We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““ Wedding in New York “”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn Bronx
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Bronx
Buffalo, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
““ Wedding in New York “”
Reviewed 10 March 2013

I went with my husband, the staff were supportive, provided assistance with luggage we checked in by front desk clerk Mashi, she directed us to our room and explain about the breakfast and WIFI, Manager on Duty Mr. Mobi was very courteous and a good gentleman. Saw him working late and supervise personally everything and ensures that every guest is happy and receiving good services from the Hotel staff. He has a good team, very impressive The rooms are big and clean with microwave, refrigerator, iron Board and hair dryer.
Staff were very courteous, was very caring. On the wedding day we requested a cab, clerk Sheila forgot to call one for us we didn’t liked it though, when we came down into the lobby luckily there was a cab waiting outside.

Breakfast was good we liked coffee, Cereals and fresh fruits the girl who serves breakfast is a very kind and helpful person. Will definitely come back

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M0biA, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Bronx, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
Hello Carol J.,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay. It is magnificent to know that we have made your stay with us enjoyable. We all work as a team to make your stay a home away from home. Thank you so much for those kind words and wonderful ratings. Your opinions and comments are always appreciated and valued. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you have faced on the wedding day. I can assure you that it will not happen again. Also, we are working on improving the breakfast area and adding more items to the menu as well. Hope to see you soon in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    52
    50
    41
    117
See reviews for
87
92
50
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I wanted a place that was nice; a place where the hubby and myself can have a nice night away from the daily life. I booked a King size bed; I got that and so much more. The room was large, clean and the staff was very helpful from the moment I checked in. Close to public transportation and plenty of places to eat. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cryseanish1315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M0biA, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Bronx, responded to this review, 2 March 2013
Thank you so much for posting a great review of the Happy Howard Johnson. I am very pleased to know that you were satisfied with the service that we provided. It is always a refreshing and motivating feeling to receive positive feedback from our guests. We hope to see you very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgware, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 February 2013

The only reason I am rating this hotel 4 stars because of one issue we encountered otherwise would have given 5 star,

We stayed at this hotel in the end of January to attend a wedding. Everything about this Hotel was great good customer service and very good management except one thing which upset us was a front desk Clerk by name Sheila who works in the morning was least concern about guest needs, We got unlucky and encountered the same clerk Sheila at the time of checkout. She didn't even bother to greet us nor wanted to help us in anyways, we had lots of baggage wanted help to get to international Airport(JFK) quickly, we had a flight to catch and we were running late, She was just screaming on one guest by sitting on the chair wasn't helpful at all. Very poor customer service.


Otherwise the rest of staff was very good and everyone was ready to help The room was very nice and the bed so very comfortable I hated to get up. The Other staff specially the girl in the afternoon Crystal and the Guy in the night Moe helped us to get transportation to various places we needed to go and also was always greeted us nicely and sincerely. I liked that we could open the window for fresh air instead of having to use the AC all the time. We were within a 20 minutes drive to the wedding which was located in Manhattan. When the staff called for a cab they got us the rate and that is exactly what we paid. It took about 30 minutes with traffic to get to Time Square and we spent the entire day there.


So if you want a friendly staff, a clean room with comfortable beds and descent rates this is where you should go.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M0biA, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Bronx, responded to this review, 17 February 2013
Hello Bill,
I would like to thank you from the bottom of my heart for taking out the time and posting a review of your recent stay at the Howard Johnson Express Inn. Firstly, I would deeply like to apologize for the trouble you have faced during your stay. I can assure you that it will not happen again. The staff at Howard Johnson is well-known for making the guest feel welcome and accommodating them with the best service. I am also thankful to you for complimenting some of my other staff and also overjoyed know that they were able to make your stay worthwhile. Again, I am very sorry the inconvenience. I hope you choose to stay with and give us another chance to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Hands down this is the best hotel I have stayed at for the price have paid! The beds were so comfortable, the breakfast was very good free WiFi and free parking. Train Station just one block from the Hotel is a bonus. I honestly did not find anything wrong with my room and nor with the hotel, I was very satisfied! by the way the front desk staff is AMAZING!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rogers C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M0biA, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Bronx, responded to this review, 17 February 2013
On behalf of my staff and myself, I would like to thank you for staying at the happy Howard Johnson. Guest satisfaction is our number one priority. Thank you for the wonderful compliments and ratings. It is rewarding to know that we are doing a great job when good guests like you enjoy their stay. We look forward to having you as our guest again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 3 February 2013

It was a great stay! Thank to the front desk staff, Good management , Staff they took care of our needs very well, Big good and clean Rooms for the price. Subway very close and its about 30 mins ride into Manhattan Good Breakfast and Free WiFi . Would stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M0biA, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Bronx, responded to this review, 17 February 2013
Hello Rita,
I would like to thank you for posting a review of your recent stay. I am very happy to know you were highly satisfied with our services. It was a pleasure serving you. Please do consider us on your next visit to New York in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 2 February 2013

Spent 2-nights at this Howard Johnson Express Inn for a family reunion in January and the staff was outstanding. The structure itself is older, but the location, recent updates and staff made it a great choice. It felt like a home away from home. We especially enjoyed talking to Manger Mobi a good gentleman and very helpful and the other front desk staff was helpful too will visit again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M0biA, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Bronx, responded to this review, 17 February 2013
Hello Sue W.,
I would like to thank you for posting a review of your recent stay. I was delighted to read that you had a good experience with my staff. Our main priority is for all our guests to feel welcome and have an exceptional stay with us. Thank you for those excellent ratings and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bronx hotels
2.5 mi away
Opera House Hotel
Opera House Hotel
#2 of 14 in Bronx
618 reviews
2.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn Bronx Zoo
Rodeway Inn Bronx Zoo
#6 of 14 in Bronx
65 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sheridan Hotel
Sheridan Hotel
#12 of 14 in Bronx
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites near Stadium
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Bronx Near Stadium
2.1 mi away
Residence Inn By Marriott New York The Bronx at Metro Center Atrium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn Bronx? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn Bronx

Property: Howard Johnson Express Inn Bronx
Address: 1922 Boston Rd, I-95 Exit 4B, Bronx, NY 10460-4423
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Bronx
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Bronx
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn Bronx 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn Bronx reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn Bronx Hotel Bronx
Howard Johnson Bronx
Bronx Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing