We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best spots for children on the East End” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of South Fork Natural History Museum

South Fork Natural History Museum
Attraction details
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One of the best spots for children on the East End”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

We have been coming here for years and my boys never tire of the visits. (11,10,8) It is a wonderful center and the staff is super friendly and challenges the kids to explore. Although it seems small, there is so much for the kids to do. Very hands on. The touch tank is better than than ones at all of the large aquariums we have visited!

Helpful?
Thank beth f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    0
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bridgehampton, NY
Level Contributor
91 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great for children”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Our granddaughter is coming again this weekend. One request, "Can we go back to the Nature museum?" Great and engaging staff.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LSDArt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
236 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“A fabulous place to take children interested in learning about nature.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Great exhibits, very educational, local animals you don't see elsewhere. For example, tiger salamanders. Behind is a field where woodcocks and meadowlarks nest in a natural meadow. Very special for those who are interested.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ScoopTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky Point, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Amazing Museum with fantastic informative staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

All of the staff were so kind, enthusiastic and informative. They explained that the land is protected as natural pools formed after they were left behind from glacier activity. They were so kind with my one and a half year and let him touch a star fish in the touch pool. My son loved runnning around on the trails and it's definately a place I'd go back to. You can tell the staff have a passion for what they do.


Tip: Some libraries offer free museum passes which may include this museum.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank calphurnia7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgehampton, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“South Fork Natural History Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

This is a wonderful destination for the entire family.
The South Fork Natural History Museum provides interesting activity for young people to discover the nature of the Eastern end of Long Island.
There are educators available for visiting school groups, touch tanks for young attendees, field trips, nature walks, bird watching events, dioramas, and group activities available.
The gift shop can not be beat with books, t-shirts, bags, jewelry, charming house gifts, and even bug spray and tick repellent.
If given the opportunity it is a delightful way to spend the afternoon with the family.
This is a life saver when the grandchildren are visiting and it is raining.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank KimberlyGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed South Fork Natural History Museum also viewed

 

Been to South Fork Natural History Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing