We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Seafood Restaurant On the Island,Period.-Francisco”

City Island Lobster House
Ranked #4 of 1,219 Restaurants in Bronx
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$100
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, View
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Seafood Restaurant On the Island,Period.-Francisco”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

First of all the owner JoJo is a very generous, and a true gentleman. The service, and food are exceptional. There bread serving includes the freshest blueberry bread along with regular bread very fresh. There meats, chicken, and seafood are cooked to perfection, and taste fresh. You must taste there rice side dish, no where in City Island or the "Nautical Mile" restaurants in Long Island can you savor a rice dish like this. Their "Specials" are unbelievable
ending with outstanding coffee, and desert. The Bar service rivals any place in Manhatten in quality, and creativity.
Don't forget to turn left as soon as you cross the bridge, and you will have the "Seafood" experience of your life at decent prices!!, HONESTLY!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank frankfbronx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    80
    34
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent City Island Fare”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

I have been to the Lobster House several times and I truly enjoy it and look forward to going back. The food is terrific and plentiful. I enjoy the marinated olives, mushrooms and red pepper platter as well as the complimentary bread. I have had different lobster dishes that were excellent and flavorful as well as a good size. My companions on my different trips have had the prime rib and rack of ribs, which they stated where delicious. The linguine option with the meal is a must because the Lobster House's white sauce (it's garlic) is wonderful, not too buttery or salty, so that you get the taste of both the garlic and the pasta. I highly recommend the Lobster House and will definitely be returning.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelinandlovingit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
75 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent Sea Food”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Love going here for seafood. you get a complimentary plate of marinated olives. cheese and Italian bread which is delicious. If you're in the mood for a little of almost everything, try Lobster House Ultimate Feast For Two $72.95
Plenty of succulent lobster, jumbo shrimp, scallops, clams, mussels, scungilli and calamari with your choice of red or white sauce over a bed of fresh imported linguine. you will still have some left over to take home.

I recommend that your first visit is not on a special holiday. The wait might be long for your drinks and meal. I try to visit on a regular weekends and I always leave happy and very satisfied with my meal and service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jannette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roslyn, new york
Level Contributor
120 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“City Island says it all.”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I have been going to this restaurant for years and years. It is a dinner vacation. The island and water view is worth the trip. The prices are reasonable and they do give you alot of food.
The food is good. We had lobster, broiled fish, fried fish and all were good.
Quintessential City Island experience.

The downsides...They do not have a hostess station and, although we always have a reservation, it is not a smooth welcome. The decor is a little tired and the waitstaff were good enough, but seemed unhappy and harried. None of this takes away from the experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank speak2me2k2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhasset, New York, USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great lobster restaurant by boat!!”
Reviewed 23 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Great meal and hosts.
Treated children very nicely.
Nice deck to eat overlooking the dock.
Prices very, very reasonable

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tanzer22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed City Island Lobster House also viewed

 

Been to City Island Lobster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing