Authentic American history. In order to accommodate our entire family we decided to stay in the hotel's condo. What we learned is that some of the condo's are privately owned... the one we stayed in was completely renovated. Unlike the hotel rooms which are rather small-the condo's give you the feeling you could stay all summer! The hotel has several restaurants on property-all good but get the chance to head off property and enjoy some some local cuisine and cute shopping-particularly "Happy Jacks". The staff is friendly-and the spa is totally relaxing-just make sure to book treatments early because time slots fill up. The kids had a ball their REC center-which gave us a break to enjoy some grown-up time. I included some pics of the condo we stayed in(6B6) so you can see what you are getting first hand-Remember if you are staying at a condo make sure you know what you are booking! Enjoy your trip & hope this review helped!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JohnsTrueReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed at the Sagamore in October. The staff were extremely up knowledgable about the hotel amenities, hotel restaurant availability and what was included in the package. The rooms are a high quality with beautiful views. The suite was cozy with a working fireplace, comfortable, clean and quiet. The kitchen could have better stocked...bring your own wine opener because you won't find one in the room which is our only complaint. Overall, I would stay again, but do your homework ahead of time because the staff cannot help you even with the in-house amenities. Also check your credit card charge in advance as the rates posted on the website are inaccurate. Be sure to take a screen shot to prove the price quote.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Betsey428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Our visit started with my daughter looking at the Bolton Landing area and saying that the place is 'stupid gorgeous.' Our dinner and breakfast the following morning were fabulous and an included boat tour of the lake was beautiful. The suite was fine for three people.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utica, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Driving north on Lake Shore Road, with wonderful glimpses of beautiful Lake George, you would not think you're headed for one of the best resorts in the Northeast (and beyond).... but you are! When you arrive, you will know instantly that you are in a very special place. The lobby hints at this, but when you walk down the steps to the lake, pool, restaurants and relaxing areas, you quickly realize that this is where "heaven & earth" come together into one seamless & wonderful experience. Lake George is the main attraction, but only the Sagamore can improve on what nature has already done to perfection, matching it with their own! You'll spend some money here, and you'll not regret it, in fact, you may even like it! Don't miss it! Go there!

Room Tip: A room with a view of Lake George and/or the main grounds at the rear of the property (facing East...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sofdlj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

This past weekend my wife and I had a great and relaxing weekend at this wonderful hotel. We came up and it was the perfect escape, the staff was friendly and the meals where fantastic, while most of the hotel was closed for the season we did find it very charming.

The room was a great size and the view of the lake was great. Only thing I would recommend is investing in HD cable.

We can not wait to go back in the future with our family!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JonGoldberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

If I were to rate this place on the grounds alone and the ambience it would have rated 5 out of 5. Then you factor in the rooms (it was kinda musty and small) at a high dollar rate in the 400 range, and you get yourself a 3/5. The staff, service, food, drinks, and amenities were AMAZING. Maybe my room wasn't a suite? Though this historical dated hotel is in need of some room renovations. For the price of the room, I expected more. Though the overall experience with that stuff aside, it was well worth it. My other complaint, the bar closes at 10 by the water. LAME! That is a cash cow in itself and they shut down at dusk...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VAPourhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolton Landing
10.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
9.9 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
9.5 mi away
Courtyard Lake George
Courtyard Lake George
#5 of 88 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake George
7.7 mi away
The Lodges at Cresthaven
The Lodges at Cresthaven
#25 of 88 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.3 mi away
Boathouse Bed and Breakfast A Lake Castle Estate on Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sagamore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sagamore Resort

Property: The Sagamore Resort
Address: 110 Sagamore Rd, Bolton Landing, NY 12814-7735
Region: United States > New York > Bolton Landing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Bolton Landing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sagamore Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Sagamore Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sagamore Hotel Bolton Landing
Sagamore Hotel Bolton Landing
Sagamore Bolton Landing
The Sagamore Resort Lake George/Bolton Landing, NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing