We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Amenities”
Review of Sheridan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sheridan Hotel
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Bronx
Lawrence, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No Amenities”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

I feel the room was overpriced for the quality I recieved. There was no alarm clock. No hot water in the AM. Basically no items in the vending machine. No towels in room when checked in. Price of room should be $70

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 86Giovanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    22
    16
    11
    53
See reviews for
33
26
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brazil
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I had to write this review because -even a year after staying at The Sheridan Hotel- I still have good memories of it, and I wanted to counteract what the other reviewers have been saying. What I find about negative hotel reviews is that they are typically exaggerated and that the problem is mostly the guests and how they expect too much from it, and indeed from life in general.

I am a doctor from Ireland and I completed my doctoral studies in breast cancer. I stayed at The Sheridan because it was in a good intermediate zone between Albert Einstein College of Medicine (East Bronx) and Manhattan. I actually thought that the hotel was better than I had expected and I had no issues whatsoever. The guy at the desk was A.OK - I even arrived there from JFK Airport well after midnight.

I never left valuables in the room, but I wouldn't even do that at a 5-star hotel. How stupid can anyone be to leave valuables like an iPad in any hotel? You're too naive (this directed at one previous reviewer). The breakfast was perfect and the coffee especially was great. Being Irish, I have very white skin and I got some second looks, but I'm an easy going chap and keep to myself - I have no need to be in anyone's face.

I would stay here again if I had to return to The Bronx.

Room Tip: A big tip for any traveler staying anywhere: Get out of your ivory tower some more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blighe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
150 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

It was horrible experience. No buffet and rude staff. They didn't clean the room and never make my orders when I ask to bring something. There was a poor and sometimes no internet and when I called to ask about that the front desk operator got upset and yielded at me then eventually hung up on me even though I was polite to him. I don't recommend this hotel to anyone whatsoever. It is a horrible experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mohammed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

we stayed here on the 21st oct 2013 and had booked to stay for 5 nights. all the positive reviews from the hotel must be totally false because the hotel was absolutely filthy, the carpet in the hallways, the dirt of the lift, the smell of hash, it just could not have been any worse. the room itself had wire wool placed in all corners to prevent mice and insects from getting in, and we were on the fourth floor! there were cigarette burns on the bedclothes and we were afraid to put a bare foot an the carpet as it was so dirty. we left the next day and would not recommend anybody even to take a chance on this dump, even the breakfast was all paper cups and plates etc in a filthy room. if this place was in ireland it would be closed down immediately. it is not in a good area either so even venturing outside at night was an option!

Room Tip: rooms are filthy and i mean filthy, couldn't believe how bad
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank karlbrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York
1 review
Reviewed 9 November 2013

I have stayed here 4+ times when visiting the city...All the staff have been extremely nice and helpful, and the rooms were nice given the price. The location is in what seems to be a good part of town, easy to hop on the highway. I will continue to stay here when I visit. And would recommend this hotel to other singles/couples coming into the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

I am not one to write reviews but the experience I just had at this hotel was so terrible! I booked this hotel for 3 nights. When we entered our room the bed wasn't really made, the pillows were thrown across the second bed and there were no pillow cases. The bathroom did not smell good either. Our flight got in so late so we decided to stay that night. During the night my mom saw a rat and we notified the hotel of that. All they did was bring a maintenance guy to put in a mouse trap! No one even offered to switch rooms for us. The carpet was old and soiled, you could smell weed and the wifi barely worked. The vending machine was practically empty. We decided to check out of the hotel because we had a baby with us and when we told the people at the front desk they said they would not refund for the 3 night we did not want to stay. The people were extremely rude. The manger came and basically brushed us off. After a heated exchange they finally gave us the money and were extremely rude about it. These people don't know a thing about customer service. We weren't the only ones that had issues with them. Book at your own risk!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Afia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waldorf, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We arrived to the hotel, 3 hours early. The front desk manager, Zee, was helpful. He let us check in early, won't NO extra fee. We were able to get settled in and off to city the city early. No complaints here; room was clean and the rest of the staff was helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cmcphers4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bronx hotels
2.0 mi away
Opera House Hotel
Opera House Hotel
#2 of 14 in Bronx
599 reviews
2.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn Bronx Zoo
Rodeway Inn Bronx Zoo
#7 of 14 in Bronx
64 reviews
0.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn Bronx
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Residence Inn By Marriott New York The Bronx at Metro Center Atrium
1.8 mi away
Umbrella Hotel
Umbrella Hotel
#8 of 14 in Bronx
15 reviews
1.5 mi away
Days Inn Bronx Near Stadium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheridan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheridan Hotel

Property: Sheridan Hotel
Address: 1440 Sheridan Expy, Bronx, NY 10459-2106 (Formerly Bronx Inn)
Region: United States > New York > Bronx
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Bronx
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Sheridan Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming, eye-catching, new 4-stoy building perched along the Bronx River in quiet neighbourhood of the Bronx, the Sheridan Hotel offers a truly unique experience and environment. You will feel welcome the moment you arrive. Parking is always free, a rarity for New York City hotels. The hotel is simple yet elegant, with front desk agents who will make you feel right at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sheridan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing