We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was worth the visit!”

Bronx Museum of the Arts
Book In Advance
More Info
US$60.00*
and up
Brooklyn, Bronx and Queens Coach Tour from Manhattan
Ranked #17 of 60 things to do in Bronx
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Bronx Museum of the Arts is an internationally recognized cultural destination that presents innovative contemporary art exhibitions and education programs and is committed to promoting cross-cultural dialogues for diverse audiences. Since its founding in 1971, the Museum has played a vital role in the Bronx by helping to make art accessible to the entire community and connecting with local schools, artists, teens, and families through its robust education initiatives and public programs.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It was worth the visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

I'm not someone to walk in museums very often, but after visiting crowded places in the city decided to see something different.

I like the essence of this museum, enjoy quite the cultural expression of the Bronx through the arts, also enjoy one of their activity can be an artist for a moment.

Very organized on site.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cport89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    14
    4
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Worth the trip on the D Train! Another small gem in NYC...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

A friend had told me about the "State of Mind: New California Art circa 1970" Show:
http://www.bronxmuseum.org/exhibitions/state-of-mind

that is currently going on through Sept 8th, 2013. I didn't know what to expect, but a friend was in town and we decided to try something a little off the beaten track - and at least for us, it was so worth it. The building has a really nice layout, and when you first walk-in there are desks to sit at and browse the various art catalogs and information about the shows. This current show was much larger than I expected and I found it really interesting.

Because the place isn't that large, I'm saying that a recommended visit might just be a few hours... although we spent 3 hours there ourselves.

The admission is free (you can pay a donation if you wish) and although it is a small place, it has some interesting work. Besides Yankee Stadium down the street at 161st street, there isn't a lot of other cultural things to do in the area that we found. There isn't a cafe at the museum and if you are looking for food, your best bet is at 161st street, where there are a few diners, bars, fast food places by the baseball stadium.

I look forward to seeing future shows at this museum, and to see what the curatorial staff comes out with next.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BrowsingRoadside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
197 reviews
107 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Modern installations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

I am not one for modern installations but there were a lot using light and sound technology. I enjoyed the building. It is worth going to see no matter what is being shown. The bus stops right in front. There is a large sitting area to just relax and read the books set out for your pleasure. The staff is friendly not stuffy and enjoy helping you. The bathroom is a one seater. The building is handicapped friendly. The gift shop is a closet. I recommend it for home schooling, a cooling station, a quiet spot to relax reflect study, or to make a new friend, take a date. Oh yeah the art is great if you get it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank travaillour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good part of a trip to the Bronx”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Here is a well-maintained and interesting sideline to a day-trip to the Bronx. We went to see the Juan Downey exhibit which gave a compelling and insightful display of his work and methodology. I would hope that other exhibits have the same eye and sensitivity.

The tickets are $5 per person (not sure about seniors), and I would say this is good for about two hours of entertainment (not a full-day experience). The building is large, modern, new and clean.

There is a parking garage on the street just south of the museum, and I definitely recommend if you drive there that you park in the garage, not on the street.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank crazytravelernyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bronx Museum of the Arts also viewed

 

Been to Bronx Museum of the Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing