We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Bridgehampton Inn & Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2012

I spent a weekend at this Inn and I can honestly say it is not worth spending $400 a night on this place. I understand that during the high season, there are more people than rooms available and so they charge what they do because they can, but that doesn't make paying the bill after a weekend there any less hard to swallow. The rooms are an okay size, but with double beds they don't comfortably sleep two. The breakfast is good, but for what they charge it should be. The service, when there was some was also good. When I arrived in the middle of the afternoon, the door was locked so I rang the bell... no answer. I called the phone... no answer. Not a great way to start off the stay after traveling a few hours to get there. On my last morning before check-out, I arrived back to my room to find a tip envelope on a table. In all my years of extensive travel around the world, this has never happened to me. To charge ridiculously high rates is one thing, but to to so and then obligate your guests to tip the staff in such an in your face way is beyond tacky. I had planned on leaving something anyway, but really resented this. The rooms are charmingly decorated and clean, but the tip envelope just annoyed me to the point that I won't be going back. It's just tacky... and for $400 a night for a small, non-luxury room it is insulting.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mls1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2011

My husband and I were visiting from Australia, and although based in Manhasset, had previously planned to take a 2 night stay in Bridgehampton.
We were so pleased we chose the Bridgehampton Inn, for a number of reasons. Cerene could not have been more helpful, and our room was lovely not to mention comfortable. The bed was like sleeping on a cloud! Breakfast both mornings was delightful.
Location was critical as we did not have a vehicle, and we had an easy walk to the restaurants.
We also took a day trip to Sag Harbor and picking up a bus was no problem at all.
Slightly on the pricey side but it is The Hamptons! Highly recommended for couples.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank PamelaOs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2010

My mom and I stayed here for a night and had the best time!! The Inn is perfectly located right on the Main street so that we could walk to the shops, dinner, and a cute little wine bar. Our room was adorable and spotlessly clean! The bathroom was nice and seemed newly renovated.We slept well and found the Inn to be very quiet and peaceful. Breakfast in the morning was amazing - WARM muffins and scones, eggs, ham, coffee - lovely! I would definitely go back to Bridgehampton Inn and would recommend it to others!

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelbug24NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2010

When you go ask for room three it is on the front so if light sleeper you will need onein the back . The room have a fire place in it and very large bath. Cerene is there allthe time she will make shore you are happy at all time , her breakfast is out of this world try her french toast it is to die for . If you have time try one of the cooking class

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank justhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2010

The traffic outside never stops (especially trucks).
The bed in their "best" room had for matress only ...the boxspring. Very hard to sleep on.
However theplace was clean.
The grounds were pretty but badly needed upkeep.
The breakfast was the best part.
The receptionist was very helpful, but the owners had better things to do. Their focus is on their retail store.
Too expensive for the noise and the matress

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank evangelins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bridgehampton, Manager at The Bridgehampton Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2010

In keeping with our mission of providing impeccable accommodations and attentive service, we make every effort to quickly respond to our guests' needs. Furthermore, we appreciate guest feedback regarding anything we can do to improve their experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2009

enjoyedd tremendously , very welcoming and fabuloues breakfast . The room was very clean . My children put it best the best place every

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank summertime_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2009

The Bridgehampton Inn may have been at its peak several years ago when most of the reviews that you will find online were written. This inn (a generous description - I would go with small B&B) now seems shabby. The whole house smells musty. Often, there is no one at the front desk (we couldn't find anyone to check us out even though we were there right at check out time). The so-called gourmet breakfast was served with stale toast and was just plain eggs with nothing special about them. Our room was a good size, but certainly not worth what we paid for it. The pillows were cheap foam (not down), the mattress was uncomfortable and the sheets were clearly inexpensive. While there was a TV, I was surprised that it was not a flat screen and was an old and tiny tube TV. The bathroom did have a nice rainfall showerhead, but the shower enclosure looked cheap and it was filled with ceramic tile. The towels with scratchy and thin. Lastly, I saw a number of bugs crawling around the bathroom. Not what one would expect at a $400+ a night inn!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank aes37_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridgehampton
4.5 mi away
Baron's Cove
Baron's Cove
#1 of 5 in Sag Harbor
257 reviews
0.5 mi away
Topping Rose House
Topping Rose House
#1 of 1 in Bridgehampton
121 reviews
5.7 mi away
Southampton Inn
Southampton Inn
#3 of 8 in Southampton
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Montauk Manor
Montauk Manor
#10 of 39 in Montauk
527 reviews
3.1 mi away
380 Inn
380 Inn
#1 of 2 in Wainscott
42 reviews
6.4 mi away
The 1770 House
The 1770 House
#4 of 11 in East Hampton
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bridgehampton Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bridgehampton Inn & Restaurant

Address: 2266 Montauk Hwy, Bridgehampton, NY 11932-4001
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Bridgehampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bridgehampton
Price Range: £139 - £457 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bridgehampton Inn & Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bridgehampton Inn is co-owned and operated by Sybille van Kempen and Anna Pump of the Hamptons-revered Loaves & Fishes Food Store and Loaves & Fishes Cookshop. Yet as Anna would say, "The restaurant is Sybille's baby." The last 10+ years of the Bridgehampton Inn offered a flourishing recreational and professional level cooking school, on-and-off-premise catering, coupled with traditional inn accommodations. For what's felt like a long time coming, the fine dining restaurant has transformed this space into the newly renamed Bridgehampton Inn & Restaurant. The Inn is currently undergoing a second renovation, which will realize the addition of more rooms and a variety store to our already plentiful grounds in the spring of 2015 -- room booking begins May 1st! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your The Bridgehampton Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridgehampton Hotel Bridgehampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing