We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK”
Review of Sheridan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheridan Hotel
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Bronx
Florence, MA
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We wanted to find someplace to stay near Yankee Stadium. It was not easy to find. Thank goodness for GPS. When we found the address there was nothing to indicate that the building was a hotel; no sign of any sort. There was one over the front door but that was not visable until you pulled into the lot. The person at the desk was fine. We went to our non smoking room and the hallway reeked of smoke. The beds were hard as rocks. The room and bath were clean, thank goodness. The price was included breakfast (we paid 100. plus the 19. NYC fees) which was OK, It was fine for one night, but I don't plan to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hamphoops12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    22
    17
    12
    54
See reviews for
34
26
18
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

I am the type of person who reads and reads about a hotel before staying especially when you have a family. We wanted to stay in the Bronx as we spend most of our stay there. It wasnt much of a choice of hotels. There was myself, husband and my 4 year old daughter.

We arrived at 1:30am and were a little worried about the area it looked scary and loud. The hotel is located on the Expressway. It was very easy to find as long as you have a GPS ( but thats like anything in NYC) There was plenty of free parking and it was well lit up. There was no drug dealers and no prostitues anywhere near the hotel.

I was greeted by the friendly front end clerk with a hello and a fast check in. There is a elevator which worked as we were located on the 2nd floor. We were in room #212 which had a king size bed, fridge, microwave and tv. They had direct tv for your convience that worked and didnt have to pay extra, they also have a good wifi connection free of charge for your convience. The room was a little small but was good for our size family. It was facing towards the train and we did not hear any noise from the train or the Xpresway.

The washroom was clean, well maintained, the bed was comfortable, and the pillows were nice. There were no bugs, no bedbugs, or any rodents.

There is a free breakfast, that smelled great I believe waffles were being served, but we are from Canada and really wanted to eat IHOP (lol) They have vending machine, but couldnt find the ice machine but tbh I didnt realy look.

There isnt much late night dining or anything in walking distance, but when we had a popped tire we went downstairs and asked where we should order some food from. The gave us some menu's and we ordered Papa John's, which was fast and good especially for the price.

Checkout was quick and easy.

The only thing that was a problem, is that down the hall there were some people that were smoking in their room ( we are smokers) but it bothered us as the smell was coming into the room.

Besides that people were friendly, I like going to the Bronx, I would and will stay there again, was very happy with their service and would recommend them. Dont bother paying the high price hotels that charge you for parking if your planning on spending most of your time in The Bronx.

I give this a 4 star rating, for the price, location, extras, maybe not for the look, or classiness but for everything else.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LoriS1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nykoping, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Booked a room thro expedia in this hotel. But when i arrived there, the front desk person told the room is not available. No explanations nothing. He just left.. Extremely poor attitude...

Anyone should stay from this hotel

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Krishna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

I stay at the Bronx Inn with my honey for our romantic weekend getaways. The room is clean and fully updated with all the amendities and there is free breakfast! It is close enough to the city so we usually take the 6 train downtown and enjoy the nightlife, then come back to the cozy room and snuggle. I would recommend this hotel. Great rates and a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chocolate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

This Hotel was better than I expected, and for the price and quality it was a good bargain. The Hotel is relatively clean and it comes with all of the standards of a hotel. There was a flat screen TV with cable access, free wifi and your basic closet, table, lighting etc. The only issue I had was with the bathroom and availability of food after hours. At night the food options are limited but they do offer free breakfast which I think is nice as they have a lot of choices in that. Overall I would stay here for convenience but not for luxury.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissSophisticate73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynchburg, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

A few friends and I recently spent a week in New York City, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Best Western Bronx Inn. I will admit that, after reading some of these reviews, I was a little skeptical of the room cleanliness and the area in which the hotel was located, but, honestly, we had absolutely no trouble at all. While the Bronx isn't the most tourist-friendly area (in terms of the locals), the subway was a mere two blocks away, and the walk to and from, even at night, was not sketchy at all. No one gave us any trouble. The service at the hotel was completely satisfactory. Ten of us split two rooms (which were a tad bit small - not a whole lot of space with two queen beds in there - but perfectly clean) and had no complaints whatsoever regarding the hotel. While it is more convenient to stay in Manhattan where most of the tourist attractions are, hotels there are ridiculously expensive, and you definitely get your money's worth with the Best Western Bronx Inn. The subway commute to Times Square was about 30 minutes, but it was definitely worth it considering how much money we saved by staying in the Bronx.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZMariner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Location is terrible. Hard to reach. Between two warehouses. On service road of Sheridan Expressway. Google map, most navigation system take you to wrong address.
Found cockroach, spiderweb in bathroom
Rooms are smelly, bedsheets are not chaged, got bugbites all over hand and legs so wear full sleeve clothes and beware.
Gap below door is big, walls are shallow so you hear next door hooker-rented room noisy
Rude and irresponsive management,
Stay away, run away or go to Manhattan or Yonkers

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank mikeusaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bronx hotels
2.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn Bronx Zoo
Rodeway Inn Bronx Zoo
#6 of 14 in Bronx
65 reviews
2.0 mi away
Opera House Hotel
Opera House Hotel
#2 of 14 in Bronx
618 reviews
0.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn Bronx
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites near Stadium
2.5 mi away
Residence Inn By Marriott New York The Bronx at Metro Center Atrium
1.5 mi away
Days Inn Bronx Near Stadium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheridan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheridan Hotel

Property: Sheridan Hotel
Address: 1440 Sheridan Expy, Bronx, NY 10459-2106 (Formerly Bronx Inn)
Region: United States > New York > Bronx
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Bronx
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Sheridan Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming, eye-catching, new 4-stoy building perched along the Bronx River in quiet neighbourhood of the Bronx, the Sheridan Hotel offers a truly unique experience and environment. You will feel welcome the moment you arrive. Parking is always free, a rarity for New York City hotels. The hotel is simple yet elegant, with front desk agents who will make you feel right at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sheridan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing