We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New York City's Largest Park”
Review of Pelham Bay Park

Pelham Bay Park
Ranked #10 of 61 things to do in Bronx
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This city park has a variety of habitats including forests, meadows, mixed scrub, salt marsh and a stretch of saltwater coastline, which makes this an excellent place for hiking, birdwatching and viewing wildlife.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
169 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“New York City's Largest Park”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

New York City's largest park, there are plenty of ecosystems, recreation opportunities, golf courses, multiple access points, different cities. It truly is a wonder that could take years to fully appreciate.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank iamnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    26
    13
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The Orchard Beach”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The Orchard Beach was our stop before City Island. We went there for the first time and I think the last time. This beach is long, I believe with 8 section. There is a long promenade, a mile walkway, with many food carts and and beer carts. It is a public beach and I guess the whole Bronx goes there. It's very very loud, people go there with their own audio system - huge speakers, the music is super loud, many many kids, so if someone wants to relax on this beach is just impossible. Going there alone I think is not a good idea, your eyes have to be open all the time. We went during the weekend, the parking was $9, during the week is $7. Probably someone who likes loud music, parties will like this beach.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Eva B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Head, New York
Level Contributor
264 reviews
116 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
“Good Park at the end of NYC”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I'd been here when passing through to go to City Island. It is listed as NYC's largest park but compared to other city parks, it is located at the fringe of the city at the Northeastern most part of the Bronx on the Westchester border. It contains Orchard Beach, a golf driving range, several bike paths and is proximate to I-95, the Northeast Corridor Amtrak Line, City Island, Co-Op City the Hutchinson River Parkway, and the 6 train. It is easy to access if on the Interstate but not so much from Manhattan by itself. If one is a tourist in NYC, I'd recommend seeing it in a driving capacity after going to City Island for seafood. If one is a resident in NYC, I'd recommend visiting it only after comparing it to the more centralized parks in each borough.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank conrade886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
688 reviews
327 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
“Recommend Weekday Visit”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We like the bike path here. It is a beautiful ride with some spectacular views. There are many "things to do". You can walk, run, bike,hike, picnic, swim and sunbathe. The beach has life guards in the summer. We paid to park in the lot by the beach because the other free lots were full. It was a sunny Sunday in June so it was crowded. We have been here on weekdays and it is not crowded. I think the fall, winter and spring are really nicer times to visit. If you are a tourist and want to see more than Manhattan, the Bronx and this park are very much worth a visit. Nearby is the fabulous Bronx Zoo and the NY Botanical Gardens. You can travel here by public transportation. For lunch or dinner, I'd recommend eating at nearby City Island or on Arthur Avenue.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank travelingrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“In a Pinch”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

It's a toss-up.

I'm nearer Orchard Beach than the nicer Long Island beaches, so I've been here more than a few times. I certainly wouldn't call it clean, but it's okay for a beach fix. If you're just looking to stick your feet in the water and sit on the sand, it's fine for a weekday. Being only a half mile long, Summer weekends are wall-to-wall people.

There is no street parking, so there's an unavoidable parking fee. You can do public transit during the Summer, but the shuttle bus is ghastly. There are restrooms (somewhat icky), and during the Summer season, there is a food and drink stand.

Like Coney Island and other city beaches, you get street storm drain runoff washing up on the beach here, and you're going to find wrappers, twigs, leaves, and general junk washing up on the shore and in the water. If there's been a recent rain storm, I wouldn't go.

With a wide boardwalk, I think of it as a dirtier Coney Island without the carnival rides and amusements.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Phill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pelham Bay Park also viewed

 

Been to Pelham Bay Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing