We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My health is first” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheridan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sheridan Hotel
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Bronx
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My health is first”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

I have stayed often because of price but now it isn't worth it. It used to be decent but now they have room service workers who harrass guests to get tips or so they can clean the room and end their day early. They do not know courtesy at all. Constantly banging on doors and talking loudly in the hall like its a hang out. I stayed one night and wasn't even told they were changing carpets on our floor. My husband and son became ill because of this health hazard. They are asthmatic. The price increased but the service has decreased. Maintenance stalk females as they go in and out. Cleaning staff act like they do not know english when confronted with issues with noise. I'm disappointed. This place used to be decent but has became a skanky motel.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fam1st3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    22
    16
    11
    51
See reviews for
32
26
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

I travelled to the Bronx on business and since I did not know the area, I chose to use Priceline to select a decent hotel. With the Sheridan hotel name, I figured it would be a decent stay. Plus the rating on several sites had it at a solid 3.5 stars. I do NOT understand how that is possible!

First night that I checked in, my non-smoking room smelled like marijuana. There was no clock, no wash cloth, and the coffee pot was dirty. When I say dirty, I mean there were cakes of ground coffee and other debris in the water receptacle. The following day, (and every day for four nights) I had to check back at the front desk just to re activate my door key even though I had the room reserved for 10 days. The service for this menial procedure took them on average, 14 minutes to complete. Other guests were having the same problems as well. There was a rather bold mouse roaming about the lounge as well. Seeing this discouraged me from even venturing to any of the meals they said they had available. Only one side of the visitor parking was cleared of snow. The snowed areas were compacted by cars leaving the premises and eventually became a sheet of ice. The thermostat doesn't work well at all. The refrigerator was horrible. And finally, not once did the wi-fi work while I stayed there and no one was in a hurry to address this issue. Nothing was ever explained or any assurances given that the problem was being addressed. This is by far one of my worst hotel experiences in any city. I don't know how it is even possible that the rating is as much as it shows on the various web sites.

Choose wisely.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jraijin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bronx hotels

Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Checking in at a place with plexiglass window like at a bank can give you a first bad impression and just gets worse from there. The hallway to the room was so gross, once in the actual room it was so moldy and just horrible. Stain sheets, holes in the covers, bathroom moldy and dirty, floors stained and gross. I go downstairs to tell the man at the front desk I am only staying one night because of conditions and he said no problem. I come back up to the room and my cousins are on the beds because there was a RAT!!! Get our things and tell the man at the front we're not staying and not to be charged. I checked my bank statement and was refunded for my stay. BUT 2 days later I was charged $150 and it showed up as Best Western Hotel in Bronx. Be careful and check your bank statement!!!!! DO NOT STAY !!!!! We also saw 4 hookers come in with "clients" while waiting to leave this garbage dump.

Room Tip: Sleep at the subway station, its cleaner
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kier M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oil City, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Blood on the door. Mold all over the bathroom walls. Woke up to 3 rats eating my food!! People smoking marijuana in the hotel. The sheridan is posing as a best western but really no affiliation all. To top it off I was charged 250 dollars for a 2 hour stay! This place is disgusting and unethical! Do not stay at this hotel!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mgeorgeio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

I feel the room was overpriced for the quality I recieved. There was no alarm clock. No hot water in the AM. Basically no items in the vending machine. No towels in room when checked in. Price of room should be $70

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 86Giovanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brazil
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

I had to write this review because -even a year after staying at The Sheridan Hotel- I still have good memories of it, and I wanted to counteract what the other reviewers have been saying. What I find about negative hotel reviews is that they are typically exaggerated and that the problem is mostly the guests and how they expect too much from it, and indeed from life in general.

I am a doctor from Ireland and I completed my doctoral studies in breast cancer. I stayed at The Sheridan because it was in a good intermediate zone between Albert Einstein College of Medicine (East Bronx) and Manhattan. I actually thought that the hotel was better than I had expected and I had no issues whatsoever. The guy at the desk was A.OK - I even arrived there from JFK Airport well after midnight.

I never left valuables in the room, but I wouldn't even do that at a 5-star hotel. How stupid can anyone be to leave valuables like an iPad in any hotel? You're too naive (this directed at one previous reviewer). The breakfast was perfect and the coffee especially was great. Being Irish, I have very white skin and I got some second looks, but I'm an easy going chap and keep to myself - I have no need to be in anyone's face.

I would stay here again if I had to return to The Bronx.

Room Tip: A big tip for any traveler staying anywhere: Get out of your ivory tower some more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blighe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
145 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

It was horrible experience. No buffet and rude staff. They didn't clean the room and never make my orders when I ask to bring something. There was a poor and sometimes no internet and when I called to ask about that the front desk operator got upset and yielded at me then eventually hung up on me even though I was polite to him. I don't recommend this hotel to anyone whatsoever. It is a horrible experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mohammed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bronx hotels
2.0 mi away
Opera House Hotel
Opera House Hotel
#2 of 12 in Bronx
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
0.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn Bronx
2.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn Bronx Zoo
Rodeway Inn Bronx Zoo
#6 of 12 in Bronx
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Residence Inn New York The Bronx at Metro Center Atrium
1.8 mi away
Umbrella Hotel
Umbrella Hotel
#7 of 12 in Bronx
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
1.5 mi away
Days Inn Bronx Near Stadium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheridan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheridan Hotel

Property: Sheridan Hotel
Address: 1440 Sheridan Expressway, Bronx, NY 10459 (Formerly Bronx Inn)
Region: United States > New York > Bronx
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Bronx
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Sheridan Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming, eye-catching, new 4-stoy building perched along the Bronx River in quiet neighbourhood of the Bronx, the Sheridan Hotel offers a truly unique experience and environment. You will feel welcome the moment you arrive. Parking is always free, a rarity for New York City hotels. The hotel is simple yet elegant, with front desk agents who will make you feel right at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Sheridan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing